We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,308)
Filter reviews
2,308 results
Traveller rating
680
671
431
215
311
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
680
671
431
215
311
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger king mash and barrel horse riding papa johns chinese restaurant tower lawn aerial adventure evening entertainment chip shop crazy golf activity passes great holiday birds of prey prestige caravan soft play family holiday climbing wall
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 2,308 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We have just returned from haggerstone castle. On first impression. It looks lovely. The Que for check in was large but as we booked a private caravan we had keys. On first impression the caravan was on a nice location it was clean. But we didn't sleep as the bed was terribly uncomfortable. Even though we were told it was a news mattress. Also the setters were worn and looked dirty. We were booked for 4 nights but only stayed one as we were so tired from the bad night we didn't want another one. Also we were shocked at the price of passes. We only wanted a meal and we were told to pay 42£ ☆before paying for a meal and drinks. So we had to go out again after a long journey and find somewhere to eat we won't go again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sandraheysham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest

I am sorry you felt the passes were expensive , did you book direct with Haven? or was this a private booking? usually when you book direct our passes are included?

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

In a nutshell the food court service is slow and of poor quality (mash & barrel specifically.
The paid activities staff require further training on how to interact with children ( the exception being leon on the climbing wall).
Staff manning the boating pond karts etc need to work on their customer service skills rather than their own personal interactions.
However the final nail in the tin coffin was the swimming pool. Dirty changing rooms, manky changing area floor, dirt on the floor of the pool plasters floating by and the straw that broke the camels back was the hairball floating past my husband in the pool. It was like someone had emptied their hairbrush into the pool!! we hadn't even been in ten minutes and i took my two kids back out again!! staff uninterested when told about the extreme lack of hygiene in the pool!! would have rather swam in the pond!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missnova83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest,

I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our park.

I have forwarded this onto our Sports & Leisure Manager Louise for her review.

WE do deep clean the pool three times a day and lunch time we clean down between 12.30pm and 2.00pm.

We do have a lot of guests coming in and out of the pool area, however I am sorry you felt the cleanliness wasn't up to standard.

Your feedback will help us to improve

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We booked three nights starting from Fri 8th to Monday 11th with our kids. We paid £360 for three nights in a prestige caravan and what a waste of money! Caravan was filthy and had no little supplies at all, for the price we expected there would be at least washing up liquid sponges salt and pepper etc but nothing so had to have a trip to the over priced shop on site for those. Also on arrival the fridge was off so the food we brought for the fridge had to be thrown out as a fridge has to be on 24 hours before using so another trip for more food which was very annoying! The entertainment was shocking and over priced drinks. Security were so rude and couldn't paint a smile on some of there faces. The site is quite honestly rank. Also avoid chinese buffet! Berwick has a far better atmosphere and a lot cleaner. sickened by the money we wasted here. Will not be back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Beth,

I am so sorry you had an unpleasant experience here at Haggerston Castle.

can I ask did you report the filthy caravan to the team? we would of reacted straight away to such complaint and put it right, sometimes the team do miss the odd thing and please be assured continuous training is given.

As it is a self catering holiday home we don't supply salt and pepper or washing up liquid, these items would need to brought with you and does state the inventory on our website.

I am sorry you felt the entertainment was shocking, we do receive great feedback about the entertainment team but I will forward this onto them to view, everyone has different tastes and not everything works for every guest that visits.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We spent a lovely 4 days here in a prestige caravan. We were very impressed with the finish and comfort of the caravan, and has a great location with a lake view.

The kids loved the kids disco and show every night, although we did find it quite repetitive. Could have done without the family bingo though as the kids got bored.

Food wise, Papa John's was excellent, and it's great they deliver. However we did not enjoy our visit to the Mash & Barrel. Service was slow, despite it being quiet, so the kids missed the start of the disco that night. The lasagne was tiny and burnt, but the worst thing was the small children's portion of spagetti bolognaise, which I've attached a photo of, it contained about 1 spoonful of bolognaise on a load of pasta - really disappointed that there was so little sauce.

Also, it would be helpful to have done information included in the caravan with menus for the restaurants on site.

Overall a great holiday and we will return!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback and apologies that your dining experience wasn't great.

This feedback has been shared with the complex team for their review.

We do hope you visit us again and please be assured that more training will be given to the team.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Just back from a perfect weekend break except for Sunday at the mash and barrel after being told carvery started at 1200 on Sunday but on sun told it was 1300 I was about 15 in queue to be served plates where cold to put food on it took till 1325 to get meat put on plate as queue was still waiting on gravy to be brought out by this time food was going cold waiting in queue for gravy to come out and it was like water no taste the people in front returned there food and got refunded if I had known this mine would have been returned as well as roast potatoes warm veg tasted as if all frozen then heated up . everything else on site excellent but would recommend nobody used there carvery till they get staff who can do there job properly make sure plates warm ,food hot and they get to know how to make gravy and make sure it's out not ,5 mins after first customer has been served.this is the only thing that ruined my weekend and wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone on site to use on a Sunday lunchtime

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank briantB1261VM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Brian,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I am so sorry that your Sunday dining experience wasn't as nice as we'd of hoped.

I have forwarded your feedback to our complex team for their review and I am really sorry this wasn't up to standard.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews