We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!”
Review of The Oberoi, Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi, Lombok
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and we chose Oberoi Lombok. We were initially not sure if Oberoi Lombok was the right choice as we were traveling with our two kids (ages 4 yrs and 20 months respectively)- as this place is known more for honeymooners or couples traveling without kids. But I do not regret my decision at all. We had a wonderful stay (5 nights/ 6 days) at the Oberoi Lombok.

1. Our arrival was very well managed right from the airport. There was an Oberoi representative at the airport waiting for us. They had arranged for a very good 7 seater van to drive us to the resort. It was a 1 hr 45 minute ride through dense jungle. It was a long and a winding road. My wife suffers from motion sickness, but the driver was very good and he managed to drive at a good speed at the same time ensuring that it was a smooth ride ( my wife did not throw up and infact she loved the journey :)

2. Once we arrived at the reception, our check in was a smooth process.

3. We were initially disappointed when we found out that the place did not have a kids club ( like the Marriott). But the staff ensured that our kids were well entertained. They arranged for some toys and blocks. Also my wife did not want to feed our younger one, Gerber or Heinz bottled food all the time. The hotel staff ensured that the chef cooked special baby meals for our younger son based on the recipies we gave them. This was done everyday for lunch as well as dinner!

4. I had arranged for a special candle lit dinner for our anniversary and the resort staff managed it with perfection and with great service. They managed to cook a dish which my wife loves but was not on their menu!

5. We forgot our camera a couple of times around the resort and the called us immediately to inform us that they had the camera with them.

6. Our Ocean view villa was amazing and it also had a small garden for our kids to play.

7. They baked an amazing chocolate cake for our anniversary and also for my wife's birthday.

8. They managed to arrange for a baby sitter who kept the kids entertained for two hours while we were having our anniversary dinner.

9. We enjoyed snorkelling at Gili islands. It was the first time we were snorkelling and it was an amazing experience.

We would like to thank the Oberoi Lombok staff for the great service and ensuring that we had a memorable anniversary. We would love to go back!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view villas or the pavilions, even if you have to pay extra over the garden view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sambasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your Oberoi Experience.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. Thank you for praising our product, personalized service and food quality that we share it with our team members. Your detail reviews and comments motivates us to continue to deliver a high level of service and encouraging for my team members to continue exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuinely hospitality.

We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests. The appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

In the meanwhile, the team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Lombok.

Thank you.
Yours Sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Even though it was the rainy season, we couldn't have been in the Oberoi Lombok at a better time. The gracious and kind personalities of almost every employee we met, brightened up our stay. They went out of their way to ensure our comfort level and preferences were catered to for an exceptional experience. Their attention to detail, follow-up with subsequent requests and flexibility were consistent. Some of the staff have been there for more than 5 years and spoke about their jobs with much pride and passion. It was most refreshing!

The resort is very well maintained and despite the distance from the new international airport, it is an oasis for those seeking respite far from the madding crowd. We were so well taken care of and look forward to returning to the family of newfound friends. Terima kasih!

Room Tip: The villas facing the Medana Bay are it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your Oberoi Experience.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. We understand the resort is very secluded hence we really happy that you have a very positive perceptive and indeed the island offers a unique experience.

Your kind words of appreciation for the service team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

On behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and create more positive experience on your next visit in the near future.

Thank you.
Yours Sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in the Oberoi for two nights after staying in Gili Meno for a couple of nights. It's the perfect luxury end to our vacation. We stayed with our two young boys, ages 5 and 8. We loved that there were activities daily - so on one day, the boys got the chance to do some painting on canvas while hubby & I sneaked away for a massage that was out of this world. The massage treatment was fantastic and the therapist is extremely well trained. Dwi was my therapist and I made it a point to book another massage with her the following day.

This is not one of the resorts catered just for kids (like a club med)- there isn't a kids club, but it's definitely a beautiful resort with lots of space and outdoor activities that the boys could enjoy. They also played tennis one day - so plenty of sunshine and running around.

A special mention must be made for Nelly - the F&B manager in charge of breakfast. There was a little mix up during our breakfast where we didn't exactly get what we wanted, when we complained about it to the waitress (there was no caviar in our Royal Breakfast), he was immediately notified and took great pains to rectify the error. He apologised, (again and again!) and really took the trouble to right the wrong. Five class service all round!

The little touches like the afternoon tea at the Bale, the candles in the bathroom, the huge sunken bath tub with the little pond next to it, the bath salt - they make you feel like a princess! I loved it!

We loved our stay at the Oberoi and was so impressed by the service standards that we will definitely look out for other Oberoi hotels for our future holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneHoSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi on your recent visit in Lombok.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and for your great feed backs.

We are delighted that the family have a great time at the resort, despite not having a kids club your beautiful son could really enjoy the outdoor activities and your attention our details touch during stay was a great reward for us. Moreover we appreciated your feedback on our team particularly mention to Bapak Nelly at restaurant breakfast and Dwi at spa, we are proud to have genuinely friendly and committed team members to deliver their best. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of great inspiration and will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.

Lastly, the team joins me in thanking you for your patronage and support and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lombok and to The Oberoi in the near future.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Fantastic hotel on every aspect: dreamy location. Staff is friendly, helpful and with an outstanding attention to detail. The rooms and the view are totally worth their reputation, and the food, while pricey, is delicious and totally worth giving up our diet for. Highly recommended spot for a dreamy vacation / getaway

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ghassan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your Oberoi Experience.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. Thank you for praising our rooms, personalized detail service and food quality that we share it with our team members.

Your kind words of appreciation for the team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence as we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and the appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

On behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and create even more positive experience on your next visit.

Thank you
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We took the 2.5 hour boat ride, followed by a 15 or so minute drive to the Oberoi. Rather than paying $25USD for their jeep, you can take a local taxi from the boat for approx. $4.50USD. No brainer, if you ask me. We were greeted with lovely flower leis and a welcome drink. There were only 4 other couples at the resort (50 rooms) while we were there during November. Similar to most other Oberoi resorts with high quality of staff and good customer service. The food and drinks are quite expensive compared with surrounding prices, and the quality doesn't always translate with the higher price. The food was all pretty good, but not astounding. Snorkeling was good, but unfortunately there was a lot of trash in the water. (we've never seen that before!!) We also took their free trip to the market and village which was interesting. The very nice thing about this resort was the free bicycles, tennis court, and large library of DVDs and books. The pool and view were also very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Lombok and
thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you are praising our product and service particularly our high quality staff, good customer service and facilities and some activities provided. Hence we regret we fell short to create a good dining experience during your stay due to the concern of the pricing. We have taken your feedback to each respected department for our future improvement.

Thank you for the constructive feedback that we are able to isolate the finer details of our guest expectation in order to focus on constantly striving to deliver a flawless experience to our guests.

Lastly, on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Lombok in the near future.

Thank you.
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I went there in October. The trip to the hotel from Lombok airport is NOT an easy ride (especially at nights) - it take about one hour and forty five minutes driving in a two way road with lots of curves coming up and down a mountain. If you get car sickness, better take pills before u get in the car.
Once you get there it's amazing! Rooms and bathroom are great!!
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is ok (try a local fish called baranoundi - it's very good).
I consider it as one of the best places I ever witnessed sunset at!!
They do day trips to the three Gili islands. We went one day snorkeling in Gili Air (saw lots of turtles), then spent a couple of hours in Gili Meno.
The next day we spent the whole day in the biggest one Gili Tarawaganan.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mido N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Lombok. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. We understand the location of resort maybe a bit of challenge; hence our Concierge team are pleased to assist you for arranging an afternoon flight to reach Lombok should we have another opportunity to welcoming you back. Lombok has a lovely picturesque view during the day.

Moreover we appreciated your feedback on our team, we are proud to have genuinely friendly and committed team members to deliver their best. Your kind words of appreciation for the team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

Meanwhile, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Lombok.

Thank you
Yours Sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As indicated in the title this was our fifth visit in a ten year period. We feel able to give the highest assessment based on like for like comparisons with the multitude of five star hotels visited in this period. Five other hotels were used during this extended holiday, including the Oberoi in Mauritius, a Ritz Carlton and others. They are all wonderful,however, the Lombok Oberoi is unique.
The combination of an idyllic location, beautiful accommodation, staff who are totally motivated, year round wonderful warm sea and pool and a restaurant which presents fantastic food in probably the most romantic vista imaginable. The grounds are immaculate, the sunsets breathtaking and for the snorkelling experience entering the water off the end of the boat jetty is so convenient and rewarding. As you enter the water expect to be surrounded by fish and proceeding to the right of the jetty leads along the reef which extends the length of the resort. Coral condition has improved over the period of our visits and is worth a full transit. For a serious snorkel or dive the jetty staff are brilliant to access trips to sites in the nearby Gilli isles, their advice is second to none and their service is totally reliable.
It is admitted that the journey from the airport ( 1.75 to 2 hours ) may seem a daunting prospect, but it shows the traveller how the island people exist, how they farm and travel. Be amazed at a family occupying one small motorcycle. The section of the journey through the mountains is amazing, the monkeys in this area make an interesting spectacle.
On arriving in the hotel the beauty and style rock the senses, the welcome is always warm and the guest is very quickly made to feel at home. This is a completely managed establishment, without the guest being aware of the teamwork flow, special events are completely briefed and every member of staff knows their responsibilities.
The overall experience is wonderful, leaving at the end of a visit is a wrench which we have never felt so deeply at any other hotel. Well done the management team and staff!.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Lombok.

Thank you for sparing your time updating your experience and your favorable review of our resort on Trip Advisor. Being experienced other 5 Star hotels around the globe including another Oberoi resorts we are delighted for your recognition on our uniqueness, that our product and service has lived up to your expectation.

Your detail compliments have been shared with the team who were happy to note that their efforts were so well recognized. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of great inspiration and will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.

We understand the resort is a bit of challenge to reach hence we really happy that you have a very positive perceptive and indeed the island offers a unique experience.

Meanwhile the team and I look forward to welcoming you back for sixth visits to The Oberoi, Lombok.

Once again thank you for your patronage

Yours sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung
0.2 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
852 reviews
9.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,576 reviews
10.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,273 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
39.2 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Lombok

Address: Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Tanjung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Price Range: £231 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury Resort with traditional influences, situated on the beach in 24 acres of tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi, Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Lombok Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Hotel Lombok
Oberoi Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Mataram
Mataram Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing