We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place off the beaten track”
Review of LaGoa Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quissico
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
LaGoa Eco Lodge
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place off the beaten track”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed at LaGoa on my way from Tofu to Maputo. While Tofu is almost nothing else but hotels at LaGoa you can be out of the main tourist areas and get a glimps of the local village life. I was there during low low season and I was the only guest. The manager was really nice and gave me a big discount. Since there was no one else there were no drinks and no food avaible for sell. The stuff was really nice, they showed me around, we went to the beach together and we cooked and ate dinner together.
There are only a few solar lights at night and no hot shower. But the place is really beautiful!
If you come with public transport: make sure you get to Quissico in the early afternoon. There is no transport in the morning and a taxi will be expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiaAddis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We enjoyed the place tremendously. It is very well designed, with each architectural detail receiving a lot of attention, each piece of furniture designed and produced locally (unlike many "ecolodges" where you can feel everything comes from thousands of miles away). The lagoon was only a few seconds away. Victor's Matapa and chicken were delicious, and we also spent some time at the beach where we were alone with fishermen kids. The only thing one needs to keep in mind is that you'll be far from any shop, but they generally can drive you to the city and back, if you need to shop for food. No hot water. Having a compost bin in the kitchen would also make the place more ecological...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludwig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

If you travel through Mozambique, this place, 20 minutes from the main road gives you the possibility to feel, smell and touch and see what Mozambique is like. The resort is part of a bigger concept, which Niels the owner has started eight years ago. It is a must to stay a few days at this place, with a big lake in front of the lodge and the Indian Ocean at 20 minutes walking. A friendly staff and if you like you can self cather. The guest houses are all different, beautiful and clean. Everywhere are places you can chill-out on the grounds.There is a campingsite as well, of course with Braai place.

Room Tip: To my opinion, every choice is a great one. Even the dorm has beautiful beds on different levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My six year old son and I spend a week in this unspoiled bit of heaven in may 2011, and we loved every minute of the peace, beauty and traquility of the place.
If luxury is what gets you going, go somewhere else.
But if you appreciate a beautyfull blue lagoon with shallow water, sunsets out of this world, roustique, but clean and friendly housing and a committed owner; La Goa eco lodge is definitely worth a visit.
The lagoon is perfekt for long swims or easy canoe trips, and the surrounding bush is great for long hikes.
A lot of people say that you need a 4x4 to get there. But Nils (the owner) will be happy to pick you up in quissico.The fact of the matter tho' is, that my son and I were able to walk there on the first day - with backpacks and all.
And since Nils more or less goes back and forth to the village every day, you can hitch a ride with him to and from the market to buy your own food.
Cold beer and softdrinks are available at the lodge at very reasonable prices.
It truly is a great place to chill.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobias_Schultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I would not recommend staying there if you have a choice. You definitley need a 4*4, don't listen to what the owners tell you. The owners weren't really friendly, it was very basic and you get much nicer places for this price. Moreover the water from the pipes is salty, so don't use it for your tea.
The lake is nice though, but the sea is very far away.
I doubt that leading water from the sinc back into the lake can be considered as eco, but I am also not an expert in these sort of things...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anni2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Eco lodge is really amazing, when we came there the fist night it was dark. You need a high clearance car because it is 7km on a sandy road. When we arrived we could not see how amazing it was, when we were settled in the room we took a beer from the bar and Niels, the owner, showed us the lagoon. It's amazing to just sit there with a cold drink, take a swim and relax.when sitting on the main table at the lodge you have the most amazing view over the lagoon!

It is a little paradise...!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmoufid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

So glad we discovered LaGoa! It's a rustic eco lodge on a beautiful lagoon 7km away from Quissico, which is ordinarily the kind of town people would just drive past on their way to Tofo or Barra. The road to LaGoa is fairly sandy - you'd need a 4x4 or a robust 2x4 but you can arrange a pick up with the lodge and leave your car in town. This is the kind of place that suits a laidback traveller or backpacker - rooms are rustic but clean and comfortable, and there's a communal kitchen (bring your own food or buy food to cook with from the lodge - they have all you need from chickpeas and bread to mangoes and eggs). The lagoon is beautiful - turquoise still water that's warm enough to swim in for hours. The deserted beach, which is lovely but not great for swimming, is a 2km walk/drive away from the lodge. We loved everything about this place - its chilled vibe, the off-the-beaten track location on the lagoon and owner Niels' commitment to working with the community and building a sustainable tourism model in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to LaGoa Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaGoa Eco Lodge

Property: LaGoa Eco Lodge
Address: Macomane Road, Quissico 100, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Quissico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Quissico
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorms, dble rondavels and a chalet sleeping up to four, all en-suite. Chalet has own kitchenette and garden. Self catering, a variety of communal areas including brai and bar. Breakfast and evening meals available upon request and with notice. Activities include canoeing, volleyball, nature walks, picnics and swimming. Getting there: Quissico is on the EN1 highway, 350kms north of Maputo and 150kms south of Tofo. Regular shuttle buses run in either direction, pick up from town upon prior arrangement. LaGoa Lodge is 7kms from town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing