We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“probatly the best hotel..in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“probatly the best hotel..in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Big words..but anyway, we stayed 7 days at this fantastic hotel, the staff was very friendly, and loved all kids, and did their best for us too feel "at home". The pool area is marvelous, the breakfast wonderful, at the morning we should leave(4 am) we got a take away breakfast, 3 big bags witht everything you could think of to a breakfast. 3 very good restaurants, for Thailand a bit expencive, but the quality is worth paing for. The "free" trip to Hong island was super nice.

So thank you sofitel and staff in Krabi...we can't wait to get back to Thailand and wisit your hotel again..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikSRas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are glad to learn that you had a great time with us.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    628
    242
    64
    43
See reviews for
759
950
81
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

As a frequent traveler I visit dozens of hotels every year. Unfortunately it is quite hard to find a really outstanding house, even in the five-star-segment. Sofitel in Krabi was a exclusion – a really outstanding hotel with excellent staff, where you can get a really luxury feeling. You can see the director all the time, from breakfast to the restaurant, always reachable for the guests and always asking whether everything is ok – obviously this personal attitude is the secret of success of this great place. Only minus: The beach is small and not very nice and romantic – but for me this wasn´t a reason to enjoy my stay less. Hardly ever got such a hotel and service for such a price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quasimod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Overall, it's suited to be claimed as 5 stars hotel - big cleanliness room, hospitality staff. Internet need a wire to connect which would be better if they could provide wifi. They have program activity agenda with load of activities to do during the stay such as Batik painting with a fee, swimming in a very large pool, go to Hong Island with complimentary speed boat from the hotel, etc. The italian food at Venezia restaurant is good while the breakfast and food packed to Hong island is not that bad but hardly to say delicious.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iNuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would also like to thank you and assure you that we have taken good note of your comments.
We shall be looking into appropriate measures in the future to ensure our guests' entire satisfaction.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

My wife and I stayed 5 days after a few hectic days in Bangkok.
This hotel surpassed all my expectations -truly 5 star treatment.
Excellent location, private beach, top quality restaurants, personal service.....
Everything you could wish for including cold face towels and cold water while on the beach.
About 25 mins from Krabi -so well away from the madness!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 10 nights as part of our two week first visit to Thailand.We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary during our stay. On arrival we were given a cooling drink and cool towels while being checked in by the very welcoming reception staff.Then we were shown to our lovely room,flowers in the room and a scrumptious anniversary cake and a bath filled with orchid petals were such a lovely touch.The staff are really friendly and helpful.We tried the Thai Chi lessons many thanks to Ling and Jo( the tutors )it was much harder than it looks but most enjoyable.The pool was wonderful and there were always plenty of sunbeds and towels.The poolside staff were so helpful in moving sunbeds and finding shade when needed thankyou to Wee for everything. The gardens were also beautiful and well attended.We used the local retaurants close to the hotel for meals we had lovely meals in all these Mother House ,The Beach House, Jo's and the Coconut.We went on a couple of boat trips during our stay.We went to Hong island using the hotels' speed boat the island is very picturesque and the water clear and warm.We also visited Phi Phi Island (which was very crowded) as part of a three Island boat trip.We had a very enjoyable relaxing stay at this lovely hotel and would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New4est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are delighted to learn that you had a great time for your anniversary.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Krabi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Whilst spending a couple of weeks traveling in Thailand, my partner and I decided to treat ourselves to a couple of nights at the Sofitel Golf and Spa Resort in Krabi to celebrate my 30th.

Despite an eventful start to our stay (see below) it was lovely and somewhere that we would definitely recommend!

To cut a very long story short, we arrived at the hotel having travelled straight from a local horse riding stable where my other half had just been badly bitten by a dog...despite our disheveled look on arrival, the manager and hotel staff were great and could not have done more to help us. They arranged for my partner to be seen straight away by the on site nurse, before arranging for us to be driven (with the nurse in tow) to and from the clinic in Ao Nang for him to be treated and given one of many rabies jabs!

Thankfully our stay improved considerably as soon as we got back to the hotel and checked in - it is a lovely place to spend some relaxing days. The grounds are immaculate and the infinity pool large enough to lose yourself in.... the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and there is a shuttle 'bus' available though out the day to take guests to nearby Ao Nang (for a small fee).

We decided to eat at the hotel on the first night, and had a lovely meal at their Venezia restaurant which offers "fine dining Italian cuisine with al fresco dining, and panoramic seating on the terrace". It was a great setting for a romantic meal for two.

When returning to our room, there was a bottle of birthday champagne waiting (courtesy of parents back in the UK) which as you can imagine was a very welcomed end to an otherwise strange day!

Our final day was spent having a lazy breakfast (not to be missed!) and then lounging in the sunshine around the pool before heading into Ao Nang on the evening in search of a handbag or two!

If we are lucky enough to holiday in Thailand again, we will definitely try to schedule in a few more days at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicqui7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are pleased to read that you had a relaxing holiday with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Positive:
Hotel is beautiful. Clean and comfortable rooms. Amazing, huge swimming pool. Staff is very helpful trying to make your holiday enjoyable and perfect. Hotel that cares about details and guests. Lot of everyday activities and majority of them are for free (thai box, pilates, golf basics, fitness and aerobic…)

Negative:
Hotel is dislocated from Ao Nang where nightlife and shops are but actually it depends what are you looking for a holiday. Still there is shuttle bus that operates Sofitel – Ao Nang for 100 THB per person one way. Breakfast in hotel is a bit too expensive even for Sofitel and especially for Thailand (15 EUR/person).

Impression:
If you want to relax and get out from rush Sofitel is a perfect place. Although it is a bit dislocated from Ao Nang, near hotel there are few nice restaurants and massage salons. Prices for dinner in restaurants near hotel varies from 20 to 30 EUR for 2 person and prices of massage are cca 5 to 10 EUR/hour. Hotel organizes beautiful trip to Hong island (national park with great beach) and charges just fee/tax for entrance that is 200 THB per person (5 EUR). Don’t miss that opportunity, it is great!

When I read other peoples review I’m always surprised with some comments. If you book accommodation in Sofitel it is not ‘Chong Mong’ accommodation and you know what prices you can expect. Is it possible to book Sofitel in Paris, Munich or I don’t know where and pay cocktail 2 EUR or lunch/dinner 5 EUR…of course NOT. This is Sofitel…luxurious resorts with quality and extraordinary service and prices are aligned to that. Although I have to say prices are not so high…lunch or dinner at pool restaurant or Thai restaurant varies from 20 to 50 EUR for 2 persons. Alcoholic cocktails are from 5 to 7 EUR. For Europeans it shouldn’t be so inaccessible…

In conclusion Sofitel is a great resort for escape from stressful everyday life, whit great staff and very comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mentor_os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing