We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of H2O Patagonia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Futaleufu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
H2O Patagonia
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I can’t say enough positive things about H2O Patagonia. Truly a top-notch vacation in every way. First, the activities. Each day was jam packed with enough activities that there was never any chance to get bored. I actually volunteered myself for some down time, but others continued on. The rafting was so much fun, as was the horseback riding and kayaking and the views from the hiking were second to none. This area of the world is truly amazing. The ranch itself really leaves nothing to be desired. Sleeping was very comfortable, a bit cold at night, but they provide a lovely hot water bottle which keeps you snug. The sound of the river while you are sleeping is so wonderful. The food was absolutely delicious. I was never hungry and the offerings were all over the map – certainly enough variety and volume to make anyone happy. Even outside of camp, lunches were delicious and filling. They do a great job of making everyone feel welcome and pampered, as much as you would like to feel that way. The guides were excellent – very knowledgeable but also a lot of fun. Safety was obviously paramount but it never got in the way of a good time. I highly recommend both Patagonia and H2O Patagonia for an adventure of a lifetime. Truly exceeded all of my expectations!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just returned from a great adventure in paradise. The website photos simply do not reflect the true beauty of Futaleufu, Chile. H2O is a special place- the best of nature and adventure travel. The guides were warm, friendly and truly lovely people who catered to our activity preferences. The options for activities were plentiful and provided a multi- sport experience that allowed us to be as active as we wished on any given day. The Rio Futaleufu is the most beautiful river that we have ever experienced and the rafting and kayaking where just two of many highlights of the trip. The mountains provided world class views of the river and the hikes were fantastic. Guests and guides shared great food, great wine and much laughter at the end of each day. I doubt that I will ever get closer to heaven.A special thank you to Kyle, Hernan,and Brian for making our week amazing, My advice if you are considering making a trip to Patagonia:Gather the people you love, pack a bag and go H2O. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This review is long overdue. We travelled to Argentina and Chile last year for our honeymoon and the highlight of our 3 week vacation was by far our week on the fuda with H20.

1) The location is magical. I kinda feel like now is the time to visit before it either becomes over run with tourism, or taken out by big hydro-dev.

2) The crew: I cannot over-state how good the team is. Skill...check, professionalism....check, but above all, we didn't feel like clients but rather fellow adventures. Don't get me wrong, the service was top notch... just seemed like I was on a amazing adventures with some high level pros showing us the ropes. Genuinely good people.

3) Accommodations: I thought the whole tent thing was great...plus I slept like a baby with the sound of the river. It did get cold for a few days, but we felt nice and warm inside.

4) Food: Yes, yes the food was amazing, but that wasn't my favourite part. The meals were just huge events. The chef would introduce and present the meal, we would drink, talk about whatever, overall some of the best parts of the trip for me was the social aspect surrounding the meals after a great day of adventure.


I echo some of the other reviews....as long as Brian Russell is running things you are in great hands and you will have a great adventure. I do recommend you have a few days elsewhere before joining the trip and take the time to slow down and visit other parts of patagonia afterwards.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeizinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I had the opportunity to spend a week here and I already miss it dearly. The level of activity was great, the guides; Hernan, Kyle, Momo and Brian were amazing, the food was fabulous, the accommodations were cozy and the wine plentiful.

The entire program, executed by Brian Russell, felt like it was custom fit for our group. Each day introduced a new adventure, and it was empowering to return back to our camp like a bunch of champs having "conquered" the day's activity. I recognize that I am not on the same level as the qualified guides (at all), but their enthusiasm when I did something "cool" made me feel like I was as hard-core as they are.

The days were long and time seems to move slower on the Futa. It is safe to say Rancho Antucumay introduced me to a new part of my soul on this journey, and I have a better understanding of who am am because of it. Totally worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

H2OPat is an adventure vacation with what I would call "glamping-plus" accommodations. It's exceedingly well run by Brian Russell, who also acts as a guide on hikes and rafting. He started the week by reciting a spanish proverb, "the baby who doesn't cry gets no milk" and encourages guests to ask for whatever they want. The staff is very flexible aobut everything and while this isn't like a 5 star hotel where they sit around anticipating your needs, they do genuinely want you to be happy and will go the extra mile to accommodate all requests. Also, the groups tend to be small (our week had 8 people total and that was a busy week for them), which is really nice. They don't overpromise or oversell.

Lodging: Lodging is in tent-like rooms on elevated platforms along the river. Our week was VERY cold and some people had a hard time. The beds are comfy and have huge down comforters, good pillows, etc. A maid comes every day. There are no lights (just battery lamps) and no bathrooms in the room. I really liked the tents and loved being right on the river.

Bathrooms: A short walk away by the main lodge are mens and womens bathrooms with lots of private showers, sinks, etc. One guest in our group slept in the bathroom house (it's quite large) due to the cold (it's heated with a wood stove). There are also more toilets in the main lodge.

Main Lodge: When not rafting or hiking or doing other activities, you hang out in the lodge, a 1500-sq foot yurt-like building with high ceilings and a huge fireplace. There a couches, chairs, tables, etc. Meals are eaten at a long table. Great views, very ski-lodge type atmosphere. There's a hot tub outside which is awesome but wood-fired so the temperature can be too hot or too cold and takes some moderating. It was usually just right.

Meals: Breakfast is continental with weak, lukewarm (bad) coffee and hot tea. Granola, yogurt, cheese, ham, pancakes, etc. Lunches are ususally taken out on the river, or on a hike, etc. Lunches are "weak" and very field-trip like. One day we had cold penne noodles with some kind of salad dressing on it, nothing else. The kitchen brings out appetizers constantly if there are people in the lodge. Great cheese, hummus, bread, empanadas, etc. Wine, drinks, water, etc. Ask and they will bring it. Dinners are huge, multi-course meals, all pretty good. The cook is good. Steaks were WAY, WAY overcooked which surprised me given this is beef country. But overall the food is good and you won't go hungry.

Yoga: They hire a yoga teacher to start every day at 8am. I'm the only one who was experienced at yoga and personally I didn't think he knew what he was doing, and every class was exactly the same. I think inexperienced guests might like it more but it does get boring. It's a nice touch to offer it.

Massage: You get one free 40 minute massage and if you want more you can pay high-end US spa prices. It was pretty good but the pricing for additional massages is way off Chilean exchange rates.

Activities: They offer several things a day, rafting, kayaking, horseback, canyoning, ziplines, etc. Ask and Brian will try to accommdate. The guides are very good and they are very very concenred with safety. The best guides in the world come to the Futa, so the quality is generally good in the region but H20 under Brian hires very good people. Brian is the most conserative of the guides on the river, but you will have a good time.

Overall if you are willing to travel all this way I highly recommend H2O at least as long as Brian R is the manager. I think the manager of a place like this has a big impact on guest comfort and satisfaction and he is very good. In comparison to some of the other big outfitters, the lodge here is the best and none of the others (from what I understand) have the luxury-ish approach to meals, etc. The fireplace and lodge are unique for the area as well. Given the amount of activities, this is a hell of a deal for the money. Also, for singles - there was a single woman on our trip and she had a great time...this place lends itself to singles well.

Room Tip: there are 2 tents right on the river. ALl of them are basically the same but the 2 right on the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

One of the best adventure travel recipes you'll ever try...

First, you'll need some ingredients:

1. Patagonia: One of the most beautiful, breath-taking places in the planet

2. The Futaleufu: One of the top white water rivers in the world

3. The Guides: Experienced, caring, confident, excellent, top-level pros with a sense of humor

4. The Staff: Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and caring

5. Gourmet Food: Chef Favio prepared meals that can only be described as Patagonia Gourmet...breath-taking!

6. The Accommodations: Situated in a valley surrounded by incredible views of the mountains, sleep in clean, comfortable, rustic cabañas next to the river...aaaaaah. Sit in the hot tub after a day of high-level action and adventure...aaaaah. Get a great massage to relieve tired muscles and prepare you for the next round of action...aaaaaaah.

Pour all ingredients into a large mixing bowl...sprinkle generously with heart-pounding action, challenging activities, sun, glacier water, laughter, excellent wines, dawns and sunsets beyond description, some more laughter, great people, eye-popping big water...and VOILA!: Enjoy one of the most unforgettable, fantastic and rewarding vacations you'll ever have...a week-long feast that you'll be talking about, and reminiscing over, for the rest of your life.

YUMMY!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Arrive in shape when you come to H2O Patagonia because you're going to climb some steep mountains, kayak some intimidating rapids, and raft some of the most heart-pounding white water in the world. Thank you, thank you for giving us one of the best adventures of our lives! I learned to deal with fear, have stories I can share for the rest of my life, and made some wonderful new friends. And Fabio's cooking was some of the best I've had in all our world travels. Love you guys.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn052_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Futaleufu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Barranco
Hotel El Barranco
#1 of 1 in Futaleufu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uman Lodge Patagonia Chile
Uman Lodge Patagonia Chile
#1 of 19 in Futaleufu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Futaleufu
Hosteria Futaleufu
#8 of 19 in Futaleufu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tineo Patagonia Lodge
Tineo Patagonia Lodge
#3 of 19 in Futaleufu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal La Gringa Carioca
Hostal La Gringa Carioca
#1 of 6 in Futaleufu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Las Natalias
Hostel Las Natalias
#5 of 19 in Futaleufu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2O Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2O Patagonia

Property: H2O Patagonia
Address: Rancho Antucamay, Futaleufu, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Futaleufu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Futaleufu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H2O Patagonia is an all-inclusive, high-end adventure travel lodge, located in the heart of Northern Patagonia, Chile on the mighty Futaleufu river, one of the premiere whitewater rafting rivers in the world, offering an unbeatable combination of challenge and beauty for active travelers. Guests choose from pure whitewater rafting on the Futaleufu or combine activities such as inflatable kayaking, canyoning, trekking and horseback riding. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing