We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$437
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$908
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (16,408)
Filter reviews
16,408 results
Traveller rating
8,794
4,205
1,746
911
752
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,794
4,205
1,746
911
752
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub premiumla fuentesanta fe steakhousecoral seafoodfamily deluxesports barspanish restaurantjacuzzi on the balconylanguage barrierbeautiful resortseafood restaurantdinner reservationsocean frontmake reservationsa la carte restaurantsfamily vacationadult pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,052 - 5,057 of 16,408 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We just came back yesterday from a week stay and if you read bad reviews, it's simply because they were looking for trouble before they got there! We have been to a lot of 5 stars properties before and this one is the best we've been to. The service was amazing, be it at the buffet, the a la carte restaurants, the guest service and even our cleaning lady was very friendly and gave us good service. The food was also amazing and there was a lot of things to choose from.

To reply to the reviewer from Santo Domingo, you need to know that, yes, you have to pay for specialty wines at the a la carte restaurants, but you can also drink the house wine which is very good, which is absolutely free. Also, there is, in the Sports bar, a snack buffet available 24 hours a day should you be hungry between meal times.

This resort is perfect for families and for golfers like us. We could not find one negative thing about our vacation and we are already planning to go back in November.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christiane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience about your stay on Trip advisor. We are pleased that we were able to provide you a memorable stay and that you enjoyed everything here in our resort, specially the food quality , grounds and our friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you on November in our little paradise on your next vacation. Thank you for recommend us!

Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Barcelo Bavaro Palace DeLuxe is a beautiful place to see, but a nightmare to stay. The Barcelo people need to understand that a hotel has to be more than nice structures, rooms, bathrooms and pools. Service should be at least as important, and this is where the hotel does not meet any standard.

Let me give a couple of example:
1. No valet parking. So you basically need to drop your own suitcases and look for the parking. No fun at 32 degrees celcius
2. The hotel has an enormous beach front. I did not measure but will be at least 1 km. There are chairs all over the beach, but NO SERVICE. This means that you need to walk all the way to the (i counted) 4 bars at the pools to fetch your drink. The same for your towel.
3. We arrived after a long trip at 3.30 pm. We could not find any place to get food. None of the bars at the pools serve food, only drinks. We had to wait for dinner time.....
4. The bars at the pools are mostly manned by just one bartender. So apart from the very long walk, you also have to line up for your drinks.
5. getting a table in the restaurants that serve is a nightmare. First day we arrived to late to meet the reservation time limit, other days we were in a conference and could not do the procedure on time either. Everything was supposed to be full. How is this possible, low season and plenty of table available in all places. The only choice left is a buffet. So at the end we decided to go to a restaurant in town.

My impression is that Barcelo is milking the all-inclusive concept. Very few places where you can get your drinks, long walking distances and waiting lines. Just to reduce cost. Then without snacks/foods you basically limit the amount of drinks people can take. A sparkling water, like a Perrier, sorry, not included sir: 3 US$. Later we discovered that many more things are on the not-included list. To me this is just fooling people, using the "all-inclusive" label.

This Hotel is very much below the standards for a 300 usd/night place. The problem is, once you are in, you are in. Payments are upfront so you are left with no choice. And about the idea of returning customers Barcelo apparently does not really care.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hwitsenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We regret the inconveniences you may have encountered during your last visit; your opinion is very important and assisting to us since it is the best way to know where we have to focus our attention to improve the quality of our services.

We sincerely would like to apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations. We are sad of your comment since is not our intention created the memory you have about your stay with us. Please be assured that they will give this matter the proper attention.

As you may know, as an All-inclusive resort our guests enjoyed most of our services and there are extra services with additional cost. We are sorry for the inconveniences you may have encountered due to this fact.

We do not want to stay with the wrong image of the hotel. We invite you to return to visit us the next time you decide to return to the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

When we first arrived at the resort, we were excited as the resort is huge, clean and the beach is gorgeous. Room was spacious and our view of the ocean was beautiful.
However, the food here was ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. For breakfast and lunch, your dining options are buffet only or you have to order room service (which for us was an additional charge). The buffet is full of inedible food and is crazy busy. Dinner options were a slight bit better but not by much. Very few workers spoke English so we had a hard time ordering dishes as well.
Our trip ended with an article of clothing missing from my room after it had been cleaned. I spoke with someone in Guest Services three times. No one ever contacted me back. Before we left the resort, I tried to get a resolution. All I got was a person apologizing and said they would e-mail me back. Not suprisingly, I have not yet heard from the resort to be compensated for the item.

In short, DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT! Terrible food and even worse service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CatieGuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, Director General at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen us as your last holiday destination. Thanks for your compliments about our grounds, infrastructure and our beautiful and quiet beach.

We regret our food concept did not met your expectation, currently we are revising the concept on our Food & Beverage outlets with the main purpose of delivering a high standard service that can adequate to most of our clientele requirements and exceed their culinary expectations, on the other hand let me explain you hotel offers a choice of up to 11 speciality restaurants, 7 of which require prior booking can be made by our Guest service department. Each of the Barceló restaurants offers an incredible gourmet experience. Also we have Miramar and Dominican buffet, Striker sport bar and Hoyo 19 these restaurants offers an exquisite variety of dishes to satisfy even the most discerning guests. We lament the lack information about this topic.

Concerning the lack of English from our staff, we should inform you that most of our employees have good knowledge of the language and our human resource department is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation, especially to those in direct contact with our guests. However please be reminded that Spanish is our mother tongue and their pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect.

Unfortunately, your vacation has been tarnished for to the situation you went through during your visit due to the disappearance belonging in your room. Please, allow us to inform you that after having done the proper investigations, we could not find your belongings. For your information and tranquillity our personnel are trained to deliver in the Lost and Found department all items found during the daily operation; We would like to assure you that our guests safety and well-being are two of the most important issues we care about, specially on a special time when they do not expect more than relax and enjoy their holidays, we sorry if you felt unattended in this situation.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services, facilities and our commitment to excellent customer service. We would like to thank you for having chosen us and we hope that your perception about our Hotel, Staff and services was not tarnished due to these isolated circumstance. We sincerely would like to have the opportunity to receive you again.

We will be at your disposal for whatever you may need.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Let's start with check in. I was told my room was not ready and to come back in 45 minutes. After being told that 4 more times they finally said my room was ready. We get in the room and the air conditioning was not working. They come to fix it and claim the balcony doors were open and that's why it wasn't working. Five hours later we call back again to tell them it's still not working. They send someone out and this time all they do is clean the filter. To make a long story short we made them give us a new room at 5:00 am. After that long hot day in a room with no air conditioning we were ready to put that behind us and start fresh. Let's just say that was my only negative about this resort. The grounds were fantastic and the food was not as bad as I've read in previous reviews. You will be able to find something you like. I am a picky eater and did not have any problems. The spa was great and the shows were ok too. I am giving this resort a 3 out of 5 only because of the check in and air conditioning ordeal. I would definitely come back to the resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Witfame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciated that you selected us as your holiday destination and we feel sorry that we did not meet your expectations in the check in time in some occasions and due to the level of occupancy, the rooms are not ready on time. We are sorry for this situation and the inconveniences it may have caused, since our guests’ satisfaction is our top priority.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you may encountered with the air conditioning. Please be assured that we will be giving the matters the proper attention and that the corrective measures will be taken to avoid these situations from reoccurring.

We really appreciated your positive feedback and we are glad to know that you could enjoy our Spa, gastronomy and infrastructure. It’s nice to hear those services were of your liking and satisfaction.

We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent seven days at this hotel. The facilities were great and impressive. The restaurants were clean and the food was excellent. The provided trolley is very convenient because the rooms are a little bit far from the main facilities. On the other side, it is a good walk after you had dinner. The golf course is amazing and very well kept. If you planning on playing more than a couple of rounds, bring your clubs. Club rental is $45. The green fees are free but cart is $45 per player. The view from the rooms is very nice and the beach and pool are excellent. The people really try hard to serve you and make your stay memorable. The rooms were nice with my own Jacuzzi but I had to call maintenance a couple of times to fix my TV and the Front door keypad.
This is the touch I think is needed. Stayed at the Majestic Colonial and there was always somebody available to bring you drinks at the beach and pool. At Bavaro Deluxe you have to walk to the bar and get your drink. Other all-inclusive resorts have a place where you can just walk in your swim suit and sandals and grab a quick bite. On this hotel, you are not allowed in the restaurant, close to the pool, in tank tops or sandals. Other all-inclusive have personal to mingle with customers that are alone and are good dancing partners at the club for those customers that decide to go alone. This is not a service provided at Bavaro. The $2000 coupon book does not give you much of a discount. It is a marketing strategy to get you to buy more. Bought a Nike shirt at the golf shop for $81. The coupon gave me a $20 discount so it ended costing $61.
Overall, it is a beautiful place to stay and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The website shows all rooms with a Jacuzzi. These rooms are not available at the Bavaro Beach Hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen us as your holiday destination.

We appreciated your compliments to our grounds, facilities, Golf Course and the hotel infrastructure. In the same way, we appreciate your impressions regarding our food concepts. We are glad to read your nice review because this is the best way to motivate our human team to continuous in our effort to reinforce the level of service and satisfaction in our guests.

Thanks for your observation, please be assured that that will be given the proper attention and that we are continuously working on improving the hotel facilities and services to make our guests feel like in paradise.

On behalf of our all team members at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe, we thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews