We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$444
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Corales Beach Village(Bavaro)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$927
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,096)
Filter reviews
8,096 results
Traveller rating
4,799
2,206
728
209
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,799
2,206
728
209
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsstar rock cafesteakseafooddominican republicthe oriental restauranta la carte restaurantsguest servicesla pagodajunior suiteapple vacationsbeautiful beachother resortsceiling fanlobby barfrozen drinkssaona island
Filter
Updating list...
2,852 - 2,857 of 8,096 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2009

My husband, 22 month old daughter and I stayed at this resort to fully relax and recharge for the new year.
Arrival:
Ride from airport by bus, to the resort was approximately 20 minutes. Our daughter tolerated it, even after the plane ride.
We were upgraded to Junior Suite upon request when we arrived.
Room:
Spacious, clean and housekeeping always made birds and other little arrangements w/ towels and flowers. Two things we were not thrilled with: no one seemed to know what "bed rails" were - we wanted some for our daughter so she wouldn't roll off the bed onto ceramic tile. We managed anyway. Another is that the reception on the television was very fuzzy some days and fine others, there were only a few english speaking channels and no option to order movies - they explained were in the middle of changing providers for cable or something. Normally, we don't spend much time w/ movies or TV but w/ a toddler going to bed earlier than us, we would have liked some kind of entertainment options.

Food/Drinks:
Good variety at the buffets. There is a daily bbq w/ a different theme by the beach buffet. The a-la-cartes we would recommend are the Asian one and Gourmet one.
Drinks tasted a little weak so I always asked for double or extra rum and they have no problem doing that. The house wine is horrible. Couldn't drink it.

Staff:
One of the best things about this resort is the staff who are very friendly. There is always someone greeting you with a warm smile and "Hola!". They put forth a lot of effort to get people involved in all kinds of activities and make them so much fun! Our daughter loved "Big Mama" in particular (she still mentions her). The staff is very warm and friendly w/ kids. There is a kids club during the day which our daughter was too young for, but every evening they put on a show on stage which was always cute. They let all the kids go up and dance or get involved somehow as well which our daughter loved.

Pool:
Wading pool is great for young children. Other pools are clean and we never had a problem finding chairs and umbrellas.

Beach:
White sand, clean water. Lots of umbrellas and chairs so there is always options for playing in the shade during peak hours for your little ones.

We've travelled to Korea, Barbados, Belize, NYC, Disneyworld, Miami, Brunei, Hawaii...we really enjoyed D.R and feel rested which is what we wanted!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heyjudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Went on holiday with my partner. The beach was amazing, very clean but all loungers were taken very early in the morning. Sea was clean but a bit rough.
Got pestered a lot by people trying to see items or trips, they even came up to you whilst on the lounger, they would sit beside you which was annoying!!.

All inc was brilliant, always loads of food, drinks & ice creams.

The whole resort was amazingly clean & the rooms were lovely, maid cleaned every day, didnt turn up early & replaced drinks in mini bar.

We used the rooms safe everyday & one day thought we might have some money missing, we just thought we had spent too much but I have since seen another report on here about safe's being opened when they weren't there so now i'm not sure.

The casino was great & we used it on quite a few evenings as the shows were a load of rubbish!!. Although, the shows offered a waitress service for drinks if you were seated, which was nice. Not too much day entertainment either, the only options were sit by the sea, use the pool or go on a trip so wouldn't think this was a great holiday for kids but lovely for people who want to just chill.

The restaurants were great, we managed to get all our allocated bookings. We loved the steak house which is on the beach, the food was lovely. The american style restaurant was also great, it's in the style of 'hard rock cafe'. you dont have to book but there is a long wait so get there early.
The most dissapointing thing about the food was in the buffett, The choice was ok but as the restaurant is open, this meant their were flies over everything, the bread, salads etc. It really put you off eating.

**Beware of the water from the shower, do not let it get in your mouth & definately dont drink it. It is full of bugs which the rep warns you about but we forgot a few times and let our faces get wet in the shower, this meant that you were on the toilet for the rest of the day which ruins things a bit. **

You can use the facilities of both hotels but not the 3rd, we tried to get a drink at the 3rd but was ordered out, was very embarrasing as everyone was looking, this put a dampner on the rest of the day but we bought some gifts in their shops & they didnt mind this, typical!!

Finally, the customer service was awful. They really dont care, your just a number to them. The main purpose of our holiday was to get engaged (without my knowedge). My partner wanted to do this on the beach so he asked our rep to get somone from the hotel to meet him on the beach with a bottle of champers, but the hotel refused, our rep was pratically shouting at them but they were adamant they wouldn't release any staff so that ruined it a bit for my partner but we still had an amazing time.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Tiffanyburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We have been to several All Inclusives in Jamaica and Mexico. By far, this is one at the TOP. The hotel staff at the main desk were absolutely wonderful to all of us. We can't thank them enough. One of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in. Food and drinks very good, we would say our favorite restaruant was the Gormet. We met many lovely people from Canada and Europe. Enjoyed talking with them. Beach was beautiful and never had trouble getting a beach seat or umbrella. Same goes for the pool. All in all, very impressed and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cjgrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We had a wonderfull week, meeting all our expectations.
we wanted a week in the sun in the middle of our month in freezing NE USA. We chose Iberostar dominicana in Punta cana for :
- his restaurants without air conditionned, open to the outside, for bkt and diner
- the beach terrasse with barbecue and buffet for lunch. We love to eat in suimming suit. and the merenge lesson is given there from 12.30 to 1pm
- And more, they are cooking the meat and fish in front of you, so you can ask for less cooked, as it is often over cooked.

The garden is well kept, the 2 pools are nice, with some trees, and there is a health bar (natural fruit juice all day)
the pool closed to the beach restaurant is the one where the water entertainements are from 11.30am to 1pm then 3.30 to 6pm. a little noisy though. BUT NO NOISE ON THE BEACH.
The food is good, a lot of fruits, vegetables rough or cooked, and a choice of meats and fish. The cocktails are really too chemical.
the rooms are large, clean, but you spent so little time in them.
The sea is a little less agitated compared to the other ones.
we chose this hotel for the palm tree leaves' ombrellas on the beach. Some beaches don't have shade, only the palm trees.
this isn't the type of vacation we do, we like remote places. But for an escapade, we will do it again. Excellent quality/price rate.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank milarepa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We just returned from a fantastic vacation at the Dominicana. This was our first trip to the DR and we chose to stay at this hotel based upon the feedback from other Trip Advisor contributors. I must say we were not disappointed.

For a little background - we have stayed at some of the best and most beautiful hotels in the world and while the Dominicana cannot be compared to a top rated luxury hotel, it certainly is a standout in its class.

Our room was adequate and extremely clean. Each day our lovely housekeeper decorated our room with fresh flowers and a towel animal. I loved walking back to the room at the end of the day to see what surprises awaited.

The resort has five restaurants on site and a daily buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate at three restaurants. The food at the Mexican Restaurant was just average, the Steak House was surprisingly good and the Gourmet Restaurant was very good. The service in all three was exceptional. The buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner were average, but there was plenty of variety and you could always find something to enjoy. The service at the buffet was very good, your coffee cup or wine glass was never empty and dirty dishes were removed immediately.

If you enjoy adult beverages, there are plenty of bars on the premises. The lobby bar was our favorite. The hotel also has a small Casino (we had fun in the casino but no luck) a disco and evening "entertainment". The entertainment was poor, but the staff tried really hard. I have to give them credit for their hard work and enthusiasm.

The DR beaches are the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. We are early risers and were usually on the beach by 9:30 a.m. We had no problems finding vacant chairs or shade. The week of our vacation the weather was fantastic. The January wind was a little strong some days but it was not a major issue.

We found the beach vendors to be very enjoyable. They were a lot of fun to talk with and we enjoyed bartering. Some of the vendors could be a bit aggressive, but if you gave them a firm "no", they moved on to the next potential customer.

Best or all are the wonderful people at this resort. The service they provided was excellent, everyone always had a smile and they tried to accommodate your every wish.

We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is a great value for the money.

Negatives - No swim up bar in the pool - but we spent most of our time on the beach so it wasn't a big issue. Be prepared for lots of children - particularly at the pool.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TKPOST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews