We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family get-away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Family get-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Went with my wife,daughter, and wife's cousin and cousin's husband. One word..Beautiful!! The resort was top notch. Beach is one of the top ten beaches in the world for a reason. It's all-inclusive, so anything that isn't motorized is included.
They have a kid show early evening then show for the adults after. Not groundbreaking but entertaining to say the least.
All shops either take pesos or credit card. No American cash, but you can charge to your room and pay cash when you check out.
Buffet was so-so but did the job. At dinner you have your choice of restaurants( steakhouse, Japanese, Spanish as in Spain, sea-food, and Mexican. All restaurant were good.
Finally, the people are so nice and friendly. Never had an issue except when we were on our way back. It was airport staff taking your bags and just standing there till you tipped them.
Overall, excellent trip and definitely going back!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe for your vacation in Punta Cana. We appreciate the time you have taken to share this nice comment about your stay with us.

We are glad that you and your family had a wonderful time in our little paradise; it’s a pleasure that we were able to meet your expectations regarding our infrastructure, facilities and our beautiful beach.

It is a pleasure for us to know that our staff was attentive enough and can provide you excellent service and our gastronomy fulfil your expectation.

We would be glad to welcome you again when visiting the Dominican Republic next time.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz

General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,244
    3,443
    1,392
    728
    597
See reviews for
5,950
4,547
155
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had an amazing experience here. I couldnt have asked for better service. One of the waiters, Yatzenky Michel, was amazing. He was so polite and helpful. I couldn't have asked for anything better.
He was very attentive and worked with a lot of urgency. He really made me feel like I was very well taken care of. One of our waitresses was specially helpful as well. Neudi always worked with a smile and was very enthustiastic about helping us out. She made me feel like she really cared about our comfort, i thank her for that. They both defenetly made my experience here flawless. overall i would defenetly come back to this resort for vacationing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe for your vacations.

We are very pleased to hear that our services and facilities met your expectations, we really appreciated your impressions in regards to our services in special of our staff member was attentive enough and can provide you excellent service was satisfying you as well as your comment about our waiters Yatzenky Michel and Neudi whom will be happy to receive your kind comments but we specially want to thank you for letting us know that thanks to the effort and performance of our team we were able to provide you a delightful stay.

We would be glad to welcome you again when visiting the Dominican Republic next time.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz

General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family of 5, (husband and three daughters) all vacationed here in July 2013. The resort is beautiful, the beach: breathtaking and the water crystal clear blue, the best I have ever seen.
Did two excursions: took a pirate like ship to swim with sting rays, nurse sharks and snorkel: geat trip, lots of fun. Also, went off roading in some type of quade: great trip. Also try the banana boat rides; lots of fun. Rooms were very nice, spacious and well maintained Despite this and it's unbelievable beauty it has many flaws that must be mentioned.
1. FOOD: Whe stayed for 7 nights, but upon arrrival were only given 4 dinner reservation tickets the speciality restuartants.This was it! Couldnt make more than 4 reservations during a seven night stay. On top of this , the times that were available were very late: one night 10:30. Yeah, 3 kids on the beach or pool all day, by 10:30 we are passed out. We did get to eat at the steak, mexican and asian restuarants. the best was the asian. The buffet was hit or miss. At best it was just OK, but other times it was awful. The sports bar food was discusting. There is a restuarant at the golf course; try it; it was ok but we had a long long wait the night we went.
2. WATER PARK: two waterparks available. One for little kiddies like 5 or below. Very nice and included in the price. Bar right there, this I enjoyed. But the larger water park was a 20 dollar charge EACH DAY. And those resort credits; almost useless. We did get 10 bucks off a few tickets one day. This waterpark should of been included. It wasn't even that big or nice. A wave pool, and a few slides. We went to Beaches in Ochos Rios Jamaica and their waterpark blew this one away and was included; hence : all inclusive.
3. The palce is huge: get a room in the 500s or you will be walking, walking walking. Too big for my liking.
All in all, it was a nice vacation but I would not recommend the barceo bavero palace deluxe due to the above issues. If you choose to go, Im sure you will enoy it and have lots of fun. Oh btw, watch out for the drivers; crossing a cross walk one evening coming back from the golf course restaurant my 7 year old was almost hit by a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

In Barceló, we have very clear that our customers are the most important as well as their comments. Thanks for your compliment about our beach and rooms maintained.

We regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations regarding our food concepts was not of your liking since our international chefs have recently made important changes in our menus in order to satisfy all our guests’ preference because we understand that importance of gastronomical options for guests who visit us from parts all over the world. We would like to apologize for the situations that you may have encountered during your stay due to the restaurant reservations. Your opinion is very important for us to improve the quality of our service, so please be assured that we will give this issue the proper attention.

We hope your understanding that even thought this is an All Inclusive hotel there are extra services and are provided with the highest quality of service.

It would be a pleasure for us if you give us another possibility in the future to demonstrate you our commitment to excellent customer service.


Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz

General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thank you Sandra Sanchez, for the delicious cappuccino's and your beautiful smile at every single breakfast in Club Premium Deluxe. During our stay we enjoyed to the max, especially thanks to the lovely people at the Club Premium reception. You can always expect to receive a special welcome there. We wish you all the best and hopefully see you again.

Regards,

Rik & Tatiana

Room Tip: We can recommend the Ocean Front Junior Suites. More Ocean view than this and you're right in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valued time to share your impressions regarding to your visit at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe especially in our Club Premium.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your positives comments regarding your stay with us. Thank you so much, I really that you had a delightful holiday since there is no biggest reward for us than know that you are now safe back home and that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us.

We will glad to pass your comments to Sandra Sanchez and all our Club Premium team that will be more than happy receiving such a good feedback since comments such as yours, it is what definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team work, devotion and commitment of each member of our Staff that make our guests feel welcome. In the same way we are very proud for your impression about the hotel facilities and that you enjoyed it.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bavaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have never written a review for a hotel or resort but this vacation definitely made me want to write this one. We travel a lot as a family usually my husband, 13 year old daughter and I. We have been on 4 cruises (all over the Caribbean and Mexico) traveled to Mazatlan Mexico, New York, Toronto Canada, Orlando Florida, Miami Florida, St Petersburg Florida, Chattanooga Tennessee, Savannah Georgia, Columbus Ohio and Memphis Tennessee. My husband and I have been to Las Vegas Nevada several times. Out of all our travels, this was by far the worst vacation we had ever taken.

The Housekeeping was a joke! The toilets were not cleaned on a regular basis. They failed to replenish the basic necessity, such as toilet paper and Kleenex. We ran out of Kleenex on the first day and never received another box. We had to call Guest Services and ask to have someone come an empty our trash and bring us toilet paper. This was after the maid had been there!

The sheets had stains on them. When we first got there, we had to call housekeeping to have the sheets changed. And we were not sure if the linen was ever changed while we were there.

We had to call Guest Services for face clothes. And it was even harder trying to ask for them. My husband had to learn how to say “face cloth” in Spanish because most of the staff refused or did not speak English! We chose this resort because the staff spoke English.

The Resort Staff seemed a little irritated. They did not seem eager to serve us. Especially, if they were talking with their co-workers. On several occasions, while waiting on service at the Bar, the Bartender would not even look up and acknowledge my husband and I. The staff would often look over us and service the Non Black person first.

This resort also has a discriminating shoe policy against men. Women and children could wear sandals in the all restaurants but men could not. My husband was kicked out of the Seafood restaurant for wearing a pair of dress sandals. But, they did not have a problem with him wearing beach shoes. The Resort strongly enforces their “No Smoking Policy” for “everybody” but not the “No Sandal Policy”

The food was a hit or miss. Some days it was good but most days it was not.

This Resort provides mediocre service. Based on my family’s experience, we are hesitate about recommending Dominican Republic to anyone and we definitely do not recommend staying at this Barceló property!

Room Tip: Check the room and the sheets when you arrive to make sure they are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CFFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Please, accept our sincere apologies for the situations that affected you while vacationing with us.Regarding our cleaning service, please be assured that our rooms are subject to a very strict daily supervision and that appropriate measure has been taken with the executives involved.

We regret the impression you got about the hotel and our personnel since I can assure you it is not representative of our overall service, on a frequent basis our Human Resources coordinates seminars to all our staff members in order to reinforce the culture of service our guests deserve and expect. We are deeply sorry for the uncommon situation you went through while stayed with us. Rest assure that we have taken appropiate measures with the executives involved in order to avoid similar situations in the future.

Concerning dress code policies, we hope your understanding with the fact that some policies have to be applied and the dress code for reservations in our A la Carte Restaurants is one of them. We truly regret and apologize for the impression you may have received due to the situation. We are very concerned since I assure you that we neither encourage nor accept any unfair or preferential treatment. All of our guests deserve to be attended with respect and courtesy. We are really sorry for not being able to turn your experience into a positive one despite of our team efforts to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

We deeply regret the misperception you may have about us since it not our intention makes our guests feel uncomfortable when our top priority is their satisfaction, we hope that despite of this occurrence, you will consider visit us choosing us again when planning future travel to the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This resort is everything I've dreamed of. It is large and spaced out. The rooms are spacious. Enjoyed the hot tub after spending the day alternating between the beautiful beach and the pool. Never had a problem finding a chaise lounger. The grounds are kept well. Shows were awesome. I came for a wedding and everything was beautiful. The best part for me was brunch on Sunday at the 19th Hole. I look forward to returning.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank downtime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed the room occupatied, services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. Thank you for your kind note, we are proud of having met your expectations.

We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accokeek, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were there for a wedding and my birthday. Wish we could have stayed longer. The staff is very attentive. The food at the buffet was so so. The specialty restaurant food much better. Had an awesome experience at the Spa. The bars were inconsistent, but once you figured out which bartender was the best then everything was great. The shops are definetly overpriced. Would like to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daholly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen us as your birthday and wedding destination a. We feel pleased to know that we are part of such a beautiful memory.

We feel so pleased to hear that we able to provide you delightful stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and for letting us knows your positive impressions about our resort.

We strive to provide an excellent service and offer our guests the most memorable vacations, please be assured we are taking your observation the proper attention.

We would be happy to welcome you back in our installations and offer you the most memorable stay.

Sincerely,
Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
3.9 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
6.7 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
15.2 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Address: Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#11 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#14 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#14 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable location on the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool. This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana. All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing