We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Punta Cana
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$278
US$196
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$363
US$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$222
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$437
US$428
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$236
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$908
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,128)
Filter reviews
7,128 results
Traveller rating
4,041
2,014
738
196
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,041
2,014
738
196
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunta canala marimbalobby barsteakstar rock cafedominican republicstar friendsseafoodspecialty restaurantsthe oriental restaurantguest servicesapple vacationssaona islandmake reservationsjunior suiteoutback safarievening shows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,767 - 1,772 of 7,128 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a wonderful hotel it's just so perfect, beautiful gardens, wonderful sandy beach, lovely warm Caribbean Sea . You can walk for miles along the sea front on the sandy beach.

The staff are all so friendly always greet you with a smile and say hola to you when you pass them, rooms are kept really clean on a daily basis we could not find any fault at all.

The food in restaurants is very good, we went to two of the speciality restaurants, La Cana the steak house on the beach was very nice, steaks were cooked to perfection, we also went to the gourmet restaurant La Sibila which is a la carte very good.

The entertainment team work very hard they come round to let you know what is going on but don't force you to join in!

We always got to the beach by 8.30 and its true that the sunbeds under the parasols on the beach have all been reserved by the time we got down there we did notice that they had the hotels pool towels on the ones under the parasols but there own towels on sunbeds pulled out further out in the sun so they had 4 beds, then some have towels on and they never seem to use them, there are notices up regarding no reserving beds but no one seems to take any notice!!

All in all this hotel is great and we will definitely be returning and would recommend it to friends

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank snowdrop100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

stayed here from 10/30 to 11/6. We had a great time and it was absolutely beautiful. I will try to make it detailed as possible to answer everyones questions. It is about a 35 minute ride from the airport. I recommned you attend your tour groups meeting at the hotel, it is very informative. The Punta Cana lobby is absolutely gorgeous. Living ponds, marble floors, open air and spacy, room to lounge and a nice bar. I think the PC lobby is much nicer than the Dominicana. For those who dont know, there are 3 seperate resorts (Iberostar Bavaro, Dominicana and Punta Cana) Visitors of PC and Domin. can use all of the facilities between the 2 hotels, bars, restaurants, etc. But you cant use the Bavaro. The Bavaro can use all 3 hotel facilities. Anyway- we were upgraded to a little suite with full size sofa, 2 tables and chairs, king size bed, spcacious bathroom and closet. We had a safe and mini bar included. The room was just absoulutely immaculate. The maids always made designs out of the towels and had fresh flowers on them. They always restocked the mini bar and we had turn down service with mints on our pillows a couple times. We also had a pretty balcony. The TVs there have Discovery Channel, ABC, CNN, TBS, USA,ESPN. The AC worked perfectly. The best part of Punta Cana in general is their beaches. Absolutely breathtaking. Pure white powder sand beaches and crystal clear waters. Warm water too! We always found lounge chairs under the palapas-even in the afternoon. They have a dive center on the property where you can arrange catamarans, kayaks, scuba, snorkeling, banana boat rides and parasailing. We did kayaks and snorkeling. Snorkeling isnt too great here at all. Yeah there are lots of topless women and speedo men- but who cares? if they feel comfortable with that, its their choice. The pools are also very pretty. Always clean and at a nice temperature. Designed nicely, little coves and deep and shallow ends. You can walk in like a beach where it goes from shallow to deep. Very nice. The Dominicana and PC pools were both nice, not different from one another. We also never had problems finding chairs here either. I cant say enough on how beautiful the grounds are. Everything is perfect. Lots of palm trees, etc. Another neat aspect is they have wildlife on the property such as chickens, cockatiels, turtles, flamingos and peacocks. Look out for Mr. Roo! Big white chicken that perches on chairs in the theater area at night. So sweet! We loved him. Both lobby's have gift shops or supermercados. In between the Dominican and Bavaro resort, there is a Caribbean street with little shops and the spa is over there. We used the jacuzzi and got a massage. Very relaxing! As for entertainment, we never really got involved. Star Friends seem good and are very funny. We were always sleeping before the shows or disco opened! heh. As for bars and resturants, between the 2 resorts-I think there are 6 bars. 1 for each lobby, 1 for each beachside restaurant (dominican has 2) there is a bar in the Star Rock Cafe and disco. In between the 2 pools there is also a health bar. You'll always find a bar open from 10am to 1 am, and probably evn later at the disco. For breakfast, there is buffet from 7am-10am in the PC side buffet. Brekfast was good-has every breakfast food you can think of. In between from 10-12, La Cana (beachside PC lunch area and nightime steakhouse) offers cereals, croissants, etc. At 12, you have 3 options for lunch. One of the buffets is open, or La Cana or La Marimba (dominicana side) is open. La Cana has ice cream, rotisserie chicken, burgers, etc. La Marimba has more to offer such as pizza, nachos, pastas, etc. By the way- at La Cana lunch say hi to Arismendi-he is sooo sweet and hardworking! He also does PC side dinner buffet. As for dinner you have some options. If you stay 7 nights, you get 3 a la carte coupons to use. The a la cartes that you need reservations for are La Sibilia (gourmet) Maria Bonita (Mexican) La Marimba (caribbean) La Cana (steakhouse) and Pagoda (oriental) We ate at La Cana steakhouse and the Mexican. Both buffets are also open for dinner, you just go there whenever. They all open at 630. There is also an ice cream stand called La Yola by the spa. Also there is an American a la carte that you dont need reservations for, Star Rock Cafe. They have American style food. It is located in a building in front of Dominicana lobby that also holds some gift shops, the disco and a cigar shop. I will explain the downsides of the food later. We did 3 excursions. The Outback Safari tour, Marinarium and Aquatic Tour. All 3 were absolutely awesome! I would def recommend all 3, but especially the Safair and the Aquatic Tour. For more info on these, type in their names in the search part because I will post reviews for them as well. Ok, now for a couple cons to the resort. Very few premium alcohols, no swim up bar! Another con is it is a decent walk from our room to the beach and pool, it got kind of annoying. And the floors are so slippery!! Im not clumsy and I went down twice so be really careful. I saw a lot of people falling. Ok, the food. There is tons of selection so for the not picky eaters, Im sure you'll like it, but we are picky and not impressed. I think we lost weight on this vacation. Breakfast was always good. for lunch, the rotisserie chicken at La Cana was good as well as ice cream. Their cheeses and beefs are imported from South America or something and taste so strange. Therefore, the burgers weren't good, or pizza, etc. I stuck to pasta with no sauce on it most of the week. Nachos were good too. We ate at Star Rock twice, buffet 3 times and mexican and steakhouse. We didnt even use our 3rd coupon because we didnt like any of the menu choices at the other restuarants. Another thing is at the a la cartes, you need to serve yourself soup and appetizer at a set up buffet, and only get your entree deleivered by a waiter. I thought the whole purpose of an a la carte was to be waited on? Besides those few downers, this resort was beyond my expectations. The staff here is amazingly gracous, hard working and friendly.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank lovecharleston612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for a short getaway in March.
Was particularly impressed by the landscaping and grounds. Immaculate and beautiful- love the central garden area.
We had a junior suite which was comfortable and very pleasant.
The live entertainment in the courtyard was particularly nice- and the lobby bar the perfect place to sit and enjoy it.
We also enjoyed the staff- so friendly, helpful, and cheerful. Often singing as they worked. I really liked that. so pleasant.
The food was fine- not spectacular and not terrible (why so much Mexican? Do that many people really expect or need Mexican food at a Dominican resort?), but the bartending was superb.

I read a lot about the beach chair issue before we went. I would just like to say that we arrived to the beach at a variety of times over our 4 days- 10am, 1pm, 4pm, etc. (never super early) and we always found two loungers. Yes, it was busy. Yes there were people, but there were always chairs- sometimes you just needed to move them to get sun or shade as you liked= and there was ALWAYS a staff member to help.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dregnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My entire family recently visited Iberostar Punta Cana on an Air Transat Holiday from my grandparents (65) Dad, Aunt, Uncle (35-45) Brother (21) and Cousins (7-12) and myself (19) it was a great time all around. We spent much of our time just hanging out on the beach. My brother, dad and stepmom took part in many dives, from the dive shop on site (Dressel Divers, Punta Cana) The staff always tried to get you involved in the activities, one day we even took part in the bikini contest. My aunt won! The star friends are by far the best employees. After about the 5th day or so you start to get a little stir crazy and would highly recommend leaving the property and exploring town. The food is okay, for the amount of people they have to cook for and always a large range of options for all ages. Limitless drinks, but probably watered down as you could drink endless amounts and I never left anymore then a good buzz. The rooms were quite spacious but be certain you know what kind of room you are really booking as we had some confusion. The front desk staff was slightly rude and a bit pushy. The housekeeping staff was good rooms always cleaned when you returned from the end of a long day, they were also very honest, I didn't use the safe in my room and had no problems! Wifi is not included and then you have to purchase it, but then it's only good for one device? not cool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After 30 years of going to Aruba ,it has become too expensive.We decided to try the D.R.We were 110% pleased. The hotel was all inclusive which we have never done. The hotel,pool,beach and all public areas were always super clean. Any empty glasses at the pool or other areas we promptly picked up. The beach was fantastic and we could always get a lounge chair. All hotel staff were wonderful, happy,helpful and never looking for a tip.We brought a pack of ones and tipped $1.00 most of the time,but it was never implied or expected.The weather is perfect,no humidity. Never cold due to a/c.The food is adequate at the buffet,always fresh and very well done.I can't wait to go back(I expect more than once a year.)P.S The pool is absolutely glorious.

Room Tip: You can be close to the pool and beach or close to restaurants and evening entertainment,or in the middle of each.The beach is at one end and the entrance at the other.The rooms are on the right and left side from front to back.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grammyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews