We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your own sun bed or set your alarm for 6:00am”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bring your own sun bed or set your alarm for 6:00am”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sofitel Krabi over New Years and it was one of the most expensive hotels we've stayed at except that we didn't really see what we were paying for. The pool area and the rooms were nice but it was the little things that we're annoying like the rock hard bed, the cleaners forgetting to fill up our complimentary water bottles and forgetting to replace our bath towels. The biggest issue we had with the management is that they did nothing to address the problem of people reserving sun beds around the pool. We raised this with the management on our second day but we were told that they were aware of the problem and were looking at ways to address it. They basically said there was nothing they could do, it seemed like it was too hard for them to ask their staff to police the pool area in order to prevent people from leaving belongings on sun beds from hours on end. I'm sorry but if I'm paying over AUD 600 a night to stay at your hotel I expect to be able to sit on a sun bed by the pool! We spoke to another guest who saw someone get up at 6:00am and reserve 11 sun beds in a row so no wonder there was such a problem! The compulsory New Year's Eve dinner was a rip off too, they charged17,000 Baht (almost AUD 600) for the two of us and it didn't even include beer, wine or soft drinks. On the plus side the buffet breakfast is one of the best we've had. Nice hotel but its definitely not worth a 5 star rating.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Charger265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "Charger265",

Thank you for your review.

We took good notes of your remarks.

Hope we will have the chance to welcome you once again.

Best regards,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    646
    250
    66
    47
See reviews for
802
979
85
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Went there with the family in October 2012 for one week. The hotel is great, only disadvantage is that the beach is separated by road and there is no access to it directly from the hotel premises. Rooms are spacious and clean and service is very good. They have a lot of activities to offer, golf, tennis, etc. They also organize boat trips to the islands (Phi Phi, Maya Beach, etc.) which is definitely a must. This year we went to the Sheraton and wished we would have come back to Sofitel instead!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab!

We are delighted to read your comments about your stay at Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa!

It is a great pride for us that we are able to live up to our standards while aiming comfort and convenience for our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This resort is very peaceful even though there are lots of families with young children.
The pool area is very cosy, but you need to be early bird to get sunbed, specially high
season, around christmas.
To the beach you have to cross the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab!

It was such a pleasure learning that you have a wonderful stay at Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort!

I am truly glad of your appreciation of the facilities and services provided and it comes as an inspiration for us to continually pursuit for excellence.

Thank you and we hope you have another pleasant experience with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
614 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is the perfect place to come to relax and recharge. The resort is isolated, about 20 minutes from the tourist centre of Ao Nang. So you will have peace and tranquility in a very nice part of Krabi. The hotel facility is very good, large enough to accommodate many guests and has a nice & large swimming pool.

The beach is quite alright, much better than what some of the comments seem to suggest. Remember that all beaches in Thailand are public (no matter where you go). If the beach is your deciding factor, then you are best heading to one of the islands, rather than staying on Krabi itself.

The hotel has access to plenty of activities ~ simply contact the activites centre. I would certainly recommend boat trips to Koh Hong (very near, and do the kayak) and to Koh Phi Phi (a bit further away). We spent 3 days doing a dive certification at a nearby Dive Centre (see Aqua Vision).

A couple of things to note:

1. The Wifi connection in the hotel isn't good, and quite variable, especially in the evening when everyone is logged on. It isn't reliable and you may consider getting a prepay sim with unlimited internet. The hotel gives you wifi access for 2 devices (obviously not enough if you come with a partner or your family). You can ask for more, though the reception staff are quite reluctant. Keep asking and they will give you extra login access.

2. Food options are limited. There are 3 restaurants in the hotel, and a handful in the surrounding area. You will need to take the hotel shuttle or a taxi into Ao Nang, to explore more dining options.

Overall, we had a great stay, and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to explore Krabi from an isolated spot outside Ao Nang.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool/bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kangelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Bonjour & Sawasdee Krab!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit at Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort!
It is a delight to read that you've enjoyed the hotel facilities and services offered.

We regret that there are expectations we have not met and areas where we could have been more sensitive to ensure a comfortable stay.

The feedback has been well noted and will be shared with the concerned departments for appropriate measures to check on areas where improvement is needed.

Once again, thank you very much for recommending Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort to all Tripadvisor readers and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Please read the other reviews and you'll get a good picture of this excellent hotel.
My first time to Thailand and I already want to return. Long 11 hour flight + 2.5 hour transfer from Phuket airport is tiring- but once at the hotel I relaxed straight away.
As a summary- the hotel is a good 4.5 star hotel, but the general service is 5 star. There are some exceptions in the evening when the service in Italian & White Lotus tails off- too many trainees serving I think. But the staff are really nice so you don't mind.
The hotel is awash with Scandinavian family groups & wedding guests. Energetic kids + pool= some noise & splashing.
The location is good with lots of days trips available. The road never disturbed us- but you do have to be careful after dark walking down the road. There are big trucks that are moving Gypsum from a mine to the local port. They drive slowish but do kick up dust if you are near them.

Notable Mentions-
1- The golf pro Paul Nawat is a brilliant guy. The 1 hour lessons for £30 are very good value.
2- The pool bar team are great. Mard Senpan (Matd) gave us fantastic service. Cherry and the other guys and girls worked hard to make us enjoy our stay.
Some suggested changes-
1- Please remove the large wedding marquee from the 1st hole fairway. The hotel is advertised as a Golf and Spa hotel. Weddings must bring in good money- but they shouldn't affect the quality of stay for other guests.
2- Sort out the golf greens- I understand the golf sprinkler system was broken (now fixed?)- this has lead to poor greens.
3- Please include some in room drinks allowance with the all inclusive service. On our first night I had a Coke from the room fridge, which cost me 100 baht (£2). In room fridge soft drinks and beer should be included in the all inclusive service.
4- Please give the guys and girls in the evening restaurants some more training.
5- Good to see there is hotel guest Wifi in the room. Next step is to increase the speed for free.
Notes-
1- The hotel is quiet at night. Evening entertainment is minimal. Do not expect an entertainment (animation) team stage show each night.
2- Please try Hong Island on a long tail boat, a massage at a local shop & watch the sunset at one of the bars down the road. £5 per hour for a massage is a bargain.

Conclusion-
I didn't want to leave this place. I was completely relaxed and felt safe. There is a lot to do in the area, and I would like to return as soon as possible. If you can cope with the long flight and jet lag please book.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "PL123",

Thank you for your excellent review.

Hope we will have the chance to welcome you once again.

Best regards,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of his hotel. Lovely rooms, huge open lobby with live music, beautiful pool, great breakfast, and exceptional room service meals, the staff were so friendly and very professional, we stayed twice recently and we honestly didn't want to leave. Highlights were swimming in the pool, the huge choice of beautiful food at breakfast and the service we received throughout - especially the care they took of us when our son hurt himself - we were incredibly grateful to the nurse and the staff for their quick actions and sensitivity - the GM even called later that evening to ask how he was. Wish we knew about the all inclusive option as you can't upgrade to this level once booked. Would book again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JATOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab!

It is very rewarding for us to read such a wonderful review and it really makes our day! Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa.

Your review has been shared with the team. Our commitment is to provide and continue the best service in town with the purpose of ensuring our guests safety and satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here in October for a 3 day break from Bangkok.
Hotel is ok, but not 5 stars. Despite it being low season they didn't have enough space to accommodate all guests for eg the Thai night at the pool.
Hotel is a quick 25min taxi ride from the airport. Upon arrival we were unlucky and came in just after a bus of new guests and waited for a while until we received our keys. Unfortunately we received a room on the low level, no real sea view - required some imagination, even though that was what we had booked.

Pool area was ok, but not in best shape and in some areas very noisy due to water cleaning units being placed on a small island next to the kids area.

Hotel is separated from beach via a noisy street. Every two minutes a truck is passing by - I believe transporting sand from a nearby place.
We decided to rent a small boat for two days in a row right from the beach which was fantastic. The guy took us around to secluded islands, beautiful beaches and our 5 year old son enjoyed snorkeling.

Food overall was good with big variety at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa.

It is disappointing to read that our service did not meet your expectations as we always aim to provide magnifique and unforgettable experiences to all our guests and we are sorry we did not deliver during this visit.

We are sure it was a slip in our daily service and that we are 100% committed to our guests. We have shared your review with our team and will follow up accordingly.

On the other hand, we appreciated your positive feedback in regards to the wide selection of food serve in our restaurant.

We hope this experience will not stop you from visiting Sofitel Krabi again.

We will make sure your next and future stays will be memorable.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travelbag, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing