We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (10,687)
    Filter reviews
    10,687 results
    Traveller rating
    8,864
    1,304
    352
    118
    49
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    8,864
    1,304
    352
    118
    49
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssurf and turfboom boomstar friendskobe beeflobsterdinner reservationscigar barbutler serviceour honeymoonpool barother resortsspecialty restaurantslunch buffetbubble bathpina coladaall inclusive resortrose petals
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    6,360 - 6,365 of 10,687 reviews
    Reviewed 22 May 2013

    Chose the Grand Bavaro as a destination for my 40th birthday - went with my best friend. It was an ideal choice for us! Beautiful beach and pool area; and, despite comments I'd seen on this site, we never had any challenge finding chairs at any time of day. I found the moderate surf perfect for swimming! It's rare to be able to get to relatively deep water very close to shore. The staff is outstanding -- welcoming, friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you have the perfect vacation experience. Having been to other all-inclusives, I loved that the Grand was very compact...no golf carts to get from point A to B, no leaving 15 minutes before dinner to "find" your restaurant. We were steps away from anything we could want at all times. It's generally quiet (no raucous kids) and if the pool bar, or anywhere else, gets a tad rowdy there's plenty of space to relocate for some peace and relative solitude. The spa was lovely - I particularly recommend the pearl body treatment (which was far better than my massage.) Food is tasty -- but on a par with good quality all-inclusives...e.g. don't expect the equivalent of fine restaurants at home. The restaurant experiences were fine, but we found the buffet to be just as good and with more variety. This is not a great destination if you're all about the nightlife -- the shows were diverting, but not extraordinary. The lobby bar is nice and the "ship" offers some later night revelry...but, for the most part, this is a relaxation destination. Rooms were incredibly spacious and comfortable. Excellent bedding and air conditioning (always the most important features for me!), good water pressure and hot water reliability. It was so nice to have champagne delivered daily to enjoy on our balcony. The ONLY negative feedback I have about the resort is that (I suspect in response to some of the complaints I read here) they utilize aromatherapy to combat natural mustiness that may occur in humid climates. This was fine (and subtle) in our room. But in some of the public areas -- most notably the restaurants and public bathrooms -- the smell was totally overpowering. Cloying and heavy like a potpourri, it was disruptive -- and on more than one occasion made dining unpleasant. It was so overpowering, it competed with the food and wine. Personally, I feel like keeping things natural would be far preferable, but if a aromatherapy is essential - take it easy and use a scent that's far less noxious. Again, this was a very small complaint in the overall experience - and I would gladly recommend the Grand and go back!

    Room Tip: Rooms facing the center/interior of the resort have a nice sea view from balconies. We were on a higher floor right by the spa, which placed us steps from the beach and pool.
    • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank bmoregal
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

    Dear guest,
    We would like to thank you for taking time to write some comments about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
    We are very satisfied to read that you and your friend enjoyed an unforgettable stay and birthday celebration in our hotel premises and facilities due to the friendliness of our team, the wide variety of our gastronomy and our “Adult Only” policy. For us in Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection it is fundamental to us to ensure exclusivity and calmness, so our guests can enjoy a relaxing and pleasant stay. We are pleased to hear that we accomplished our goal whilst you stay.
    On the other hand, we extend our apologies for any inconveniences related to our aromatherapy at our public toilets and restaurants. We have shared your feedback to the corresponding departments to control the intensity of the perfume.
    We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for further assistance prior your next visit.
    Kind regards,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 May 2013

    Chose this hotel based on it being all inclusive as we were looking for a last minute uncomplicated "quiet" girls getaway from New York for a few days
    We choose the perfect place. Direct flight from JFK, 20 minute ride from airport (hotel does not provide transportation, $38 air conditioned cab ride) and easy check in.

    Hotel guests mostly couples on honeymoon, returning for anniversary or just returning for a third a fourth time. No children. Only one or two guys with sleveless (wife-beater) t-sirts at lunch buffet restaurant (comon guys, find a sleeved shirt for the restaurant) and people really dress up for dinner. Not jacket and tie, but women in great dresses and men in nice shirts with (non-athletic) shorts or nice slacks.

    Several restaurants to choose between, but don't let them steer you to their sister property next door for dinner if you want a quiet dinner. This is where the families with children are staying. I don't mind children, have four myself, but just thought I would mention it to those looking for complete serenity. Food is not as good next door either, but staff is just as great. Guests from property next door cannot dine at the Grand property.

    Staff is really well trained and seem genuinely happy to be working at the resort.

    Small well equipped gym with ocean view next to the spa. We were able to get same day appointments at the spa. Spa staff gentle and efficient. Golf and tennis available at extra cost.

    Beach has soft sand, clear water, gentle waves, nice palm umbrellas for shade and staff walking around taking drink orders.

    One of the reviews I read suggested to bring dollars in small denominations for tipping. That was a good tip. It might be an "all inclusive" property but whenever appropriate, tipping was very much appreciated by the staff. Not for every drink ordered, but perhaps if the same server brings you drinks all day at the beach or if they go out of their way especially for you.

    Good quality resort that is overall well kept. Upgraded bathrooms with rain shower and bath tub, great matresses, sheets and pillow, nice heavy doors for privacy, room darkening shades, easy Internet (in the room and lobby) tv, balcony overlooking courtyard with waterfall (soothing sound).

    Air-conditioning and lights turn off automatically when you leave the room and turn back on when you return. Nice "green" feature. Don't leave the balcony doors open when you leave the room or you will return to everything covered in a slight mist and sheets and clothing slightly damp. It all dries out again when you turn the a/c back on.

    I would come back but bring my husband the next time. Have to mention that we felt very safe in the environment.

    Room Tip: Only a couple of true ocean view rooms at this very large complex as building is u-shaped around a huge water-feature pond. To actually see the ocean from the other "ocean view" rooms that face the courtyard you need to lean out from the balcony. Any room facing water-feature courtyard is good. Rooms facing "out" towards other properties next door have serve roads running next to them (electric carts) early in the morning.
    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank New_York_Snow
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

    Dear guest,
    On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we thank you for your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor and for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays.
    We would like to express you our satisfaction when reading your publication in which you valued positively the quality of our hotel premises, gastronomy and services. Thank you for highlighting out the outstanding service from our friendly staff. In Iberostar we are all committed to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star” during their holidays.
    We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit,
    With best regards,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 May 2013

    I stayed at the Grand Bavaro from May 13 to May 20, 2013. This decision was made after careful reviews on multiple sites about this hotel. This place will not dissappoint. This was the most amazing vacation that I have had in my life. Everyone and I mean everyone was wonderful to be around. Arismendy 'Mendy,' our butler, was nothing but amazing this entire trip. Every need, want, or desire that we had was taken care of in a timely, efficient and courteous manner. Everyday, every butler than I ran into asked if there was anything special that they could do for us for the day. Our bath was amazing that he set up, there were flowers delivered to my room, everytting was thoughtful and special. Leidy, server at the pool, was also wonderful to me and my family. We waited for her to deliver our drinks, because of her pleasant attitude and the way she took care of us. Boom-boom, part of the entertainment staff, was so very nice and helpful. The staff went above and beyond in everything they did. Besides the ones listed, there are too many to name that did an excellent job. The servers at the restaurant were attentive at all times. The food was excellent, and there was always plenty. The staff was punctual. The grounds were absolutely breathtaking. I had an oceanview room and I would highly suggest upgrading to this room. You will not be disappointed. I cannot wait to go back.

    Room Tip: Upgrade to an oceanview room.
    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Ami R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

    Dear guest,
    In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to thank you for taking time to write some comments about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for choosing our premises for your holidays.
    It is satisfying for the whole team to read that you have enjoyed “the most amazing vacation” of your lives, according to your review, due to the personalized service provided by our friendly staff, especially by your butler Mendy who was congratulated for making your holidays especial. Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection aims to provide the most exclusive personalized service so our valuable costumers can “enjoy being a Star” in an upscale level.
    We are waiting for your next visit; please do not hesitate to contact us in advance so we can ensure you another memorable holiday.
    Kind regards,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 May 2013

    This is a return visit for us to the Iberostar Grand Bavaro after only 18 months.

    We are seasoned and experienced travelers, having visited luxury, all-inclusive, adults only resorts like Secrets, Excellence, Sandals, Palace, Iberostar, and others over the past 15 years. Many times, a return visit to a particular resort is not as rewarding as the first time. That is definitely not the case here -- this was one of our best vacations!

    At the Iberostar Grand Bavaro the guest is king. The staff truly goes out of their way to please and grant your every wish, and not just because they have to – they WANT to. It is evident that they enjoy their work, as we witnessed staff providing service to some rude, demanding guests (you know the type), compounded by a language barrier, with a smile, patience, and politeness. And if they couldn’t help, they would find someone who could. Our treatment was always high level, no matter whom we dealt with.

    I’m also happy to report that we saw some improvements since our last visit. For instance, the spa got a makeover, and is beautiful, clean and inviting. If you can, take advantage of it - my massage was amazing!

    The food was also noticeably tastier, thanks to a new and talented Executive chef. When asked, the dining room staff will accommodate your food preferences, if at all possible. After just one such request, we never had to repeat ourselves – they got it right the first time! One of the restaurant chefs ran to his HOME to get us a particular ingredient that wasn’t on hand at the restaurant. We were surprised and touched; and he was happy to do it. I don’t think we’ve ever encountered that level of service anywhere!

    The pool and beach areas have plenty of lounges, and we never saw guests wandering around trying to get a spot. They are now making guests account for their towel usage, and while annoying, is understandable (and you know why!). I also wish the pool was heated – maybe that’s a suggestion we can bring before our next visit.

    There were a few minor room complaints that we encountered, but that could be because prior guests did not notice or report them. Any issue that we brought up was taken care of quickly and we were never inconvenienced when doing so. Kudos to the butlers for that, as they are the first line of defense for any problem.

    I do, however, have a complaint that the resort probably has no control of, and that is the reservation requirements for the restaurants. You have to know in advance where you think you’d want to eat on any given night, and you need to know this at the beginning of your stay. If you decide at the last minute that you want to change a selection, it is practically impossible to get the restaurant you want.
    We’ve also heard grumblings about Wi-Fi not being available throughout the resort - but to us, that’s a minor inconvenience.

    We have occasionally left some resorts with sentimental feelings, and this was one of them. Over time, we have come to realize that the reason some resorts stand out while others do not is the relationships developed with the staff during the stay. This stems from the genuine warmth and helpfulness of staff in striving to make your stay as enjoyable, satisfying, and stress free as possible. The credit for the overall experience has to go to the management team for their support and commitment to superior guest services.

    Room Tip: ALL the regular rooms are good becuase they're all the same.
    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    14  Thank fifibubba
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

    Dear Guest,
    We would like to thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for your loyalty when choosing our hotel as your holiday’s destination.
    In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we want to express how motivated we pleased we are when reading your positive valuation about the service provided by our staff at the different areas of our premises, the improvement in our gastronomy and the refurbishment of our spa. This certainly motivates our entire team to keep ensuring memorable holidays to our valuable costumers as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
    We are waiting for your return; please do not forget to contact us before your arrival.
    Yours Sincerely,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 May 2013

    This hotel has a wonderful location, good people, and great accomodations. Their one weakness is their poor room service. As a 5 Star Hotel there room service rated "no" star.
    Unfortunately, it was so bad it was as if they did not want you to order it. A property is only as good as its weakest link. I rely on reviews and felt I needed to provide this one.

    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
    4  Thank Juddalan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

    Dear guest,
    On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, Hotel Manager, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel and for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays.
    We are very pleased to acknowledge that you enjoyed a pleasant holiday despite that our room service could not meet your expectation and for which we extend our apologies. We have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef so we can work on improving this aspect of our service so our valuable costumers can enjoy completely their stay at our hotel.
    We will be honored to welcome you back and show you our improvements. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival so we can ensure you another especial moment.
    With kindest regards,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews