We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Caribe Tropical
Nearby Hotels
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$222
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$437
US$428
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$263
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,198
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$254
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (17,563)
Filter reviews
17,563 results
Traveller rating
8,938
4,767
1,972
997
889
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,938
4,767
1,972
997
889
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal serviceamerican grillavenue bargabi restaurantgolf cartla gondolatropical lobbyvip loungegabi poollevel areasteak and lobstertime sharedominican restaurantbreakfast and lunchkids clubdominican republicdinner reservations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,599 - 4,604 of 17,563 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just great place to have a vacation. There is the waiter name is Juan Mendez he work at the Level restaurant he is great. Plus the food is like been in the states and better wow I really recommend this place to have a great vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrito98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear jbrito98;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Melia Caribe Tropical for your vacations, as well as for letting us know about your recent visit, we really appreciate your comments and it is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful vacations.

We are aware that our staff is our most important asset, which is why we feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by Juan Mendez of our staff his services; we have shared with your kind comments as a recognition of his great level of service.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a honeymoon extraordinary. I am inlove with the dominican people and the athmosphere they creates. All the extra trips that we made they are very intresting, we recommand Isla Catalyna where you will see virgin beach and wonderfull landscapes and the water is turquoise, swimming with the dolphin. Snuba and snorkling is somthing unique and i love it. The facilitis of the hotel in The Level were very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Elena Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Elena Maria D;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. It was our goal to make sure that your stay was graded as excellent. We really appreciate your comment.

It is thanks to comments like yours that we can show to the world the face of our Hotel and the services that we offer to our dearest visitors.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The service was excellent. The accommodations were good. The bed needed a new mattress but it was comfortable enough for the price we paid. I must say, it was very affordable and we enjoyed of all the other good things that other all-inclusive hotels have to offer with a rather classy touch. The food was pretty good too, very varied. Some of the a la carte restaurants were closed during our stay, like the Dominican and French cuisine restaurants due to AC issues. It met my expectations. We enjoyed our stay and would probably come back.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a family room then anything in the area around the buffet is perfect and affordable. If you look for something more private, you may want to try the Level area which is closer to the beach and has no children around.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Juan M;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your positives commentaries; is a pleasure to us to know that you have had a really good time in our hotel; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We been in a lot a places but this was one of the best. The staff is very friendly. We stayed at the Levi ,in a one bedroom suit. The room was nice and clean. There was a lot of food options. The resort was big but we were showed around by Hector and Alex ,they were very nice and always happy to help. We felt very comfortable and had hard time to live. Can't wait until next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Gazmend K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Gazmend K;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

As a service-oriented company, we highly appreciate our guests' opinion and therefore we recognize the value of taking your time to let us know about your experience. I want to give you the thanks for your comments and for selected our Melia Caribe Tropical for enjoy your last vacation.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Hector and Alex; it’s thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you here again at your Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I treated my wife to Punta Cana for her birthday this year and found the Melia Caribe through Costco Travel. Some of the reviews I read mentioned "The Level" but I had no idea what it really meant until arriving at the hotel. The Level takes your average experience to another LEVEL of vacationing. I would have given 5 stars but our original room had twin beds when I requested a King several months before when making reservations. That left a bitter taste from the beginning although my wife was a good sport about it. We met with Pablo Martinez Garcia at the Adult Only section of the resort who convinced me that upgrading to that part of the area was worth the investment. I am sure the families enjoyed the general population areas of the resort, but if it is just you and your significant other, THE LEVEL is the place you want to be! The staff in the entire resort was friendly and accommodating our entire stay. We had one hiccup with our Credit $$$ given by Costco when we were misinformed about excursions, but again the staff went out of their way to make everything work out. The private beach and dining was awesome yet you had access to everything else on the property. Pablo Martinez Garcia took personal care of us and we generally felt relaxed and welcome. Our Costco travel rep at the property was also key to making sure we did not miss out on anything the area had to offer. Giancarlos Moreno made sure that anything that did not work for us was made right before we left. I wish him and Pablo much success at the Melia Caribe Tropical.
We would recommend this property to anyone looking to visit.

Room Tip: If your budget allow it, UPGRADE to the LEVEL service. I believe it is also available for families. The difference is first class. Make sure the room does not have that mildew smell from not properly airing out. You might want to pack or buy some Febreeze as the faint odor bothered my wife and her allergies. Housekeeping will take care of any issues you have so you should use them when something is amiss. Lots of walking involved from here to there, but the resort keeps plenty of shuttles running if you are patient enough to wait. Booking through Costco also included Unlimited Greens Fees at the Cocotel Course across the street, but I did not have a chance to take advantage of that perk. Hopefully next time!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCT, Web Community Liaison at Melia Caribe Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear James P;

Warmest regards from Punta Cana,

Thanks for your commentaries; we hope you visit again Melia Caribe Tropical to have an unforgettable and better stay than the last one. We are so happy because you had a fantastic vacation in our hotel.

We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by: Pablo Martinez ; it’s thanks to employees like him that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Please be sure we will share this comment with our staff.

Hope to see you again at your “Home away from Home Melia Caribe Tropical”.

Sincerely,

Helia Estrella
Web Community Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews