We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queen Wilhelmina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mena
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at the state park and absolutely enjoyed it to the max. It is a little off the beaten path, but totally memorable. The hikes and views are great! They have a miniature train that goes around the park for kids. At times it actually reminded me of the Smokies. There was mist floating by as we were at an elevation of about 3000. If you're in Arkansas or Oklahoma and need a retreat with few people, this is your park.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    41
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
92
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I renewed our vows and spent the weekend at the lodge! First, we love the outdoors, and the trails and views are majestic! There was a bit of snow on the ground, and it was very peaceful!

The location is less than desirable for most, basically 10 miles from any type of shopping, but that is what makes it so good!

This property employs a wonderful and friendly staff, mind you, the lodge is staffed by Arkansas State Parks, and is under their direction! The dining room needs some improvement in food quality, and service, but it is still good for the location!

This property is dated, and the room layouts are not quite efficient, but that will be changing as this lodge is officially closed for an 18 month $1.3 million renovation!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WLeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The lodge remains mostly as it was when it was built in 1974. Wonderful hotel staff, the restaurant definitely needs help. Food is good, but slow and the restaurant staff are just complacent. The lodge needs some upgrades, and effective February 1, 2012 the lodge will close for an 18 month remodel. The lodge will be expanded by 10,000 square feet, gain 2 guest rooms, and will get an elevator as well as a complete facelift. The remodel will be at the cost of 1.3 million dollars. Don't worry though, the rest of the park will be open as usual including all trails and attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WLeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here one night after journeying the scenic talimena highway from Mena, AR up Highway 88. There were a lot of Vista View points to pull over and just look at the valleys and mountains portraying their fall foliage colors. The trip alone would be worth it if you ended up staying in a tent, but Arkansas State Parks & Tourism has kept this historic lodge going which gives you the modern conveniences of a room and restaurant. The restaurant has a beautiful view with plenty of windows. They had the fire going in the lounge area the night we stayed and we sat by the fire some. There are hiking trails for those who like to hike. There is a miniature train ride with train tracks that go completely around the lodge property along with miniature golf. These are seasonal and were closed (open for the warm months). I would actually like to ride this train if it is operational next spring. I think we will go back for this. I am a big kid at heart. At the bottom of the mountain (12 miles or so driving) is the town of Mena, AR with all of the old buildings, restaurants, and shops. So plan on visiting that area also.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decatur, tx
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This lodge as it is called is really very nice. Our room window someone had pulled the bottom out of track, and the park had screwed the windows down with screws previously (do not know when) and then someone with a phillips screwdriver unscrewed them out: the wind is known for blowing on the south with gusts of 35 o 50 mph and our room was a south facing room, so I was able to push the window back into its track after notifying the front desk, had to place a hand towel on the top of the lower case window (these are are really nice double hung hard plastic window frames) but I also noticed a bar in the top track keeping the window from being opened, so we heard wind whistleing all night as well as what seems like the roof buckleing up and down all night.. Now for the AC/Heater unit: this is an older unit that stays on all the time, but only till it either gets warm enough our cool enough, and then it will shut off for a while, the controller U do not want to move up or down too much or it may never cycle off. My wife could not sleep with it running all night. We heard two guests complaining with the same problem. When I ask the front staff it sounds like they hear this complaint day after day ya they do. I was told that the lodge will close in 2012 for some remodeling. I suggest that every one of U that reads this write to the Arkansas Parks and ask for evaluation of the AC/Heat units at this lodge and get some retrofit to make the system more user friendly, that is so the customer can turn the system off if thats what they want. My mattress seem to have a brokendown side too. We were in a Twin Queen type room. The other mattress was not rated as we choose to sleep together away from the window and the constant air from the AC/Heater. This is really a nice park for families for the summer.

Room Tip: Although the wind does not blow every day perhaps when it blows from the south take a north facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llano, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The drive to "The Queen" was beautiful! We were camping in Petit Jean (highly recommended) when a cold front forced us to find warmer accomodations. We were lucky to get a room here, as it was fully booked by a hiking club and a few other guests. The nice person checking us in told us that the lodge was shutting down in December for a full remodel, and it needs it. Located on a beautiful mountaintop, the lodge and rooms do not take full advantage of the gorgeous views. Built in the 60's or 70's, the windows in each room are small and narrow, and it is obvious that the structure was built during a time when the outdoor views were not as important. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast, and it was OK. Unfortunately, there was a buffet both times and I am not a big fan. We ordered off the menu for dinner and it was standard cafe' fare. People were really nice, which we found everywhere in Arkansas, and the upgrade to this lodge will make it a great place to go. It is a very pretty area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LlanoSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This lodge, in the state park of the same name, is far from town on a ridge top with great views. We enjoyed a 1.2-mile hike around the Lover’s Leap loop trail. Rocky and steep in places, it is best done in boots. Several easier walking trails are also on the property. The rooms are much newer than the building. Ours was a bit smaller than a standard motel room, but was adequate. The bed was comfortable and the A/C was very quiet, coming from a chilled-water radiator in a ceiling vent controlled by a thermostat on the wall. The room was superficially clean, but could stand a thorough cleaning under the sink and in the corners, along with some attention to a slow-draining tub. The restaurant serves good comfort food, well prepared but nothing special. Prices for rooms and meals were reasonable, less than we expected. Wi-Fi performance was good, considering the location: strong and 0.8Mbps.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JollyMan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mena
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
#3 of 22 in Fort Smith
540 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
861 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#14 of 45 in Hot Springs
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ozark Inn
Ozark Inn
#2 of 6 in Mena
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Janssen Park Place B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Wilhelmina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Wilhelmina Lodge

Property: Queen Wilhelmina Lodge
Address: 3877 Highway 88 W, Queen Wilhelmina State Park, Mena, AR 71953-8317
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mena
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Wilhelmina State Park Lodge on 2,681-foot Rich Mountain, Arkansas’s second highest peak, reopened on July 1, 2015, following renovation. The lodge features all new windows that will be larger to frame the views from Rich Mountain of the surrounding Ouachita Mountains. Our visitors can enjoy the more wide open views from all the lodge’s public rooms, including the restaurant and all the guest rooms. The exterior of the lodge features shingles and stonework. The lodge was expanded from 25,881 square feet to 37,029 square feet to include the addition of a new hearth room with wood-burning fireplace, two additional guest rooms increasing the total to 40, and more space within all the rooms. Two guest rooms on each floor at the west end include gas fireplaces and spa tubs. Three are barrier-free to meet the needs of visitors with disabilities. They include Queen, King, King with spa tub and gas fireplace, and King Suite choices. The upstairs meeting facility increased in size and includes a balcony overlooking the south view from the mountain. Public restrooms are located nearby. An elevator was added to the lodge, as well as more stairwells. A wrap-around porch on the building’s south side will provide visitors with comfortable outdoor space. A new porch was added at the west end. And a new fire protection system covers the entire building. Other improvements include a new energy efficient heating and air-conditioning system, energy saving lighting throughout, solar hot water, and other such features. A new laundry will serve the housekeeping staff. Queen Wilhelmina State Park is one of the 52 state parks administered by the State Parks Division of the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism. In addition to the lodge, the 460-acre park includes a campground with 41 campsites and a bathhouse; picnic areas; trails; and a seasonal miniature train and mini-golf course. Park interpretive programs highlight Rich Mountain’s fauna and unique flora. The park is on Ark. 88 (Talimena National Scenic Byway) 13 miles west of Mena. [For an alternate route from Mena or during inclement weather, go six miles north on U.S. 71, then travel nine miles west on U.S. 270, then go two miles south up Ark. 272.] ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Queen Wilhelmina Hotel Mena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing