We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Cayuco 33

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bavaro, Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ispin2eat
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Renter beware: Not as represented”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have happily rented several luxury homes over the years.

We rented this unit at Cayuco 33 in Cap Cana Christmas week. We paid a premium to rent this week, and there is nothing worse than feeling ripped off on your family vacation.
The problems were both with the description of the home which was not accurate and also with the maintenance of the home.
The ad for this house was entitled “golf and lake front home”-in reality this home was on a defunct overgrown golf resort with a water drainage pit in the back yard. The moment we arrived we realized that we had been duped. This major misrepresentation was significant not just due to the bad view but also because we paid a premium to be on a golf course.
The night we arrived we experienced the next problem with the house-,there was no hot water. The water heater did not get fixed until 4 days later. That meant that for more than half of our vacation we had no hot water in the showers nor in the sinks. No hot water with five children and four adults.
When we rented the home, the homeowner suggested we rent golf carts. She offered that we could rent her 2 golf carts that were already at the home for an additional fee We agreed to pay $70 per day per golf cart. When we arrived in Cap Cana we realized that the development was very spread out, and we were thrilled that we had the foresight to rent the golf carts. That excitement changed very quickly on Day 2 when one of the golf carts broke down, and could not be used for most of our stay.
There were also several additional issues but you probably get the idea. For instance the jacuzzi required repair and maintenance during our stay and was not functional when we arrived. All of the toilets in the home were constantly running, and the appliances in the kitchen all were dated and some needed to be replaced. The local property manager did his best to help, but it became obvious that this home has not been regularly maintained and therefore there was not much he could do.
When we wrote the owner she ignored our concerns and replied as if she had done nothing wrong...even the erroneous title of the listing didn’t seem wrong to her as she said there once was a golf course there and that water heaters do break in homes....I ask you: if a home represented honestly and functioning properly is worth a certain price, shouldn’t a partial refund be offered when people can’t shower and one stares at an overgrown lawn and brown water drainage pit un-showered while on vacation?
If you are looking for a house with no views, and in disrepair with running toilets, shabby furniture and cold showers, this is the house for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarasm...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as Advertised”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a run-down house with worn out furniture, beds as hard as rocks, toilets that constantly run and don't flush, and golf carts that break down....then this is the rental for you. Oh and did I mention the view?? The owner claims the view is of a golf course and a "lake". The house overlooks a property that was going to be developed into a golf course, but lost it's funding and is now a field of low brush. and the lake?? it's a drainage hole from the golf course that never came to be. So do not pay a premium for view or accommodations. This house is located on a nice block in Cap Cana near the Eden roc. The staff is very nice and tries their best to provide everything they can...but as things keep breaking down it is a challenge. (the hot water didn't work for 4 days when I was there!!). My advice? find another house - for the price, this one is NOT worth it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Dear, I am sorry to hear all your issues in this property. Nevertheless you did not rent through us, Dunamar Real Estate so please contact the administrator who rented the house to write your review.
We have maintenance team while we have villas rented and unfortunately you didn't hire your vacation rental with us. We work hard and find the best options for our customers. Please delete this bad comments through Dunamar because we hadn't rented you this property. It must be another agency. Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bavaro hotels

Barbarasm...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what it seems”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this villa and chose it based on the description published. It is NOT overlooking a beautiful golf course. The golf course across the water drainage hole behind he house is abandoned and overgrown. The next door neighbor built a huge wall blocking the view toward the south (see photo). The house had many broken parts. Toilets don’t function properly, hot water is intermittent and the hot tub needed repair too. Beds are hard as rocks. If you choose to stay here, be aware that the villa is not as described and shouldn’t fetch a premium for beautiful views or luxury accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing