We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,227)
Filter reviews
10,227 results
Traveller rating
6,572
2,369
786
305
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,572
2,369
786
305
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjambalayala doradacajun restaurantstar friendsspecialty restaurantssteakdominican republicmain buffetswim up barstar rock cafeother resortsbottled waterseafoodgot sickapple vacationsate at the japaneseevery other day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,332 - 2,337 of 10,227 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here in ten years, nothing has changed! The food, service, accommodations,and drinks were great and what we expected. These people are the hardest working people I have ever met. We went with 3 other couples and no one could find anything to complain about excecpt the seafood restaurant The only real complaint I have are the parents that do not take care of there children. We saw kids running around the bar area after 9pm that were under 10yrs old and getting sodas at the bar. Screaming kids after 9pm at the restaurants that should be in bed! If you want to take your kids on vacation, take them on a Disney cruise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank lewitzfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Bávaro once again for your holidays and for taking time to write a review about your second experience at our hotel.
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we would like to express you how glad we are to read that the friendliness of our staff members, our varied gastronomy, and the beauty and cleanness of our premises met your expectations based on your first visit ten years ago. In Iberostar we want to ensure our beloved guests memorable holidays.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was our third time in Punta Cana and first time at Iberostar Bavaro resort. The property is pretty and kept clean. Staff is friendly and prompt. Our room was 3714, which is in an equal distance between the hotel lobby, main buffet and the beach. We traveled with 2 kids ages 11 and 8 and everybody in our family enjoyed the stay at Iberostar. The beach was clean and free of seaweed. We mostly ate at the buffet restaurants, since it's easier when you travel with kids. However, we tried the steakhouse and the Asian places. Both restaurants have very slow service and the food was not that great. The salad bars at both were good. Gym facility is conveniently located near the beach, but definitely needs some remodeling as it's outdated. We also visited the buffet restaurants at Iberostar Dominicana and had a chance to compare the rooms to the one where we stayed. The buffet food between Iberostar Dominicana and Bavaro was very similar. The rooms at Iberostar Bavaro seemed to be more updated and cozier. Even though our kids did not attend the kids club, we visited the facility and it seemed just ok. Looks like it needs some improvement as well. The playground is for very small children and hardly has any shade. Overall, we liked the resort and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lb_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination and also for taking the time to post a review about your experience.
We are very glad to read that you had enjoyed an unforgettable experience due to the beauty of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our grounds. Likewise, we welcome your feedback about our Hibachi restaurant and our kids club and our gym. We have forwarded to the corresponding departmental heads.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

just returned, overall vacation was OK but definitely tainted when my daughters walked back to their room to find the door open, the maid with the TV on and going thru my daughters wallet and purse. we reported it to guest services but not sure what if anything they are going to do. they seemed to be skeptical of the incident, david head of security and wanda head of guest services. lesson learned, may sure you put any valuables in the safe.

rooms are average. stayed at another iberostar in Jamaica and rooms were nicer. property is very spread out so be prepared to do a lot of walking. no Jacuzzi at main pool . there are 4 Jacuzzis by the gym, one day they were not hot and another day 2 of the 4 were not working. gym is nice but only 2 of the 3 treadmills working.

there are positives. beach is nice with plenty of available shaded areas. the staff overall very nice, friendly and accommodating to your needs. breakfast and lunch buffets above average. enjoyed la dorada the seafood restaurant for dinner as well as jambalaya. both of the restaurants had a friendly, smiling staff with good food. the Japanese restaurant food was average at best and the mostly female staff was cold and unfriendly. steakhouse staff nice and food above average.

overall glad we went except for the bad experience above. even before that occurred I knew I wouldn't go back or recommend as there are plenty of other resorts I would want to try

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear guest,
We thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and also for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Iberostar Bavaro.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov and his team, we would like to express our happiness to read your positive lines about our varied gastronomy, the beauty and cleanness of our grounds, our nightly entertainment and the kindness of our staff. In Iberostar, as you well know, we want our guests to “enjoy being a star”.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences you might have encountered during your stay. We have shared your suggestions with our Management team.
We remain at your disposition for any further assistance.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Had a wonderful 2 week stay. The service was excellent and the layout of the resort, with only 8 rooms in each block, meant that there were no noisy corridors. The food in the 2 buffets was hot and varied - the seafood evening was particularly good. Had no trouble getting loungers and palapas on the beach, there are so many!
Would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank kjmaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear guests,
First at all, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience.
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, hotel Manager, we would like to express you our happiness to acknowledge your positive review about our varied gastronomy and our excellent service. Both aspects are the key of our success in Iberostar with more than one hundred hotels worldwide.
Please feel free to contact us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for our entire team to welcome you back.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We've been staying at Iberostar resorts for at least 15 years -- probably visited them 18 or so times because of multiple trips per year -- in locations such as the Riviera Maya, Jamaica and the Dominican Republic.

This was the most disappointing experience we've had because the food was below par. While the reservation restaurants were better than the open buffet, one of our dinners stretched out to 2 1/2 hours because the service was so slow. And the dinner was not worth the wait, unfortunately. The buffet at the beach and at the restaurant were very similar. I found the fruits to be too exotic and never ripe and the salad bar to be missing basic ingredients. It was a challenge to eat healthy given the buffet offerings. I will say that this was an unusual circumstance and I hope it's not a trend.

All that being said, the facility is quite beautiful and lush and the Dominican staff very friendly. It's one of the prettiest facilities available through Iberostar. Workers were in the process of refurbishing units all around where we were staying. Our room was not a recently refurbished room -- the interior was a little tired, but adequate. The balconies are lovely for getting some fresh air and reading. We would normally have upgraded to the Grand but no oceanfront rooms were available; and because we were traveling with others, we decided to stay with the basic room at the Bavaro. The pool is nice enough and I liked how the bar area and it's private pool was separated from the main pool by a pedestrian bridge (yes you can swim from one to the other). The kiddie pool / recreational area looked very fun!

This Iberostar seems to host many more European guests than the ones in Mexico. This difference in clientele might account for the buffet differences. Our observation has been that Europeans aren't generally as polite as Americans.

We booked this trip through Sherri Hall, a GREAT travel agent who books almost all our Caribbean/island travel. Sherri works through TripGuy Travel. We often travel with big groups (8 or more travelers) and Sherri's attention to detail is amazing, making our travel as EASY as possible. When things haven't gone as planned or we've had the occasional problem -- which happens if you travel enough -- TripGuy and Sherri have used their connections to fix our problems. I can't say enough good things about our travel agent!

Room Tip: If you're not oceanfront, all the rooms are pretty equal. We were spread out, traveling with 8 people, and everyone was happy enough with their location. The resort is so lushly landscaped, all views are good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guests,
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Iberostar Bavaro Manager, we thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your vacation and for writing a review about your experience among us.
On the one hand, we would like to express you how glad we are to acknowledge your positive lines referring our friendly staff and beautiful premises. In Iberostar our staff is committed to ensure our guests an unforgettable experience with beautiful grounds and excellent service as you well know.
On the other hand, we regret to acknowledge that our nightly themed buffet, five a la carte restaurants in Iberostar Bavaro, the possibility to visit the five a la carte restaurants at Iberostar Dominicana – Punta Cana, our Room Service and our snack bars could not meet your palate’s expectations. Our cuisine aims to cater for our wide international clientele whose flavor preferences and alimentary habits are considerably different.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews