We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$444
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$199
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$198
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$927
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,542)
Filter reviews
3,542 results
Traveller rating
1,352
1,276
511
218
185
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,352
1,276
511
218
185
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaribe club princesslirio buildingbrazilian restaurantpunta canafamily roomdifferent themeswim up barpasta stationdominican republicguest servicesteen cluba la carte restaurantsanimation teamnight showsbottle of rummain poolspeak english
Filter
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 3,542 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Rooms where clean,beds where extremely hard.Did get used to them by the end of our stay.No coffee in rooms although they had a bottle of rum there.Pools where nice,no smell of chlorine,so u gotta wonder !Buffet was beautiful looking,food was ?.. Although u could always find something to eat.Hardly any information on the kids club.We found out from other children there about what was available.Still enjoyed our stay.Next time it will be a five star we stay at!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Phyllis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

First time staying at an all inclusive resort. I read many reviews from other visitors before I arrived. Our overall experience was great. We were there to enjoy the beach which was fantastic. The grounds were so well kept at this resort. Pools were amazing. The lobby was a fun place to relax and get out of the sun. Candida at the lobby bar is awesome! Enyoyed the omelets for breakfast. Variety of food was good,something for everyone. Our room was dated looking and in need of renovations,although was kept very clean from housekeeping. We expected this before we arrived. We would reccommend this resort as good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I want to first start out by saying this resort is rated a 4 star hotel so if you are looking for or expecting 5 star service or accomodations, than pay the extra $$ and book and pay for a 5 star resort. I traveled for 2 weeks(jan 20-Feb 3) to the Tropical Princess resort with my husband and we were very pleasantly surprised with what we found. The beach here was breathtaking, warm water, fun waves and extremely clean, not a shell, pebble or rock to be seen along the shoreline. Always many lounge chairs to be found and never a problem with getting beach towels. There was a nice little beach grill/bar and we ate lunch and got our drinks here every day and didnt not venture into the main dining room once for lunch. They had hotdogs,burgers, pizza, chicken,salad, fries and desert. All was very tasty and many thanks to the chef at the beach grill named Franklin and the bartenders there Jorge and Alcides, who did a fantastic job everyday in making sure it was fun for everyone. The main dining room had a theme night and the food was always very good and more than enough of it. The morning breakfast had a fresh juice bar, egg station, fresh fruit, cereal and pancakes, waffles and many more options. The dining room and beach grill supervisor named Josafat did a great job in making sure everything ran smoothly and he was very helpful and friendly.The front desk was very friendly, spoke good english and very helpful with any questions or help we needed, this is where you got free wifi. The front desk manager Rukenia and her assistant Jeffery were wonderful as well as there staff Ariel and Ernesto.(great english boys.) Anytime we called thru to guest services for anything we were taken care of right away.(good job Luis and the pregnant girl, sorry forgot her name) We took a short walk to the casino to do some shopping in Bavaro shopping centre it was nothing to great but got what we were looking for. More shops found down the way on the beach and they apparently offer a shopping trip by bus for free but the weather was amazing while we were there so we did not go. Lots of excursions offered and the shows by the animation team as well as many daytime activities.(good job Reyna and Spagetti). The hotel is kept very clean and lots of vegetation and peacocks and other birds around.We went to the Brazilean restaurant and thought it was very good. The staff is all very accomodating and not much they wont do for you even our maid Reyna was excellent.The rooms are spacious and all have a small balcony. We were so fortunate to meet the head chef Johnny who was so nice and was an amazing cook, he proved that to us and I hope that if and when we return he will still be there.He was so impressive that we told him he should be cooking in Hollywood for the stars.(GREAT CHEF)Mucho Grazias Jhonny!!!! All in all I would highly recommend this resort to anyone, we will surely be returning and we cant wait. We briefly met the Hotel Manager Federico and I think he should be very proud of the hotel and its staff. If there was only 1 thing we would want to see improved it would be the water pressure in the showers as we did not have a good shower for the whole 2 weeks we were there as the water in the shower comes out in dribbles instead of what we are used to. So hopefully that will be corrected and everything else we loved about the Tropical Caribe Princess. By the way we usually stay at the Riu chain when travelling but the prices for the Rius there were outrageous and we are very happy we tried this resort instead.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank roston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Lobby, Reception and bar area kept very clean and there is free wifi only in this area. From the lobby to the Buffet is about 700 meters and you walk through wheel kept garden and swamps where you can see a variety of bird species or you can take a vehicle service which runs every 20 minutes between the lobby and buffet. The Buffet is centrally located for all the rooms. We were in the Tropical Princess Gardenia building. The room was simple and clean but the disinfectant that they put on the floor was over powering. We had to open the window and door to air the place out. The fridge was old but worked well and was stacked with bottled water and soft drinks. No alcohol. The air conditioner worked but there was a high pitched noise which we complained about 4 times but nothing was done. Montana bar was convenient to take drinks to the room and at 6:30 pm trays of peanuts, olives, cheeses were brought out. The bar closes at 8:30. The noisiest building was near the Cayenna building where they had all the games, competitions etc. quietest pool was near the Canoa bar. Best made drinks were at the Canoa bar where they made the best cocktails were made individually. La Matica Bar the were pre made and put into mixer machines and tasted awful.
Beach was excellent and beach staff did the best they could to get rid of the weed. The thatched sun shades need renovating. Some have sunk into the sand and are unusable and they were too close to each other. Constant 15 kph wind gusting to 35 kph some days made the sea rough. When getting the beach towels sometimes they had had none. Told us to come back in twenty minutes and there was still none. When we managed our allotment they were old and frayed. They need to invest in more. 1.5 K to the left there are about 30 beach shops. Bargain aggressively.
Found the Buffet food very disappointing. Very bland. Plenty of choice but quality was not there. Best bet is the pasta bar. The La Matica Bar and Canoa bar had cafeteria type restaurants which served burgers, fries, hot dogs, Friday chicken every day. Wish they could have changed the menu occasionally. Dominican and Brazilian restaurants were disappointing.
Except for room service which was good the rest of the service in the buffet lab by and bars was terrible. Bar people did not take customers in order. Just randomly went to anybody which was annoying.in the Buffet they ran out of plates constantly, had to hunt around for salt and pepper shakers. Always asking for spoons at breakfast. Wine would be brought half way through the meal. Seemed very disorganized. No management to direct the staff. They could smile occasionally.
The resort is well designed and everything works but it is getting old. Wheel chair access is excellent.
In summary enjoy the sand, sea and drinks but if service and food is a priority go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramluap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My 17 year old daughter and I went on Dec31,2013 to Jan7,2014. We had a terrific time..The beach is Gorgeous as well as the grounds and buildings.The atmosphere was very festive. I have seen a lot of complaints and a lot of good reviews..I am giving the tropical Princess an 8 out of 10. People stop being so picky. Yes the furniture is worn in spots..How many people come through those rooms a year?? The staff was always helpful,and polite,even when they didn't understand.The food was very good..Yes they had a lot of the same menu daily..It's a buffet 7 days a week, 3times a day..How many variations can they do but they sure do try.The Brazilian Restaurant was the only one we went to and it was Delicious. The crepierie was loved by my daughter and the little lunch buffet by the beach bar was very good. the drinks were always good and sometimes a to strong. I loved there Champagne. Room Cleanliness and problems..Ok my daughters shower was a problem, as the shower above leaked into her shower. we complained once and nothing was done but honestly I'm not sure they understood me and I forgot all about it. The only complaint I really had was a towel shortage or rather facecloths but by the end of the week we had plenty of facecloths and towels. No resort is perfect. This resort is Gorgeous! The Beach was absolutely Beautiful! The food was Delicious! The gounds and buildings were Beautiful! The had wonderful shows and activities and the Staff was very Friendly. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 3000 are very nice and close to most things.floors higher up have better views and less noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsetlover2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews