We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage with a stunning view”
other travellers have booked this property
Your own private porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private porch
Side View of Porch Large Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Your own private porch
Side View of Porch
Large Bedroom
Dutch Door and Shutters
Wine Bottles Decorate the Walls
Firm Mattress
Custom Stained Glass over Door and Windows
Hot and Cold Water in the Shower and Sink
Bathroom Sink
Side view of Shower
Kitty in a Bucket
Wood Ducks, Palo Verde National Park
Giant Guapinol on Finca Los Arboles, Cob Cottage
Interesting Roots, Northshore, Lake Arenal
Jungle, Finca Los Arboles
Valley View, Finca Los Arboles
Western Shore, Lake Arenal
Waterfall near Cob Cottage, (notice the boy jumping from the cliff!!)
Fortuna de Bagaces Old Fashion Sugar Cane Mill
Certified Organic Wines served at Cob Cottage, Finca Los Arboles
Our Horse, Lula and Charlie
Typical Guanacaste Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Guayabo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Natasha H
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with a stunning view”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed our one night stay at this gorgeous property. The cottage was clean and spacious with everything we needed. Our wonderful hosts provided a lovely pancake breakfast and are a wealth of knowledge regarding the area and places to visit. It was such a treat to start our vacation off at the cottage. Cheers from Canada.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Cheers to our Canadian guest. Thank you for enjoying our Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Host go above & beyond!”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were looking for a secluded place outside of Liberia. The hobbit cottage was the first thing to pop up in our search. We were beyond impressed with the reviews and it was just what we were looking for. The reviews we read were everything and so much more!

Our host William & Angelica were absolutely fabulous! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with friendly smiles. It was New Years Eve and we had seen that William would cook for us for a minimal price (meals were between $10-$20). He also was kind and purchased some bubbly. My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner along with great conversation. Breakfast was included daily. The coffee & sugar cane were delicious. Out of our three evenings two of the evenings we opted to eat with William & Angelica. During our conversations they provide us great advice on various places to check out and told us great stories.

There was a small town close by, Gauybo. We actually had one dinner there as well as stopped for a few drinks another day. I can not remember the name of the restaurant but if you are driving through town its on your right before you go over a small bridge and leave town. It's a very open airy restaurant. Olga the owner was an adorable older woman. Rubio was our server both days and food was delicious and extremely reasonable priced. Plus a positive was they took credit cards. We actually were very surprised how many places accepted credit cards. For your incidentals at the hobbit house you will need cash.

Anytime we had a request they were more then willing to accommodate us. Angelica always insisted to give us bottled water any time we went out and about to make sure we were hydrated. One day we were taking a walk around the property and in passing mentioned to Angelica we may want a bottle of wine or two. After our walk there were two wine glasses & two bottles of organic red wine ($11-$20 a bottle) along with a cheese plate waiting for us.

The farm is very quaint and peacful. The view from our porch was breathe taking. The cottage is small but honestly we really didn't need much space since we were outdoors most of the time. It's perfect for two people.

On a side note the dogs were very friendly and sweet. They were watching a friends dog, Happy, and she was our guide around the farm. The cats stuck to themselves.

When were left we felt we had made new life long friends with William & Angelica!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Indeed,
It is truly amazing how we become close friends in just a short time. Maybe it is because we enjoy hosting our guest and try to make sure they are comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlyn9
Norcal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an unexpected find!”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Off the usual tourist track, we were pleasantly surprised to discover this place on Trip Advisor. Warm, welcoming hosts very generous with their time and home. Clean, comfortable, peaceful, a wonderful retreat on our road trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
We are happy to accommodate our guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heimann P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 2 nights at this place and were very satisfied. The owner William and his wife are very nice and sitting with them in the evening and morning was interesting and cozy.
What could improve the stay is a trail through the forest for ex.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
We have trails that circumnavigate the property (27-Ac) but recommend using bug spray.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefnos
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cozy cottage; great hosts; good food”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A cozy cottage up the road from Bagaces. You need a car to reach it. Three friendly dogs, two cats, a horse and a goat. The owner has been in the area for a decade and was able to give good tips on places to visit. Great potential for birders, but the owners haven't put up feeders yet. Nevertheless, I saw a toucan, parrots and flycatchers. The food was well prepared and delicious; I ate with the hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
We are frequented with a variety of birds, most recently the Oropendula. What a beautiful song they have. They are the ones that build the long hanging teardrop shaped nest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha182
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a great location!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I spent one week at Cob Cottage with my husband and we both had an excellent time. The unique design of the cottage and the use of natural materials gives it an organic feel. The views are beautiful and so is the property. Our hosts, William and Angie, were friendly and helpful and made us feel like part of the family. We asked to have both breakfast and dinner provided for us and the food was delicious, fresh, and always included some fruits and/or vegetables grown right on site! Pura vida!

The location of Cob Cottage is ideal. It's about an hour from Liberia airport and not too far from some wonderful national parks (Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde) and a number of local hot springs. In the week we were there we never ran out of places to visit and things to do. We used Cob Cottage as a home base from which to visit national parks, volcanoes, and beaches, but I could also see people enjoying the location as somewhere to get away from it all and simply enjoy it on its own. Either way, this is sure to be a perfect spot for travellers to Costa Rica!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
Thank you for the great review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to your return.
There are still some secret places near by that we can explore next time. We finally got some rain last night....hopefully more is on the way.
Best Regards,

William and Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat642014
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a wonderful stay with Angie and William. They were great hosts and we greatly enjoyed ourselves with them. They are more than helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. They made our stay much more enjoyable by being able to discover what the Guancaste province has to offer. Great view every morning looking down onto the valley. When you drive out of the property, there is a fantastic view of Miravalles. The doggies are very friendly too! William and Angie will also cook you dinner for a very reasonable price. You will eat very healthy foods. Everything they served was delicious and you will have good conversations.

We both highly recommend Cob Cottage, and staying with William and Angie, without any hesitation. Can't wait to go back!

Thanks William and Angie!

Pat and Maria

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
We too are looking forward to your return. Last year we had lots of rain so new plants popping up everywhere!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing