We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LaGoa Eco Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Zavora Lodge(Inhambane Province)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$140
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge(Inhambane Province)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zona Braza(Xai-Xai)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lakeview Resort(Chidenguele)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
13
2
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
2
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgethe ownersandy roadbring your ownplacedrivevehiclecampbeer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

If you travel through Mozambique, this place, 20 minutes from the main road gives you the possibility to feel, smell and touch and see what Mozambique is like. The resort is part of a bigger concept, which Niels the owner has started eight years ago. It is a must to stay a few days at this place, with a big lake in front of the lodge and the Indian Ocean at 20 minutes walking. A friendly staff and if you like you can self cather. The guest houses are all different, beautiful and clean. Everywhere are places you can chill-out on the grounds.There is a campingsite as well, of course with Braai place.

Room Tip: To my opinion, every choice is a great one. Even the dorm has beautiful beds on different levels
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My six year old son and I spend a week in this unspoiled bit of heaven in may 2011, and we loved every minute of the peace, beauty and traquility of the place.
If luxury is what gets you going, go somewhere else.
But if you appreciate a beautyfull blue lagoon with shallow water, sunsets out of this world, roustique, but clean and friendly housing and a committed owner; La Goa eco lodge is definitely worth a visit.
The lagoon is perfekt for long swims or easy canoe trips, and the surrounding bush is great for long hikes.
A lot of people say that you need a 4x4 to get there. But Nils (the owner) will be happy to pick you up in quissico.The fact of the matter tho' is, that my son and I were able to walk there on the first day - with backpacks and all.
And since Nils more or less goes back and forth to the village every day, you can hitch a ride with him to and from the market to buy your own food.
Cold beer and softdrinks are available at the lodge at very reasonable prices.
It truly is a great place to chill.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias_Schultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I would not recommend staying there if you have a choice. You definitley need a 4*4, don't listen to what the owners tell you. The owners weren't really friendly, it was very basic and you get much nicer places for this price. Moreover the water from the pipes is salty, so don't use it for your tea.
The lake is nice though, but the sea is very far away.
I doubt that leading water from the sinc back into the lake can be considered as eco, but I am also not an expert in these sort of things...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anni2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Eco lodge is really amazing, when we came there the fist night it was dark. You need a high clearance car because it is 7km on a sandy road. When we arrived we could not see how amazing it was, when we were settled in the room we took a beer from the bar and Niels, the owner, showed us the lagoon. It's amazing to just sit there with a cold drink, take a swim and relax.when sitting on the main table at the lodge you have the most amazing view over the lagoon!

It is a little paradise...!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank Jmoufid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

So glad we discovered LaGoa! It's a rustic eco lodge on a beautiful lagoon 7km away from Quissico, which is ordinarily the kind of town people would just drive past on their way to Tofo or Barra. The road to LaGoa is fairly sandy - you'd need a 4x4 or a robust 2x4 but you can arrange a pick up with the lodge and leave your car in town. This is the kind of place that suits a laidback traveller or backpacker - rooms are rustic but clean and comfortable, and there's a communal kitchen (bring your own food or buy food to cook with from the lodge - they have all you need from chickpeas and bread to mangoes and eggs). The lagoon is beautiful - turquoise still water that's warm enough to swim in for hours. The deserted beach, which is lovely but not great for swimming, is a 2km walk/drive away from the lodge. We loved everything about this place - its chilled vibe, the off-the-beaten track location on the lagoon and owner Niels' commitment to working with the community and building a sustainable tourism model in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews