We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Nearby Hotels
US$363
US$324
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$278
US$196
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$222
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$437
US$428
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$236
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$908
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,697)
Filter reviews
10,697 results
Traveller rating
8,873
1,305
352
118
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,873
1,305
352
118
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfboom boomstar friendskobe beeflobsterdinner reservationscigar barbutler serviceour honeymoonpool barother resortsspecialty restaurantslunch buffetbubble bathpina coladaall inclusive resortrose petals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,494 - 5,499 of 10,697 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Bavaro from May 5-May 15, 2014 for our Honeymoon. Back in 2009 we stayed at the grand in Jamaica and knew that no other resort would top an Iberostar for our Honeymoon!

We felt right at home from the moment we arrived. Pastor, our butler, was super sweet and went out of his way to help us. He even had a cake brought up to out room as my birthday was also during our stay!

The Entertainment staff (Star Friends) were so much fun! We enjoyed the games by the pool with Elias, Boom Boom, Armando, Tommy, and Ricardo. Ricardo took a special peice of our heart. He called us his "family" and always had a hug for us. We enjoyed our conversations and time with him!

The food was exquisite! I had some of the best steak of my life at this resort. The service at each restaurant was great. They timed each course perfectly. We are from NY and even the Italian food wasn't bad! Our favorite was the Japanese!!

The size of the resort is great! It never felt crowded. Even by the pool or beach, it always felt calming. The bar service by the pool was great. Malayik (sp??) was really great at bringing us our drinks by the pool. She was super sweet, and never looked tired!! She even remembered our drinks of choice.

We were lucky enough to get the room we requested. Ocean view on the 3rd floor. We were right under the Presidential Suite, and Mr.Fluxa (Iberostar owner) was there for the last two days of our trip. Unfortunately we did not get to meet him and tell him in person how great his resorts are!

Overall, we had an incredible honeymoon and it was all thanks to the resort and its staff!
We are already trying to decide where to take our next Iberostar vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillianKristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guests,
We thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the traveler’s community on Tripadvisor.
It is a honor for the whole team, especially for the Hotel Manager Mr. Stefano Baratelli, to acknowledge that you consider our service, grounds, gastronomy and entertainment to be the best and the reason why you enjoyed the “best vacation ever” according to the title of your review. In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure memorable holidays to our valuable costumers.
We are looking forward to see you again and remain at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Iberostar Grand Hotel is 'the best' in all of Bavaro! Thanks to all for your superior service - especially Lara (Manager), Francisca (Reservations), Jonathan (Butler), Yari (Hostess), Leandro, Nicole, and the entire food & beverage staff!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,
We thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro as your holiday’s destination and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your experience among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli; we would like to express how pleased we are to read that you enjoyed your holidays at our hotel premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff. We have congratulated those that you have mentioned on your review for contributing to ensure you an unforgettable stay.
We kindly invite you to any of our more than one hundred IBEROSTAR hotels worldwide and remain at your disposition for any request you might have before your next holiday.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just returned from a five day honeymoon at the Grand Bavaro. We could not have made a better decision!

The service was spectacular in every sense of the word. Our butlers (Victor and Jonathan) were constantly checking on us to make sure we had everything we needed - from setting up a bubble bath with rose petals, to tracking down extra hair conditioner, to making sure our room was stocked with our favorite drinks - they were phenomenal. We sat on the beach most days and the wait staff checked on us every 15-20 minutes to get us another drink and/or clear our existing glasses. They were fantastic! In addition, every other staff member we interacted with - from the spa, to the restaurants to the front desk were accommodating and helpful. All we had to do was ask!

The room was lovely. The decoration was beautiful, the bathroom was large, and the balcony had an ocean view (which we could also see from the jacuzzi!). The air conditioning worked well (important for the Caribbean).

The food was great for an all-inclusive resort. Being from Washington DC, we are accustomed to gourmet meals. We got a chance to try each of the four restaurants - each was very good and very filling. The best I have had at an all-inclusive. The buffets for breakfast and lunch were expansive - anything you could imagine was available (from steak to lobster tails)

Finally, the location was stunning. The resort is meticulously kept - the flowers were beautiful, the pool was clean, and the beach was unbelievable. The ocean was very clear and it was easy to jump in for a swim. Similarly, the swimming pools were great.

We wanted a vacation where we could take a "break" from major decisions and thinking - this was the perfect spot! Everything was set and focused on relaxation.

Thank you to all of the staff for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WorldTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our third trip to this wonderful hotel and we plan on returning in 2 months -The staff is totally committed to service and they seem to go the extra mile to make your stay a great experience...Hotel is in awesome condition-gorgeous grounds,pristine beach area with many thatched huts,many activities and food that is wonderful which is important if you are staying for a week or more -We've been to three other resorts in Punta Cana and while those were nice this one is a major step up in overall quality. I know its hard to gain an overall feel from the resort from reviews but you will notice The Grand is rated #1 and its that way for a reason -You want a 20 ounce steak and unlimited grilled lobster? You've got it every day here(On "Gala Night" at the buffet there was Shrimp,Oysters,Two types of large Lobster,King Crab and Snow Crab legs-all you can eat) They give you a lot for your money...Rooms are pristine with comfy beds and if there is ever a problem it will be fixed quickly...Grounds/Beach Area (again)are immaculate...I cannot recommend this place enough due to overall value and service you receive here-Laura (Hotel Asst.Mgr),Freddy(Front Desk Mgr.),Nathaniel(Beach Restaurant Mgr.)Rafael(Beach Attendant) all went the extra mile to insure we were happy and well taken care of -If you want a nicer slice of paradise this is your place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank rgsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Grand from May 4th through May 9th of 2014. I had done a lot of research before we booked the Grand, and I am happy to say the facilities, and especially the staff, lived up to all the great reviews I had read. First, the hotel and grounds are beautiful and impeccably clean. You will find that as you walk around the property, whenever you pass by any hotel staff, whether it is your butler, food or drink servers, the maids, the front desk staff or the STAR FRIENDS you will always be greeted with “Hola” and “Como Estas”. Also, the butlers are always very interested to find out if there is anything you need or what they can do for you to make your stay better. Our butler, Romeo, was at our door within ten minutes of our arrival and asked us what we needed in the mini-bar and snack box and whether we had any pillow preferences. We promptly got everything we asked for and Romeo also made all our dinner reservations for the entire stay that first afternoon, so we were able to get our preferred dinning time at each of the al carte restaurants each night.

All the food and drinks are top-notch. My favorite restaurant was the Surf & Turf, El Galeon and my wife’s was the French gourmet restaurant, Le Tourbillon . Being Italian, the Italian Restaurant, La Tentazione didn’t get it quite right for us, but then again you are in the DR, not Italy. The most impressive thing about the wait staff, butlers and STAR FRIENDS at the Grand is that after they meet you for the first time, most of them will remember your name and will call you by name when they see you later during your stay. For example, on our first night our waitress at El Galeon was Loraine. When she later saw us at different restaurants or the buffet, she would call us by name and wave hello, even though she was not serving us personally this time. This is a great touch and it makes you feel as if you are part of the family.

The STAR FRIENDS are the entertainment staff. During the day they will organize activities and little contests for those who want to do more than just lounge and soak up the sun. If you don’t want to participate, that’s fine; they will just come by, say hello and talk to you about what’s going on, the show each evening or just about life at the resort or about your life back home. Two of the STAR FRIENDS we had the most interaction with were Tommy and Boom-Boom, so here is a shout-out to them for making our stay so enjoyable. We would also like to say hello to Angel who we would see mostly in the evenings and thank him for trying to teach us a little Spanish during our conversations.

The shows at night (10:00 PM, as the Grand is child-free) were the best I have seen in the DR, especially the shows with live singing. Regardless of the nightly theme, all the performers work very hard to give the audience the best show possible. The dancers seem to never stop and are changing costumes constantly. Unlike most other DR resorts, the showroom is indoors and air-conditioned and is similar to a Las Vegas showroom.

Other than a few larger suites and swim-up rooms, I think all of the hotel rooms are identical. But, as in most places, location matters. There are a limited number of ocean front rooms, several ocean view rooms and the rest have a variety of garden, pool and partial ocean views. One important thing to realize when you are booking just a regular room (which the hotel calls a junior suite) with no special views or location, is that many rooms face the neighboring Iberostar Bavaro Suites. So if it is important to you to actually see the Grand property from your balcony (and believe me, the view is truly “Grand”), you should let the hotel know your preference well in advance. Although they will not guarantee the inside property view, they will do their best to accommodate your wishes. They did with us – see my pictures taken from our balcony. The room and bathroom themselves are a bit smaller than some others we have had in the DR, but the appointments are first-class and, as your butler will tell you, anything you want in the room they will get for you.

The Grand’s beach is wide and flat with powdery white sand. Compared to other resorts, it is very clean and spacious; you are not sitting right on top of your fellow vacationers the way you have to at some other resorts. There are many palapas (those palm-roofed umbrellas) to provide a cool shady area when you don’t want the sun, and drinks are served to you right on the beach. One other nice touch is that the Hotel’s free WIFI extends right down to the shore line. I saw people Skyping with family back home right from their lounge chair about 20 yards from the ocean and I actually had my feet in the water while listening to internet radio from back home. Now that is impressive!

The pool area is also very picturesque (see my photo) and the Bali beds in the little white cabanas are wonderful. There is no charge to use the cabanas, but the trick is actually getting one in a prime spot. That brings me to the towel game. The towel hut at the pool opens at 7:00 am, but if you walk the pool and the beach earlier than that, you will see all manner of Hotel towels and people’s personal items already on chairs reserving their spots for the day. During our stay we even saw people reserve prime spots at both the beach and pool and then shift between them when they wanted a change. The Hotel tries to control this by making you sign out for your towels and then return them back to the hut when you are done for the day, but not everyone complies and the rules are not strictly enforced, so people just take the towels back to their rooms and go out very early the next morning (or perhaps late at night) to reserve their spots for the next day. This obviously is a problem for late-risers, but if people can’t be considerate of other, there is little the Hotel can do. And, in the end, you can always find some unused chairs, move them around and find an adequate place to enjoy the sun and surf.

So, overall, for us, the Iberostar Grand lived up to its #1 rating for Punta Cana All-inclusives. If you do the proper planning and let the Hotel know your preferences in advance or immediately upon arrival, I can’t image how anyone could be disappointed with this place. Just go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Higher floor, looking over the Grand property
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lferro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews