We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not say much about it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kutacane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pondok Wisata Ketambe Guest House
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can not say much about it”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I arrived at 1pm by bicycle and was walking on the path to what seems the reception when a western lady coming from one bungalow just say "you can not stay, you have to leave".
I was used to more polite words from local owners of guest house even if I am traveling by bicycle.
Then she said that the guest house is busy because there is a meeting that will finish at 3pm but that I can come back tomorrow!.
No "good afternoon, sorry, you can try..." , no smile. It is quite a shock when you compare with the way local people are in Aceh.
So I checked at the guest house next door (Pak Mus). There they had the same meeting (all the rangers from the region had 2 days meetings and used the 2 guest houses).
At Pak Mus, no problem I was able to eat a nasi goreng and to take a coffee with the rangers. Then get a room after 3pm when the rangers left.
Same problem, 2 different ways to deal with it....

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick_bicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    3
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ketambe, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We find Jhony on internet, trying to escape the touristic and now apparently unappropriated place of Bukkit Lawang (a zoo). What a chance we had. The guesthouse was fine, next to the jungle, good bed, good food, and cheap. Really a nice place to spend a night or two before trekking and a night after your trek.
And here, just ask for Jhony and his team. At the time we were in Ketambe (october 2013) he worked with Said, a really good man, cooker and porter. Maybe a futur guide?!
You will have with Johny the choice between several treks in terms of time and areas. As beginners we chose the easiest, but il you feel more adventurous, just tell Jhony, he will give you what you want.
As a Guide, Jhony tell us he was experienced... and he is. No problem. He knows very well the jungle, and he have respect for it. He told us : "you know, in the jungle, we are guests". It's just what you want to hear if you have some consideration about where you are going to spend three days... Hopefully we saw 3 orang-utans, although Jhony was clear since the beginning : "we never know, i d'on't feed them as you can see them"... Moreover, he speaks a very good english (better than us, french people!!), and we have fun with him and Said... Really.
Definitely the place to be and the guys to find to have a real respectfull jungle experience.
Good Luck!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guietlu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I spent 3 months travelling Thailand and Indonesia at the start of July, during which time i had many increadiable experiences, arguably none were more incrediable that my time spent with Jhony.

I choose to come to Ketambe because, like others have mentioned, i wanted to have a real adventure, see truly wild animals and if that meant the risk of not seeing any orangutans etc to me it was worth it. I spent 3 days and 2 nights in the jungle with Jhony, the going was tough as we were just two people, but this allowed us a greater degree of stealth and ultimately resulted in me having one of the most amazing experiences of my life with an orangutan. Words cannot describe the feeling of looking into the eyes of the "king of the jungle", a male orangutang not 5 metres away eye to eye. An experience that was all down to Jhony. As i crouched photographing the orangutang we watched as it turned its head to watch other groups stumble past with their less experienced guides, blind to our presence, and the presense of the orangutan sat opposite me.

Not only was the wildlife we saw amazing, but because Jhony speaks such impeccable English i learnt far more about the nature i was seeing and could communicate any problems or questions to him easily.

Furthermore, going with Jhony is better for ketambe itself. His plans for the future of Ketambe and his attitude to preserving and keeping the jungle clean are what marked him as different to other guides at the camps we shared.

Overall i couldn't recommend him enough.
Ketambe is the right place, Pondok Wisata is the right guest house and Jhony is certainly the right guide!
George

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank George-Haworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent an incredible 3 days / 2 nights with Jhony treking in the Gunung Leuser National Park. We chose Ketambe because we wanted the "real" jungle experience and we chose Jhony because of the reviews on TA. Both the jungle and Jhony far exceeded are expectations and gave us one of the most magical and unforgetable experiences of our lives. We saw 9 orangutans as well as several different types of monkeys and many different types of birds and insects - all in their natural, undisturbed environment. We camped by a river, ate great food under the stars, showered in a water fall and relaxed in our own, private, natural hot tub, all the time surrounded by the beautiful Sumatran jungle.

Jhony is a great fun guide who really looks after his guests and takes them to places that other guides don't know how to get there (or more importantly back!). He has a great knowledge and passion for the jungle and cares deeply about it and the animals that live there.

We would like to come back and this time spend a lot longer with Jhony and his team, trekking much deeper into the park.

If you want to go treking in the jungle - go with Jhony!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chinnoroxon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

In September, my boyfriend and I made a fantastic three day jungle trek with Jhony and his wonderful team. As we were looking for a real jungle experience instead of the more touristic semi wild orang oetang watching at Bukit Lawang, we decided to go to Ketambe. Still in the Netherlands, we contacted Jhony Jungle via e-mail to arrange our trek. We decided to go with Jhony as his reviews were very good at trip advisor and rightly so. Jhony is a very experienced guide with lots of knowledge of the jungle and with a great sense of humor. He also speaks very good English and replies quickly to his emails. When we arrived in Ketambe we stayed at the Pondok Wisata Guets House. This simple guesthouse has a very relax atmosphere, with basic but clean rooms. The staff is super friendly and the kitchen serves nice meals. From the terrace of the guesthouse, you overlook a nice garden where you can already spot some lovely whiteleaf monkeys. We started our first day early in the morning, where Jhony and our porter and cook Said (who made the most delicious and amazing meals with only one wok) guided us through the jungle to our first camp next to the river. It's really amazing how much he can spot by just listening very carefully to all the jungle noises, without him, we would not have spotted anything (except for lots of leeches:-). I was really eager to spot some orang outangs so when we didn't see any during our first walk in the morning, I was a little bit disappointed (but as Jhony already said at the beginning, in the real jungle, you cannot guarantee that you see them). However, already in the afternoon, during our second walk that day, we saw four orang outangs (including a mother with her baby) and the two days after, another five of them so we were very lucky and happy. Another highlight of the trip was the night that we spend at the hot springs. It's really a fairy tall setting when you wake up in the middle of the Sumatran jungle, next to the river filled with natural hot springs. So for anyone who's in for some (hardcore) trekking with great people in the beautiful surroundings of the jungle of Sumatra to spot lots of wildlife, go with Jhony and his fantastic team, Said, Abu, Hermann , we can assure you that it will be one of the highlight of your trip in Sumatra, at least it was for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A few months ago I accomplished one of my dreams, a jungle trek in the jungle. We chose Johny and we were not disappointed. It was a mix of magic feelings and emotions, he made our stay not only fun but full of adventure. I still remember the nights that we were planning what to do the next day, while drinking sumatran tea and joking about like. It was a 5 nights trek, that I will strongly recommend it for the people that love adventure, Johny will guide you through with his deep knowledge of the terrain and nature. On top of that, he will introduce you to the people of the regions and their customs.
THANK YOU Johny and Abu for the remarkable experience and memorable fun times we spent together. Looking forward to reunite soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adegem, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We went for a jungle trek with Jhony, which was just wonderfull, so many animals, perfect setting, and adventurous for the children and us.
Before and after the trek we stayed in Pondok Wisata, and you really are surrounded by this great environment. We can recommend this guesthouse
thanks to the friendly staff too!
Patrick, Christa, Stijn, Margo and Daan

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piekske72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pondok Wisata Ketambe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Wisata Ketambe Guest House

Property: Pondok Wisata Ketambe Guest House
Address: Km 32 Ketambe Jl. Blangkejeren | Villages of Balailutu, Kutacane, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > Aceh > Kutacane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kutacane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing