We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Queens Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A group of us just spent three nights here and enjoyed every minute of our visit. The location is fantastic - lots of public footpaths and trails in the area. The service was excellent and the food really good - smoked ice cream!!!!!!!!!! Who knew!!!!!!!! Our room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom very nice. The folks working there are really great people!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisbe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    81
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
190
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Fantastic imaginative posh pub food. Our room was lovely and had thoughtful comforting extras not found usually. I had to turn the drench power shower down, as was so powerful. Can't fault it and will certainly be going back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Though we live only 15 miles away, never tried the Queen's Arms so decided to give a try since
T A rate it highly.
Wednesday evening was not busy, attentive friendly staff, interesting menu - all good so far.
Neither of us are 'big' eaters so shared a tapas dish to start, sweetcorn fritters, lovely & just right.
I chose Lamb, very good (a bigger eater would be disappointed) and perfectly cooked, good flavours. Partner not feeling 'robust' decided an easy Cannelloni. Never seen pasta served on slab of slate - come on!! What arrived was a disppointment. Rolled up cannelloni no sauce -
glass of Tomato Jus (smoked -? why) Candided beet - no Basil fritter, more sweetcorn fritter!
Is this the kitchen being lazy? Oh plus lettuce!!! Can't think how that fit's in.
Falling short of menu expectations is pretty sad. All this + coffee + 2 glasses wine £55 - not
a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beechcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here just for a weekend and we wished we could have stayed for longer. The rooms are very nice, clean and cozy, with a small couch and a decent size bathroom. The food and beverages at the pub are excellent, especially their selection of ciders. The staff is very cordial and helpful. The area is green and quiet, we slept really well and could not hear any noise at all. It's a nice starting point to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octopus713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayette ME
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A wonderful inn in a lovely ancient village. Splendid food. Unfailingly friendly and helpful staff. Good hikes in the area. Wonderful old churches in quaint villages. Unqualifiedly, a keeper. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: We were very comfortable in room #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrotgloFayetteME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night following our wedding and were made extreemly welcome by all the staff. The room was imaculate and beautifully presented. The bed was so comfy with luxurious bedding, lovely selection of teas and REAL coffee. Nothing was too ostentatious but was of such a high quality that we felt special and waking up to the sound of the lambs in the neighbouring fields was magical. The breakfast was huge and a fantastic quality. Thanks to everyone there you made it a pleasure and we can't wait to come again. This is a real pub where you feel like you are staying in a boutique hotel. The bar is fun and lively and the food superb.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A lovely spot with great staff and really good food. Our room was bright and large, although the shower room was slightly pokey. The bed, pillows and bedding were really lovely.
We ate in the bar and the food was of a very high quality and well served. The breakfast was delicious, with a really wide choice of 'mains'. The buffet table was fairly limited, but that wasn't a problem with the quality which was there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corton Denham
2.8 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
10.5 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Charlton Horethorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.5 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Arms

Property: The Queens Arms
Address: | On The Somerset/Dorset Border, Corton Denham DT9 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Corton Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corton Denham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Queens Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2013, Best National Freehouse of the year 2012, Somerset Cider Pub of the year 2012, Taste of Somerset Best Pub 2013, 2 AA Rosettes and AA 5 Star Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Arms Hotel Somerset
The Queens Arms Corton Denham, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing