We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Love the airy room of this hotel. Stayed for 3 times already and every time we got a sea view room. The hotel is good for those who seek relaxation and just want to hang around in the premise because it is far from the town and the beach is divided by a road. However, in high season, the beach is nice and clean with some sun beds provided by the hotel. The hotel has a lot for you to do, nice spa, huge swimming pool, small but adequate gym with some arranged activities.
Great breakfast and service.
Getting to town or going outside for dinner is easier if you have a car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "Jitchaya",

We are glad to hear that you spent some good time in the sea view room at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort.

When will we have the chance to see back on the property?

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,

Christian Schlegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,413
    660
    254
    67
    46
See reviews for
833
1,005
88
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My partner and i stayed for 12 nights recently. The stay allowed us to completely re-charge the batteries in a great resort. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering a stay in this area of Krabi. The staff are incredibly helpful and polite wherever you encounter them in the resort (guest relations, activities and of course the staff that service the rooms). From our view it appeared that staff were always genuinely smiling. In particular I would like to single out the staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, namely the Guest Relations Manager and the guys that ran the Phi Phi Island trip on Thursday 21st August (guys you really did make the trip so special and enjoyable).

We stayed in a luxury room on the top level which afforded views of the ocean, gardens and pool - perfect. The room itself was a great size for a 12 night stay. Large enough that you never once felt cramped or that you were falling over each other. Originally we were placed on the ground floor but we requested to move and it was done within a couple of hours while we enjoyed the pool. On arrival the bed was decorated in local flower, as was the bath, and we had a fresh fruit basket in the room. The three or four bottles of water provided each day are a nice touch. The bed was huge and allowed a great rest each day. The room itself was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The LCD TV was fine. The bathroom gave both large deep bath and huge shower.

Our breakfast each day was challenging in the sense of there was so much choice!!! To those reviewers that suggest that it is repetitive i suggest they change their palate. The choice of bakery items, pastries, breads, so many cooked items, fresh fruit, pancakes, rice, noodles, soups, cold meats, cheese, vegetables was outstanding.

The pool is huge and clean. There was also easy access to the swim up pool bar when necessary. Its also beautifully set against the incredibly well maintained gardens.

I would suggest to anyone to take the Phi Phi trip. If you do will see that the small group that goes makes it a much better experience than so many of the other trips that seem to be available from other tour organizers. The three staff that take you just never stop doing anything and everything to make the day enjoyable, from pointing out different islands and landmarks on the journey over in the speedboat, to tidying beaches that we stopped at to snorkel in clear blue waters, to collecting shells and for the children on the trip, helping children snorkel and of course providing the delicious lunch on the private beach on bamboo island.

The resort does appear to be isolated but in reality its not. For those that do like to get out and explore there a several local bars and restaurants within walking distance or a short tuk tuk ride away (THB100). Ao Nang is only a 20 minute taxi ride away (be that through the hotel or using local taxi's) and costs around THB400 each way and this gives many many options for bars and restaurants.

We did also have a few small minor issues during our stay so we have raised these in the spirit of giving an rounded object ive review but in the grand scheme of things these are minor.The check in process was perhaps slightly drawn out as we we shown to seats in the lobby while our check in was processed when in hindsight we could have completed this quicker by going straight to the desk. I appreciate that it does make for a more relaxed 'experience' but after a flight and transfer one might simply want to get to the room. As Gold LeClub Accor we did ask for an room upgrade on arrival but one want available, that said the luxury room was more the satisfactory so nothing lost at all. In addition we requested a late check out to accommodate our evening flight out of Krabi. Initially one wasn't available as the hotel did have a very large event beginning the next day meaning that hotel occupancy suddenly spiked. Despite this the hotel did re-organize rooms to allow us a late check out which was very helpful to us. It also arranged the airport transfer for us.

A great stay - we hope to be back :)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have easier access to the pool (straight out of the sliding doors) which may suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KeepSmiling_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "KeepSmiling_25"

Your comments are much appreciated by all Sofitel Krabi ambassadors family.

Hope to see you next year back on the property.

Best Regards,

Christian Schlegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

the service of the staffs at the concierge are excellent! they are always willing and eager to help whenever we have any enquiries. they speak good English as well. if you have a local driver's contact but are afraid to call him due to language barrier, you can ask the staff at the concierge to call on your behalf. special thanks to Britney who bring us to our room during check-in and also helped to brief us on the facilities and location of the restaurants along the way.

breakfast at maya restaurant is good. although the spread is the same everyday, there is a huge variety to choose from (western and asian cuisine) and i enjoyed my breakfast everyday. my daily must-have is the rice noodle soup which is cooked fresh in front of you. if you enjoy spicy food, add in a little of the chilli powder. service at maya restaurant is also great!

i had dinner one night at the White Lotus. Food and service is great as well! there is a lady playing a musical instrument inside the restaurant and the music makes the atmosphere very relax to eat in.

the only downside is the location of the hotel which is about 20mins from aonang and 40mins to krabi town. after a little bargaining with the driver, a return trip to aonang by tuk tuk cost us 800 THB and a return trip by car to krabi town cost us 1,000 THB.

if you are interested to go for a little walk, there are actually some shops/cafes located about 10mins walk from the hotel. you can walk out from the pathway behind the swimming pool area and facing the beach, turn left. heard from a shop owner that there is a hair salon on the other side of the resort but we did not venture to that side.

overall, i have a good experience at the resort and i will definitely recommend it to anyone who loves swimming (due to the huge and nice pool) and/or wants a relaxing stay at krabi!

Room Tip: Do not worry about staying at high floors as there is a lift at the hotel. Be careful of harmless ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelholicj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "pluszero",

Thanks a lot for your good review about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort.

We will share your comments to our dedicated ambassadors that work every day to give the best service to our guests.

Hope we will have the chance to count you as a returning guest soon.

We remain at your disposal if you need to make another booking.

Kind Regards,

Christian Schlegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I must start by saying if I could give this resort 6 stars I would. The staff I encountered were some of the most helpful, gracious and polite staff I have ever encountered and I have stayed at quite a few hotels. I will give credit where it is due! Natcha was ever so welcoming when we arrived and she told us about all the facilities and showed us to our room. Ping was lovely as well and he remembered our room (which admittedly all the staff seem to recognise and I put this down to excellent training and great customer focus). Yaya was the executive chef who led the cooking class and she was absolutely wonderful. She even remembered my sister loved mangosteens during the class and presented them them to her at dinner after the cooking class. This shows true customer service. The most praise must go to FZ. She was absolutely warm and hospitable. She could have a laugh with us and put us at ease and went above and beyond any member of staff I have encountered lately. During the cooking class, the recipe book I was given was 'borrowed' by a family who came to check out the cooking class. Yaya told me she would get me another one. When I went to pick it up from the restaurant, FZ had given me all 3! What fantastic service.

The location of the resort is about 40 minutes away from the airport. It is fairly isolated and about 20 minutes away from Ao Nang Beach. They do offer a shuttle for THB199 per person each way. We were greeted with welcome drink and cool towels. I like how they check you in at the comfy chairs in the lobby. I had booked this stay as a package deal so included breakfast, dinners, massages, and cooking class.

The room we had was a superior seaside and pool view room with twin beds. The beds are firm to my liking but slept well. My sister said they were great. The room itself is spacious and has a patio area with table and chairs and could walk to pool from front area if we wanted to as on ground floor. The bathroom had a separate shower and bathtub which was nice. Minor quibble was the shower doesn't have a seal so you could water everywhere outside the shower. The tv was. Bit old school as well but you don't spend that much time in room at resort so that was fine.

We had three dinners at White Lotus (two included in package and one after cooking class) which was the Thai restaurant and one dinner at Venezia which was Italian restaurant. Dinners were set menus and worked out great for us as not having long lists to choose from. All 3 course dinners. The breakfasts were had at Maya Restaurant. Good choice of Western and Asian cuisine. My favourite was the noodle soup which was cooked fresh in front of you and the broth was so flavoursome. I also tried the room service and that was delivered ever so promptly and food was great too.

The pool is the largest in Thailand and the water was so warm. Never felt cold at all in there and so relaxing as the temperature gets very hot. Nice pool bar area and great to grab a drink from there.

There is also a gym (good selection of equipment) as well as steam room and sauna in there too. So Spa was a relaxing area and offered an array of treatments and massages. The staff there are wonderful and I always felt relaxed before and after the treatments.

The activity centre is where all activities offered by the resort were booked (like yoga, tai chi, shuttle transfers, day trips, etc). We booked our shuttle transfers to Ao Nang Beach as well as day trip out to Hong Island. It is definitely worth going there as went snorkelling and kayaking there.

Overall I would highly recommend staying at this resort. Not only do you feel like a valued hotel guest, I felt it was like visiting family as the the staff exude so much hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "rc33",

Thank you for your good comments about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort.
It is always a pleasure to read such nice comments.
We will share them to the ambassadors you mentioned.

We would be more than happy to welcome you once again

See you soon then!

Kind Regards,

Christian Schlegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The resort is just amazing and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Specifically Mary from the front and the all staff from white lotus and morning breakfast restaurant are dam good. Now comes our favorite staff Nana from activity center she is the favorite of all for our 19 months son too... We would be visiting the resorts again all due to wonderful staff... They made our stay so cool even we had few issues with the infrastructure of the resort... Let me provide the good ones first...

Good about the hotel..

1. Amazing staff
2.wonderful setting with an impressive front desk sitting area
3. Wonderful swimming pool could have been amazing if they have more kids stuff in the pool
4. The rooms are nice and well designed
5. Breakfast is good but its same everyday and you will feel boring after couple of days if you gonna stay like us for 4 days.
6. Rooms are always kept clean by wonderful housekeeping staff.

Negatives/scope for improvement

1. Climate control for air con didn't work for the day 1 room 245 and unfortunately the staff didn't able to fix the issues. We have been shifted to other room next day but we are forced to sleep with our 19 months kids in chilling cold temperature for that night since they are not able to find another room in the middle of the night... We should not blame the staff they try to accommodate as much as they can during middle of the night.
Please kindly check the room condition before providing to guest.

2. Room number 167 just wonderful until we found one issue with the kettle provided in the room.. We boiled hot water for mixing early morning milk for my kind and found the water has turned yellow. When i checked the kettle found out that heater element in the kettle has been corroded. We didn't ask for a replacement instead bought a new kettle from a local since i don't want risk with another kettle...

Please check regularly the working condition of the stuff you are providing in the room
3. Spa is super duper expensive...
4. Very busy rood between the beach and hotel. It could have been better to have security staff to station at resort zebra crossing form the resort to beach.. It was very scary to cross with small kid.

Despite all these negatives ... We will be visiting again in 6-7 months all due wonderful staff... Hope the infrastructure will improve by then...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vijay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "vijay g",

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra.

We are aware of certain points you mention about the structure.
A renovation plan for the rooms and some public areas are in process.

We hope to see you very soon back on the property.

Best Regards,

Christian Schlegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haskerdijken
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The reception area, swimming pool and overall lay out are quite impressive!

The rooms are nice, classic but well designed; sea view as mentioned on the booking is a tiny blue spot between the palm trees.

The Italian restaurant is high class; very nice and tasty food!
The other restaurant Asian style was fine as well but by far not at the level of the Italian.
For both goes very friendly and service minded staff!

Some things are a bit strange / in contrast with the luxury & 5 star status:
- no hot water from the shower at arrival (but quickly fixed)
- the beach not worth visiting, across a busy road
- canoes & bicycles for rent (others offer canoes mostly complementary; bike rent 800 vs. a new Corolla rented at the airport @ 570 bath/day?!)
- own drinks in the fridge / mini bar will be removed / charged for
- breakfast is fine and incl. Asian style, but poor ratio value/price ratio vs others in the area

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilfried G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "Wilfried G",

Thank you for your comments about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort.

We took good notes of the different points you mentioned to make some adjustments.

Do not hesitate to contact us for a future booking through our Senior Director of Rooms, Matthieu Houzai, who will be happy to assist you.

Best Regards,

Christian Schlegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is my nearly 10th. time here during these 6 years. Front desk service still up to good standard. Rooms still very clean, comfort and cool ! While breakfast, food selections are fewer than previous year maybe because of cost reduction. Bell boys might be reduced in number, no assistance at all by the time we left around 9 AM.
Anyhow I think I will consider to come back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Anuswadi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "Anuswadi S",

Thank your for your feedback about Sofitel krabi Phokeethra Golf and Spa Resort.

We would be more than happy to welcome you for the 7th time in the future.

Thanks for trusting our services and being loyal to us.

Kind Regards,

Christian Schlegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,344 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing