We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent place for family holiday”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The hotel was really great. Big and clean rooms, excellent service, great food and good location (out of the big city, close to Ao Nang). Guests are very quite and polite, no loud behavior, all was pleasurable.
A lots of entertainment for children and also for adults. An opportunity that must be used - boat connection to close paradise islands. Surely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pille-Riin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,415
    661
    254
    67
    46
See reviews for
835
1,006
88
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We had a 4 night stay in this hotel in February 2011. Aside from the fact that one of the o site restaurants would not accept my Accor Advantage plus card to secure discount on drinks, our stay was simply wonderful. We were upgraded to a luxury room upon arrival and never really looked back. The pool is huge so easy to find a quiet spot to soak up the sun and the beach across the road is almost deserted. All in all, a super stay and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Krati Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback.
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Our initial impression of the Krabi Sofitel with its colonial-style architecture, majestic vaulted lobby, and expansive free-form pool suggested that our brief stay would be pleasant.
First impressions can sometimes be deceptive.
We knew in advance that the resort is isolated and that the nearest semblance of night life was Ao Nang, some 20 kms away. We were okay with that since we were arriving from hectic Chaweng Beach in Samui and could use some serenity and early-to-bed time.
What we did not know was that special events—catered parties, weddings and receptions—are popular at this hotel and that there would be one each night of our stay. And as we discovered, the staging of these events took precedence over the comfort of the hotel’s guests.
For the first two nights these events were at the south end of the pool and did not really impact us since we were at the opposite end of the vast pool. Unless of course being boomed awake at midnight by their fireworks can be deemed a bother.
On our last day at the Sofitel we visited the pool at about 9 a.m. and discovered that all of the very comfortable, heavy sun beds with their thick mattresses had been removed from the pool deck and lined up on the lawn. The large, shade-providing umbrellas were all closed and lined up along the deck periphery.
When we asked what was happening, we were told that there would be a party that evening and preparations were necessary.
During the period when the sun is fiercely intense—from 11 to about 3, about forty hotel patrons had to continually drag their extremely weighty sun beds every 15 minutes or so in a desperate search for the little shade provided by palm trees. There was not a pool attendant in sight to help with the moving of the sun beds which must have weighed 100 pounds. The umbrellas in their concrete stands were impossible to move. There was little relief from the severe sun.
Throughout the day, party preparations took place with complete disregard for the relaxing guests. A crew scrubbed and washed the deck, arranged tables, strung wires for lighting, and made sound checks.
That evening we slept to the throbbing beat of bass and were again awoken with fireworks from the celebration.
The next morning one of the pool attendants told us that these events were “very good for the hotel.” When asked if they were good for the guests, he thought for a second and then seemed to realize the true situation. “Not so good for the guests,” he conceded, smiling nervously.
Yes, the architecture of this 276-room resort is beautiful and the pool is magnificent. But the lack of respect shown to the guests while the catered events are being prepared far overshadows these attributes. The lack of consideration towards guests and the prioritizing of these events left us with a bad taste. We would certainly not even ponder a return visit to a hotel where the needs of the guests are ignored or disregarded.
Undoubtedly management will issue its stock “thanks for bringing this to our attention” response, but the booking of parties/receptions is too lucrative to discontinue. Either be willing to be inconvenienced or stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canuck2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your stay at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincere apologies.
We indeed hosted a wedding party and guests had gathered from Asia, Europe and Americas for this event. They were representing approximately a third of our hotel guests on these 2 days.
These types of weddings are not that regular in our hotel, it was in fact a first with 100 guests, and we did try to limit as much as possible any discomfort to the rest of our guests.
We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, we fully understand and deeply regret the inconvenience you suffered.
Despite your opinion to the contrary, we do hope that you will visit us again, and our whole team and I will endeavour to ensure you will have a most enjoyable and magnifique stay.
Please feel free to contact me on that occasion, so that I can personally take care of your booking and stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here and we wouldn't hesitate to return again. The rooms, grounds, service are all exceptional. The pool is the biggest in Asia and the free boat trip to hong island is amazing! It's a little out of the main town (20 mins) however the hotel run a shuttle and there are a few restaurants locally.
The only downside is the food and drink are quite pricey but if you eat in town and make use of the hotels offers then you will survive.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful time with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Just returned from Krabi stayed at Sofitel - this hotel is just magnificant - the staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. The swimming pool is fantastic. The hotel is just pure luxury..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvis011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
I was very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Our group was there to accompany a friend who was there for the wedding of her friend. We three shared a Superior Room that opened up to the garden and right out to the kiddie pool. That in itself pretty much made our holiday.

The room was reasonably spacious for three adults and was well appointed. The furnishings were well maintained and impeccably clean. The bathroom was open and spotless with good amenities. There were a few small personalized touches we found absolutely delightful. The mattress was comfortable and sleep quality was excellent.

There are activities held throughout the day organized by the hotel's Health Club. Some of them are pretty interesting, like morning yoga, bicycle tours and windsurfing lessons. Thing is, we were given the impression that the activities went on on a daily basis and it was merely a matter of whether or not you wanted to participate. It was only on the night before our check-out that we received a summary of billable incidentals that we found out that every activity participated in was chargeable! They weren't very expensive, but we were not informed upon making the booking or participating that there would be charges! We would have participated nonetheless (as they were quite fun) but we would've appreciated knowing so beforehand.

On one of the days, we were told that the hotel was to organize a day-long island-hopping and snorkeling trip by private speedboat. It was a 7-hour (9am-4pm) jaunt and all we had to bring were sunblock, hats, sunglasses and a book (optional) for 4,500++B. A little on the expensive side but we went for it.... and it was by far one of the better things I have ever paid for! Canapes and lunch was provided, as well as unlimited cold water, soft drinks and iced tea. Oh, and snorkeling masks (you will have to specifically request flippers when you make your booking should you want them). We were given the right royal treatment and I would like to make a special recommendation for their guest officer Leng for his wonderful service, attentive manner and all-around star professionalism. We would go back to the Sofitel just for Leng and this speedboat trip! But do take this ride up if you can afford it. The snorkeling and the sights are simply amazing. At times, it felt as though we were looking at heaven on earth.

The food at the Sofitel is good too, which is fortunately because the location is quite remote. There isn't anywhere to walk to and unless you rent a car, getting around is expensive. There is an shuttle to AoNang that starts runs once at 11am, then hourly from 6-10pm and is a 20mins ride. Unfortunately, that means the last shuttle back to the hotel from AoNang is at 10.30pm, which doesn't give you much opportunity for making a late night at the bars in AoNang. There are taxi services but they cost 500B-700B for a one-way trip whereas the hotel charges only 100B per one-way trip.

Somewhat of a let-down was the beach at Sofitel. It is not quite accessible directly from the hotel, you need to cross a not-too-busy road for it and the sand & scenery are not excellent. Railay and AoNang or taking a boat to Hong Island or PhiPhi Island makes for much better beach-going.

All in all, we were very happy staying at the Sofitel. The best thing about this hotel is by far its service staff. Everyone was beyond amazing and it went a long way to making the holiday the joy it was. Highly recommended, especially for large family holidays.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.
Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and particularly to Leng who made your stay a pleasant one.
We would also like to thank you and assure you that we have taken good note of your comments.
We shall be looking into appropriate measures in the future to ensure our guests' entire satisfaction.
We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,345 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing