We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not get better!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will not get better!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed here in December 2009 for 10 nights, we returned to Krabi December 2010 for 12 nights and for a change booked the Sheraton (Krabi) - we arrived at the Sheraton, checked into our room and checked out again without staying a single night because compared to the Sofitel the Sheraton was a massive disappointment!

Upon leaving the Sheraton we got a car to the Sofitel and walked in without a reservation and the Sofitel staff could not have been happier to have us back and we couldn't have been happier to be back. They even upgraded us to an amazing suite!

This hotel is fantastic, the staff are faultless from the management to the maintenance crew. The entire grounds and buildings are beautiful. The rooms are fantastic, the size is perfect and the beds and pillows are the best!

They have all the little touches that make you feel welcome and appreciated. They have a private boat that runs daily out to Hong Island - there is no cost for the transfer, you just pay a small amount for park fees and a packed lunch the hotel arranges for you. To the best of my knowledge they are the only hotel in the area that does this and its a real treat.

The pool is magnificent, and we enjoyed many drinks and lunches at the swim up pool bar. There is a little coffee shop and the coffee is good (which is hard to find anywhere in Thailand). The breakfast buffet is great, and there is also an Italian and Thai for dinner. All of the eating options in the hotel are great and the staff can't do enough for you.

You are a short walk from five or six places to eat outside of the hotel as well as three of four massage places (a must in Thailand) and if you want something more there is a very small town Klong Muang which is a short drive away (about AU$3 in a Tuk Tuk). You are also only 15 minutes from Ao Nang and the hotel runs a regular shuttle service or just jump in a Tuk Tuk.

The Sofitel has a private beach area across the road which always has a staff member there for anything you need and it is lined with beach beds.

Both times we have stayed here the guests have been around 30 years old and up so your not in a hotel that is full of 20 somethings that want to drink and party all night so its very quiet and extremely civilized. Also, if you have kids there is a play centre for them and from chatting to people while we were there they said their kids loved it.

You can not get better then this hotel, it is a real treat and the perfect location to get away from everything and relax. Both my partner and I travel a great deal for work and have stayed in many 5* hotels around the world and no where has ever been better then this!

We can not recommend highly enough that you chose this hotel, and it gives better value then any other hotel in the area.

We'll be heading back here again in 2011!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri230276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
I was very pleased to learn that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel this time as well. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    653
    252
    67
    46
See reviews for
818
993
86
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We arrived back today from the Sofitel Resort in Krabi after a 5 day holiday, and we're missing it already. It is a sprawling resort with an absolutely pool, acres immaculate lawns, very tastefully decorated, with many facilities & activities available and very attentive and diligent staff. If you're going to Krabi, this is certainly a hotel to consider.

The overall feel of the hotel is just right for the location - hardwood furniture, high ceilings, earthy colours, quietly lavish but understated in every way, that is luxurious yet feels comfortable. This extends from the lobby, to the restaurants, to the rooms themselves and is complimented by a superb team of employees who made us feel welcome and special.

The food was reasonably priced for a resort of this quality and was, by and large, fresh, tasty and well presented. There were only a couple of things that bothered me a little: (a) when we dined at the White Lotus Thai restaurant, six different people came up to ask if everything was to our satisfaction - at least 3 times too many, for my liking; and (b) some of the Thai food was a little disappointing - I guess that it is tailored to Western taste as the majority of the guests are from Europe, but I would have enjoyed more authentic Thai cuisine. Having said that, when I had my first taste of the Thai green curry, I thought I had died and gone to heaven!

For those, who like us, wanted to just relax by the pool or at the beach, this place was perfect. The pool is absolutely huge! Even though the hotel was fairly occupied, the size of the place meant that we never felt crowded in and were always able to find a couple of deck chairs where we wanted to, at any time of the day. The size has a disadvantage, though: it can be quite difficult to attract the attention of a staff-member when you want a drink. A good idea would be for them to keep a regular "walk-about" routine to make sure people are getting what they need; it may even help sell a few more drinks:-)

The activities are endless, but I would strongly recommend a trip to Hong island - the views, the deep blue sea, the white sand, the tropical rainforest - heaven on Earth. We left the boys at the kids club yesterday, and went to the spa - great experience! A little pricey, but well worth the money.

All in all, a really enjoyable experience - thank you to all the folks at Sofitel Krabi!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HammerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 25 December 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us.
We all look forward to welcome you back again soon.
I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a happy Holiday Season and a Magnifique New Year 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

In a trip in Thailand, we stopped in Krabi. Not disappointed at all !! even very surprised by the outstanding quality and offers of the Sofitel.
We loved the huge swimming pool (7000 square meters), the view, the location and the service.
Our stay was to short and would recommend at least 3-4 nights, the town is not far with plenty of restaurants and bars, not busy as phuket but at least decent.
Krabi is a bit more difficult to reach than Phuket but at least we were not disappointed, and it was worth each penny !!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaidjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2010
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort during your recent visit to Krabi and for sharing your feedback.
We were delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Krabi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2010

The hotel staff are really friendly everyone there were all smiles and always glad to be of help. The rooms were clean and pretty nice. The hotel provided complimentary day trips to Hong Island and also provided snorkelling equipment. The hotel also organised a whole list of classes such as windsurfing, thai boxing, pilates, yoga by their own qualified instructors for their guests. The spa in the hotel was also excellent however it was a little pricey. It was an unforgettable experience and I would love to go back when I visit krabi again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivienng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
We are pleased to learn that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I am not a resort type of person, but I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Softitel. The rooms are comfortable and nicely sized. I have seen reviews that gave negative comments about the staff and management. There must have been a change for the better, both management and staff are doing an excellent job in making your stay more pleasurable. I believe that a new French/Thai management was installed recently, since there was some much positive hands on interaction with guest from management. I should have looked at a google map and understood that is a road between the hotel and beach. This however did not detract from my stay as it seems like the resort as coordinated with local officials to limit the speed of traffic to about 10km/h. We very much liked the complimentary day trip out to Hong Island National Park. At the end of the day this is a Resort, therefore do not be surprised when you get charged resort prices.... Although I wish internet was not so expensive

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1whereintheworldami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2010
I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback.
I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Fantastic service, ameneties, cleanliness, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff could not have been more helpful in ensuring all of our needs were met. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and hope to return ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2010
I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback.
I was very pleased to read that you appreciated the assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

WE WENT OFF SEASON WHICH WAS BRILLIANT AS THE HOTEL WAS QUITE EMPTY. We were treated like royalty, and would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. The food was fantastic and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I will definitely come back to this hotel again.
J. Pain - Western Australia

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisybell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful time with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,309 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelbag, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing