We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but basic”
Review of Hostal Cordillera

Hostal Cordillera
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Cordillera
Ranked #42 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Castro
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend an I stayed here one night. The owner was extremely welcoming and super nice, making us feel at home straight away. The hostal has a lounge with a fire which is a nice place to hang out and meet other travellers. The room we stayed in was quite large, with its own TV, and a comfortable bed. The let down of this hostel was the bathroom, which was very old and run down and could really do with a make over. The water in the shower was nice and hot though! :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Basic hostel. Nice welcome. Also hire shop for vehicles. Breakfast was good with variety and plenty of it. Room was adequate and clean. Waiting for bathroom was terrible, lots of people but very few bathrooms, especially busy as expected in mornings. Bathroom also felt bit grotty and needs updating/maintaining. Just have basic expectations for basic place. Wifi very good though.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights in February 2014.
This was a nice stay, with awesome breakfasts !
Rooms are clean and tidy (try to get the one at the end of the corridor with the view other the sea).

The only inconvenient was that the hostel only has 2 bathrooms for the whole building (around 15 rooms), which could make it a bit difficult in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurelien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here for three nights, paying USD30/night through booking.com for a single private room with shared bathroom.

The location is good, a very short walk from both of the bus terminals and (Casto being fairly small) an easy walk from just about everything you might want to see (except possibly the modern art museum, which is a long way from everything else anyway).

The room was small but clean and in fairly good decorative order. The shared bathroom was a bit more dilapidated (missing tiles and rather old fittings) but it was clean and there was always hot water available. I did have to queue a bit for access, mainly around midnight before going to bed, but it was never ridiculous.

The wifi worked well.

I was told there was a midnight curfew but I may have been misinformed. However, I didn't see much opportunity to stay out past about 11pm anyway, so this is hardly a big deal. At all times of the day access is via ringing the doorbell and waiting to be let in; this is obviously good for security, but I did find it slightly irksome all the same.

I would definitely consider staying here again on a future visit to Castro.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZornsLemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip while in Chiloé. I liked it quite a bit, it had clean rooms, nice views of the water, a nice staff and a cozy common room with a fireplace. You could also use the kitchen facilities whenever you like and they had strong wifi in the building too. The only real con I would give it, is that if you have a window facing either of the streets, it can get loud in the morning, but if you have earplugs, you'll be fine. They're also not super strict about check out time either, which I sincerely appreciate too. If you're a couple and want a double bed with an ocean view, just ask for room 14. Across the hall, room 15 is also a nice double with twin beds with a nice view. Their pricing is good too and they also rent cars and offer excursions. Happy traveling!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Aglease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Just a few blocks from the main plaza and the waters edge. Friendly owners an on site tourist agency. Rooms are okay, a little aged, as are the bathrooms. Good sized kitchen and social area. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I arrived in Castro after a 4 day ride on the Navimag. The breakfast offered by Marta is a welcomed change with tableclothes and fresh eggs.

Location is only 1 block from the Cruz del Sur bus station and 2 blocks from Plaza de Armes and uphill from the Port. There is an accumulation of mould in the shared bathrooms. However the oversized bathroom and a hot shower where I can control the water temperature is the difference when compared to life on the Navimag (from Puerto Natales to Puerto Montt).

You get what you paid for.

Room Tip: Street view is still quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingleWomanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castro hotels
0.5 mi away
Palafito Waiwen
Palafito Waiwen
#1 of 71 in Castro
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casita Espanola
Hotel Casita Espanola
#37 of 71 in Castro
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Enjoy Chiloe Hotel de la Isla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vista Tranquila Cabanas
Vista Tranquila Cabanas
#30 of 71 in Castro
2 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Altos de Gamboa
Hostal Altos de Gamboa
#10 of 71 in Castro
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Chilhue Hostal Residencial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cordillera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cordillera

Address: Serrano esquina Sotomayor | Barros Arana #175, Castro, Isla Chiloe, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Castro
Price Range: £18 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel is located near of restaurants, banks, square, church, museums, bus station, we have rent a car, excursions around the island, airport transfer. Inside of the Hostel you can find a big living room with chimney, terraces with sea view, internet free, wifire zone, parking lot, carpet rooms and heating. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing