We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much choice.”
Review of Pondok Eka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sengkang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pondok Eka
Ranked #3 of 4 Sengkang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A very basic hotel, rooms clean and probably priced ok. Passable Wifi if you sit on the staircase or near the check-in. Accommodation is very limited in this town, and these people try hard. Breakfast was terrible for our tastes!. (Cold fried eggs in a tomato sauce was the signature dish)

Room Tip: Sengkang is the back-blocks, do not expect much. Keep away from the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KaiTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Pondok Eka as we were told it was the most decent choice in town. Given that Sengkang is not big and rather poor, we didn't expect much but once we 'experienced' Pondok Eka we still felt like getting out as soon as possible. We encountered some cockroaches during breakfast and there was a blanket which clearly hadn't been washed in a while.

In November a new hotel opened in Sengkang called BBC on Jalan Nenas, which according to people we met was a very good choice. Apparently the rooms are smaller than at Pondok Eka but the standard is higher as it is brandnew. I'd definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jakartaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

In our opinion Pondok Eka was a pretty decent place to stay in Sengkang. We where travelling from Bira to Rantepao and needed a place just to spend the night, so we weren't picky for any facilities. We arived at 7PM and left the following morning at 8AM.

Upside:
The room we were in was on the 2nd floor and they were actually building the rooms next to us so I think our room was also recently finished. It was clean and spacious with a comfortable king sized bed, tv, fridge, water cooker. Breakfast was OK, nothing special (toast with jam, simple fried rice, eggs, bananas, tea/coffee). Location is good, 2 min. walking distance from shops/restaurants etc.

Downside:
Building started around 6AM. Wifi was available but not working properly in the room, breakfast could have been better if they would just give you a little more choice, however, this seems to be a problem for many Indonesian budget/mid-range hotels. Shower was extremely hot since there was no hot or cold faucet. They reset the boiler which made the shower OK for one go, I had to spray myself off with the little showerhead next to the toilet.

I would recommend this hotel if you are just staying the night. As for the price, we had a package so I don't know how much we paid, however around 200,000/250,000 max. seems like a reasonable price for this accommodation in my opinion.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carmen-Wout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I don't believe that people actually can give this hotel a better rating than "terrible". This place really is a nightmare. Lake Tempe itself is beautiful, go there, but find something elsse to stay at. We had a pool with dead cockroaches in it, a room with holes in the ceiling (at a ridiculous prices by the way), the worst breakfast I have seen in my life and a fat woman behind the reception who was lying in her chair wathing TV the whole day. Fawlty Towers Indonesian Style!

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

This place is adequate - we had two large rooms with low lighting - one with a large double bed and the other with twin beds. The rooms were clean and there was a good supply of hot water. There was Internet access by reception, and a small buffet which included nasi gareng - and you could order eggs as well - this wasn't advertised but when we asked they made us fresh eggs.
Hotels in Sulawesi are generally less developed then elsewhere - and that is one of the beauties of this country - that we could travel around without swarms of tourists. Lake Tempe was worth visiting - the floating houses are very interesting and there is a beautiful view at sunset. Pondok Eka was adequate for our needs for one night, and they gave a map which marked a restaurant to go to in town for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kthernehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very plain rooms, uninterested staff, construction works still ongoing, large but uninspiring rooms. Breakfast was ridiculous, set in a depressing room, with a choice between toast or nasi goreng, and lukewarm coffee to go with it. There was a great rainstorm at night when we stayed there and the result was that our hallway was flooded and water ran under the doors of our rooms; backpacks were soaked etc. We were travelling with friends and had a total of 4 rooms; staff was unable or unwilling to give us another room so we ended up abandoning 1 room because the smell was unbearable and redistributed our group over the remaining 3 rooms. In sum, the only reason to go here is a lack of alternatives (I have no view on the other accommodations in Sengkang but clearly there aren't many).

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask to see the room before you take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Deluxe room was clean & spacious although a previous guest had left a shirt in the wardrobe. The air conditioner dripped water onto the floor turning it into a skating rink. Bathroom was also spacious, however, the water appeared to be untreated. There was a small slightly murky pool in the centre of the hotel. Breakfast was simple nasi goreng and an egg. Due to limited places to eat our guide took us to a local restaurant where we were the only guests apart from takeaway customers.
Hotel was essentially the only option in order to visit the floating village on the lake with numerous birds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joel43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pondok Eka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Eka

Address: Sengkang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Sengkang
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sengkang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing