We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is huge and you have to walk forever to get to your room. The service was TERRIBLE. Everyone that worked there was in a bad mood. Checking in was an awful experience and the people didn't know what the heck they were doing. The food was not that great. The staff was the biggest problem with visiting this hotel. They were uniformed about everything. I have never had a worse customer service experience. I expected so much out of Punta Cana and I was let down. The beaches were terrible and full of seaweed. I prefer Florida beaches any day. This was honestly a disaster. Would never recommend anyone going to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We have read with concerned your comments because contrary to what we wish, we could not meet your expectations and provide you a memorable stay.

Please, accept our sincere apologies for the situations that affected you while vacationing with us. We are sorry for the lack of customer service perceived from some of our staff members since I can assure you it is not representative of our overall service. On a frequent basis our Human Resources coordinates seminars to all our staff members in order to reinforce the culture of service our guests deserve and expect. We are deeply sorry for the uncommon situation you went through while stayed with us. Rest assure that we have taken appropriate measures with the executives involved in order to avoid similar situations in the future.

Regarding the seaweed please let me inform you our beach is clean every early morning; although we cannot avoid the presence of seaweed at all time, we tried to maintain the quality and own beauty of our beach, which is considered one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

We deeply regret the misperception you may have about us since it not our intention makes our guests feel uncomfortable when our top priority is their satisfaction. We hope that despite of this occurrence, you will consider visit us choosing us again when planning future travel to the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero
Director Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,649
    3,652
    1,465
    776
    637
See reviews for
6,332
4,798
163
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,849)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The resort is very big and is a great place to go to with your family. It has a lot of activities to do in the resort. This was my second time coming and I had a lot of problems this time but the front desk solved most of them. Especially Albania Jimenez who was always there and very helpful and nice and was happy to help with all the problems I had.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wkadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff; we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal, the continuous improvement of our services.

Thank you for letting us know that thanks to the effort and performance of Albania Jimenez, please be assured that will be pass your comments to her.

Hoping to be part of your next memories in the Dominican Caribbean, we will be waiting for your news whenever you decided to repeat your experience in our little paradise.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Dania and Damely at the guest service area was amazing! She was very patient with us while making changes to our dinner reservations. The food at the resort was very good and above most resorts that we have been to in Punta Cana. The pools are huge, super clean and never crowded!! Finally the overall service has been quite delightful. The best relaxing vacation ever with great shopping!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaolaMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel as your holiday destination, We appreciate you for letting us know your valued comments and perception about our beach and facilities, the professional service of our Staff, specially by Dania and Damely, whom will be happy to receive your kind comments, also our maintenance.

We look forward to greet you once again with open arms to our wonderful Caribbean paradise; our beloved Dominican Republic.

Our best regards,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I just came back from barcelo bavao palace Deluxe for 7 days, the place is nice but there is a lot of things that must improve, for exemple they only serve hot beer , all the cold bevarages that supost to be cold are hot, if you need a tower or pilow in your room forget it , I took 4 night asking for another pilow , the transportation also took us to the airport 4 yours before the trip which is ridiculos , The junior suite room is very poor and there is no privacy because you can see the others room inside of your own room, The good is the food is okay , the view is nice , the pool is very clean .

Room Tip: Choose better room than junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_Pereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your feedback which is received with gratitude since our guests’ opinion in regards to your experience is very important and assistance to us.

We greatly appreciate your observation which will definitely be evaluated and taken into consideration. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion. . Be assured that Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe will never cease in its efforts to constantly improve the quality of services provided.

I would like to apologize for the situation that affected you while vacationing regarding the towel and Pillows. We assure you, that the managers of the departments involved have been informed of the particular observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible in order to comply and meet our clients’ expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The vacation and quality of your vacation is likely to break or make you happy.

Start 2015 with beautiful vacation. My recent visit:

THINK LEFT AND THINK RIGHT AND THINK LOW AND THINK HIGH. OH, THE THINKS YOU CAN THINK UP IF ONLY YOU TRY!

When we see portions of outstanding businesses with outstanding management, our favorite vacation holding period is forever. I am referring to Barceló Bavaro Palace Deluxe, in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.

NO GREAT THING IS CREATED SUDDENLY: Everything you ever wanted is in one BIG Complex, yet quite COMPACT. And with Superior Managers such as, Mrs. Carmen Caminero and Mr. Manuel Espiritusanto, there is no limit as to where your imagination can take you.

But that’s not all. If you are up to upgrading to “Club Premium”, you’ll enjoy dining at all of the restaurants and use the Spa facility; facing a magnificent view. Moreover, at Club Premium you’ll meet superior and incredible staff such as, Miriam, Iris, Johanna and Ada. Also, here at Club Premium, Sandra - will make you feel at-home; serving you champagne or your preferred drinks with hors d’oeuvre - CLASSIC environment.

LOOK – the word ‘disappointment’ does not exist here at Barceló Bavaro Palace Deluxe. When faced with specific challenges; the BEST Managers that walk and achieve results is Mrs. Carmen Caminero and Mr. Manuel Espiritusanto. In fact, the only reason I visit and speak to Mrs. Carmen Caminero and Mr. Manuel Espiritusanto is to thank them for the wonderful and COMPLETE service they provide. In their hands, and with the sun and/or the moon above; YOU are amongst the *STARS*****..."

So if you are the type of traveler who “think” that where you stay elsewhere in Punta Cana is great, then “THINK” again. OPEN your horizons! SEE what everyone refuses to see out of fear and conformity. TRANSCEND the ordinary. ELAVATE! - GO to Barceló Bavaro Palace Deluxe (Barceló Bavaro Beach Resort) in Punta Cana.

Suffice to say - The EXTRA ordinary AWAITS YOU! Barceló Bavaro Palace Deluxe captured my imagination. It is so beautiful, I decided to name it “Mercedes”, which in Spanish means ‘grace’.

Steve Tcherkezian
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTcherkezian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor as well as for having chosen us as the ideal place for your holiday destination.

We are glad that we were able to provide you a delightful stay and that you had a wonderful time with us. It is a pleasure for us to know that service provided for our managers Mrs. Carmen Caminero and Manuel Espiritusanto satisfied you, as well as Johanna, Yris, Johanna, Ada and Sandra. Barceló Hotels and resort have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence.
Please be assured that will be passing your kind comments to them.

We are gladly to welcome you in 2015 in our little Caribbean paradise.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel was very nice and extremely large facility. I live in the DR and have a lot of experience with hotels. This hotel was similar to other hotels I have stayed at other DR beaches but much more expensive. My wife and I shared a room with our son and to our surprise, the bathroom used glass doors that did not even completely close but mattered little since you could see through them. Plus if someone opens the front door while you are in the bathroom, they can see you. I think this is an attempt at "European". With an outbreak of chikungunya you would think they would spray but we battled mosquitos, along with most of my 800 co-workers. The maid was great and a couple people at the desk but it is a crap shoot when it comes to customer service. The worst part, therefore the low rating, was the restaurant, especially the buffets. We visited all 3 buffets. Food was ok, it's a buffet, but the only thing worse than the service was the dishwasher. I'm not that picky but when you feel the crusted-on food when you pick up the plate, that's not good. Sometimes I went through 20 plates, usually moving from one stack to another trying to find a clean plate. Finally, I would settle on one that was not "too" dirty. I did however notice that their dishes were dry, which many other hotels don't get right. This was a dishwasher/quality control issue. Almost forgot, they had the cleanest beaches I have seen here in the DR. They actually clean the beaches by machine in the morning and then pick up/rake seaweed during the day. The ocean floor was cleaner than I have ever seen also. Not sure how they do that but I know they clean it somehow. Much cleaner than the pool.

Room Tip: You may want to use the smaller desert type plates, they tended to be cleaner. Wear your bug spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DuglaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe, we appreciate the time you have taken to write this feedback about your stay with us.

Concerning to Chikungunya Virus, please allow us to inform you that the hotel is giving strict adherence to this virus, as the health and safety of our customers is paramount to us. We are strengthening our measures to limit mosquito presence in all our areas, including gardens.

Referent to dishwasher in our buffet please let me inform you we have a Quality Control Coordinator in our property to ensure the proper follow up on hygiene and sanitary procedures. Also Barceló Hotel & Resorts have a contract with an English company named as Cristal Americas, in order for them to run monthly audits to our property covering all issues related hygiene and sanitary conditions. We apologize for the inconvenient due this fact. In the same way we lament our bathroom design was not to your liking.

Thanks for your kind compliment about our beautiful beach which is one the top ten in the world.
We regret that your vacation did not turn out as you expected. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe during your next stay in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Love the resort and the people !! Very customer service ready to please!! The food was excellent!!!.. It was a beautiful experience and I'm planning to go back next year.

I personally recommend this resort to everyone.


Maria A Rojas

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrojas817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to learn about your beautiful experience with us. We are pleased to know you had a delightful stay with us and that we were able to fulfill all your expectations.

We strive in having a great ambience to satisfy all the needs of our valued guests, so we are happy to know we enjoyed your stay with us, specially from the excellent service received from our staff members.

Thanks for let us know you will come back. We remain at your disposal for all you need for a next visit in a near future.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
7.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
3.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
4.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace

Property: Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Address: Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#11 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#15 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#15 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable location on the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool. This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana. All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Barcelo, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing