We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Foros

Foros
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Peritheia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent the last night of our holiday at Foros and what a brilliant night it was despite a drive up tricky mountain roads.
Tomas and his wife were most welcoming and we were surprised to get a shot of something strong even before we ordered. The menu was authentic Corfiot cooking and mostly made with home grown vegetables and salad, The onion pie, rooster with pasta were delicious as was the tope (a type of shark) in a tasty sauce.
Foros was almost full, by comparison the taverna immediately next door had no customers and two of the other three of the other hardly had any either. It was great to see there were Greek customers as well as a lot of Brits. Also the bill was about 20 Euro less than the restaurants on the local seafronts.
Brilliant place to eat, setting was great, food marvelous.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank McCeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    23
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Owners of Foros is very nice persons and they really very hospitable. I have tasted there staffed wine leafs and they were delicious! Jammy! After, owner sent to us perfect Greek desert (cake with walnuts I think) we were very happy for such tasty surprise. If you like not ordinary service and looking for place were you can find the spirit of Greek family business, you shall visit this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasija C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek Taverna”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Special taverna in an historical setting in Old Perithia, Corfu, serving lovely food at reasonable prices. Visited in 2013 and again in 2014.Recommend you try their delicious tzatziki, filo onion pie, filo chicken pie, meatballs, & lovely freshly made salads. Paid 34euros for meal for 4 including drinks. Perfect.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 7254CHRISTINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Restaurant Foros”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We ate there this week, Truly Greek experience, we all loved it , the food was superb, I had meatballs, THe service was good and the whole experience was well worth the drive to get there. Highly recommended 10 / 10 Absolutely no complaints

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small tavern - Big taste”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

While wandering through Old Perithia we found this cozy tavern with a plant-roofed terasse and a friednly, totally non importunate innkeeper.
The Menu included so many greek/corfiotic dishes we had not seen in any other tavern so far (and we HAD been looking for real traditional ones, not only in the name).
It was hard to make a choice...and when we received our dishes, it looked rather boring and unspectacular...but when we tried them, they were simply awesome.
The inkeeper was also very friendly and loved to have a little talk in english, while teaching us some greek vocabularies :-)
Unfortunately it was our last day on corfu, so we did not have the pleasure to come there again - the menu had many other dishes to discover.
The tavern is defenitly worth the trouble of getting there via the rather rough and curvy road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aargoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foros also viewed

Corfu, Ionian Islands
 
Kato Korakiana, Corfu
 

Been to Foros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing