We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lombok Oberoi”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oberoi, Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi, Lombok
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lombok Oberoi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Oberoi in Lombok is a pretty hotel with pretty rooms in a lovely location. However I was disappointed in the beach, which one does not sit on because all of the loungers are on the grass and you overlook the beach. I think the hotel could be much better because the basics are all there. The rooms are very nice, large and nicely arranged but the management were clearly missing.

They had a beach barbecue with live music one night or you could choose to eat in the restaurant. We did not want the beach barbeque so had very slow service - not the staffs fault as there were not enough of them and we left iwth a terrible headache as we had two sets of music going on - local music for the restaurant and a live band for the barbeque. They were very near each other and my husband and I could not wait to leave as we had a headache and could not hear each other from the TWO sets of music which were both so loud that you could not hear one but both. Horrible. We complained to the staff and they said they would 'tell' the manager. Many other issues with management too long ot explain but felt the full time staff were stuggling with NO direction from a manager. I think they need someone professional to be present and to run this hotel. Could be fixed so easily - just some attention to detail and someone in charge. We never saw a manager ONCE in our three days!!!!

Room Tip: As far as possible from the local mosque as the noise was quite disruptive to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EPMNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Oberoi, Lombok on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

The reason we put the loungers on the grass is to enable our guests to enjoy the sun much longer, without disturbing by moving the loungers every 3 hours due to high tide when the water reaches our beach.

Please do accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during dinner when we had two themes dinner. I have no excuses to offer but certainly believe that we have failed to provide you the service expected of us and not been able to fulfill the promised experience on this occasion.

May I please assure you that I have shared your feedback not only at the Head of Department level, but also with the team members so that we can all collectively learn from this.

The management team and I shall ensure that you have a memorable stay with us.

I look forward to the pleasure of meeting you personally during your next stay with us.

Thank you and regards,
Yours sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    83
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
140
432
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is definitely one to visit. It is so private and peaceful with a beautiful pool. The only downside was that I had higher expectations on the food however all in all it was still good. Go stay at this hotel if you want total relaxation with a private beach and excellent service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Lombok.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and for your great feedbacks.

We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests. The appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

The team joins me in thanking you for your patronage and support and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lombok and to The Oberoi in the near future.

Thank you.
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

4 nights in an ocean view pool villa. very spacious, beautiful bathroom ,plus generous pool, and choice of 3 outside sitting areas, so shade always available.Room serviced twice a day to a high standard.Extremely comfortable large bed.The food was good, but not amazing, we always felt the "special" menus were being pushed.Good choices at breakfast.
Would be nice if there were more chairs or benches placed further along the property ,some lovely breezy raised quieter areas with great ocean views , but nowhere to sit and enjoy them. The beach is not great for swimming, a lot of grass ,and shallow a long way out. Gardens are very well maintained.
We enjoyed our stay here, the staff were attentive and helpful, though communication was occasionally a problem. Not perhaps up to the Oberoi standard we have experienced in India, but overall a very nice resort. And probably the best option in Lombok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Lombok.
Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you are praising our spacious ocean pool villa and our genuinely attentive and helpful staff.
Your kind words of appreciation for the service team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

Hence being experienced few other Oberoi resorts in India we regret that that our product and service has not lived up to your expectation in some areas, particularly of the communication/ soft skill of our staff and the food quality, in which we have taken your details feedback for further follow to improve our standard. However through constructive feedback of this nature we are able to isolate the finer details of our guest expectation in order to focus on constantly striving to deliver a flawless experience to our guests.

In addition, we appreciated your concern on our beach condition and inputs on the additional long chairs/benches which we are currently discussing on the possibility to them follow up for better experience.

Lastly, on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back Lombok to restore your faith to our resort and its team and create more positive experience on your next visit.

Thank you.
With kind regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent eight nights at the Oberoi. Got upgraded to an ocean view villa, which was lovely.

The good:
- Very nice room, spacious and well serviced. Free drinking water, large safe, lovely courtyard and balcony (good for the sunsets), choice of pillows, anti-mosquito device, fresh fruit, free wifi.
- The dinner special events - made a nice change from the a la carte menu.
- Entertainment - varied from traditional Indonesian to modern music.
- The beach club - organised reliable (if a tad expensive) speed boat transfers to the Gilis
- The fishing - caught a blue marlin - fantastic experience, great crew. And a tiny portion of the fish was cooked beautifully for our lunch. The rest went to a local village.
- The pool - nice set up, not enormous but never too busy
- The Indian visiting chef - stunning Indian special dinner - too bad he has now left.

The OK:
- The Spa - a bit tired, not the "zen" zone experienced in other spas.

Lovely place, but not sure we would want to be there out of season (August was very busy and buzzing).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your great feed backs.

It is our pleasure to hear that you had an amazing Oberoi experience on your eight nights stay with us.
That our services and facilities offered by The Oberoi, Lombok was to your entire satisfaction.

In addition, we value your comment on the Spa that we have shared your comment to the team for an action plan has been placed to improve the overall ambience. Hence we hope we could enhance your spa experience on your next visit.

On behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and certainly hope that your next stay will be as enjoyable as the last.

Thank you.
With kind regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

After a tour in Java and Bali, the perfect place to rest in an heavenly environment. Quietness. ideal location. Superb rooms. Villas not necessary. Great breakfasts. Tasty tea times. Top beach service. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DemandingL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your Oberoi Experience.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable after a Java and Bali tour and that services and facilities offered by The Oberoi, Lombok were to your entire satisfaction.

Your kind words of appreciation for the beach service will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

On behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and create more positive experience on your next visit.

Thank you.
With kind regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Another amazing Oberoi experience. Having stayed several times in the Bali Oberoi we were worried it might not live up to our already high expectations but as with its sister hotel it exceeded them on every level.

We stayed in a beach front villa that was just stunning. Beautiful large walled private garden with ponds, statues and mature tress. The raised dining area is the perfect place to enjoy breakfast.

In addition to this a spacious front seating area gave another opportunity for sunbathing with amazing sea views.

The room itself was large with every comfort in mind. Ice already in the room, mosquito repellent, sun cream, fruit platter, filter coffee, silk tea bags, music system, wonderful four poster bed with choice of pillows, sunken bath, plenty complimentary little gifts. The room is a wonder to explore.

The swimming pool is one of the nicest I've swum in, surrounded by shallow infinity ponds its not large but it feels very exotic and special. And the grounds and gardens are spectacular.

White sand beaches are a pleasure but might need shoes in sea. But perfectly calm waters make swimming pleasant.

Service is impeccable, with staff thinking of things before you think of them yourself, ready with iced water, and sun cream, towels as you leave the pool, lovely turn down service with home cooked treats..... Stress just fades away.

Plenty of nice touches such as complimentary high tea and little home made ice creams keep your mind off just how much you're spending. And spend you will. All this wonderment does come with a high price tag not only in room prices but also eating and drinking.

However if you've already swallowed the room rate you kind of are eased into paying 7 quid for a beer on an island where you can get one for a pound. Sadly unlike the bali Oberoi there is no where else nearby so there is no escaping.

You just have to build the extra expense into your budgeting and allow yourself to be swallowed in paradise.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a seafront villa - it's worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveglamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Lombok.

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post a review of our hotel and sharing the Oberoi experience.

While you have experienced our sister hotel in Bali, we are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay that all services and facilities offered by The Oberoi, Lombok were to your entire satisfaction.

Your detail reviews and comments motivates us to continue to deliver a high level of service and encouraging for my team members to continue exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuinely hospitality.

We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests. The appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

In the meanwhile, the team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Lombok.

Thank you.
With kind regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Oberoi Lombok after 2 and half years and it just keeps getting better. The only thing I was unhappy about throughout our entire stay was the long drive to and from the airport, 1 hr and 45 mins ride but apart from that this is still one of our favourite resorts in Asia.

We love this property for how well it is laid out that it makes you feel very private and the well looked after grounds around the resort makes a very peaceful and relaxed setting. We stayed at the Ocean view pavillion and it is very spacious and decorated in elegant artworks. The bathroom area was well appointed and again very spacious with elegant touches of balinese/lombok style.

We tried both the restaurants and the food quality was incredible. The service at this resort is one of the reasons we enjoyed our stay so much that we will definetely return. The staff could not have been more helpful and were there before you looked for them.

We did scuba diving and the dive centre/boat staff are incredibly helpful throughout all the dives. Special mention goes to our dive master (Kamal) who is one of the best dive masters we have had who knew all the best spots to take you for the dives and knew so much about the local marine life and a great person to dive with.

Overall this is a fantastic property with lovely staff/service. A great isoloated property to unwind and relax and the staff looks after you like you are the only guests.

Room Tip: If you are gonna go for pavillion, go for Ocean view since it's definetely worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_traveller112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to learn that you had another relaxing stay here at the resort sharing your Oberoi experience.
We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests.
The appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.
Lastly, the team joins me in thanking you for your patronage and support and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lombok and to The Oberoi in the near future.

Thank you.
With kind regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung
0.2 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
9.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
10.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Hotel Tugu Lombok
#3 of 173 in Lombok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Lombok

Property: The Oberoi, Lombok
Address: Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Tanjung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury Resort with traditional influences, situated on the beach in 24 acres of tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi, Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Lombok Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Hotel Lombok
Oberoi Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Mataram
Mataram Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing