We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guest House, great location”
Review of Tirah Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tirah Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Aldringham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Guest House, great location”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I satyed here with our son during Half Term week, 6th and 7th June 2012. The guest house is in a great location, looking out onto fields, where if you are lucky you may see some dears and rabbits. We all had a wonderful time. The room was very spacious, impeccably clean and very well decorated. The hosts, Karen and Steve, were very welcoming and friendly and made a fuss of our seven year old. Ideally situated for a short drive into Aldeburgh and then a drive up the coast to Dunwich and Southwold. We will definitely be booking on our next visit to Suffolk and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this guest house to anybody else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
97
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Everything is almost completely new, the guest house having been renovated over the last year or so. Our room was light, bright and very comfortable, to be honest, better than most hotels I've stayed in.

Plenty of parking is available so no problems there.

There is also a kitchen/lounge where you can enjoy a glass of wine with the owners, Karen and Steve; who are not only very friendly and attentive, but also very knowledgeable about the local area.

Tirah is a very child friendly B&B and we were offered toys and books for our daughter to play with, should we not have any with us.

Breakfast is cooked to order and exactly as you would like it, and plenty of it too.

The only thing to bear in mind is that Tirah is not really within walking distance of the nearest pub (The Parrot and Punch bowl at Aldringham), however there are local taxi's available if you want to travel into Leiston/thorpeness/Aldeburgh. Because of where Tirah is situated it is very quiet and peaceful, and if you are lucky there may even be deer in the field at the back of the house.

Tirah is not the cheapest B&B in the area, but certainly it would be difficult to beat it in terms of quality. We'll definately stay there next time we are in the area visiting family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is by far and away the best Guest House I have ever stayed in. The accomodation has only recently been completed and the decor and finishing is superb - The standard of the whole house was more like a top class hotel. Steve and Karen could not do enough to provide everything I needed. I would recommend this Guest House to anybody and would definately stay agaiin

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

From booking on the phone to arrival, Karen and Steve were very friendly and welcoming. They've done a great job on the decor and layout and the rooms and facilities are better than most hotels. The only sound you hear from the room is the birdsong in the garden. Breakfast was top quality and nothing is too much trouble. Good location for Aldeburgh, Snape, Thorpness, etc. We're keen to visit again!

Room Tip: Room four is particularly nice overlooking the garden and fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomPerrySawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Tirah Guest House, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
so pleased our guets enjoyed their stay,it is particularly pleasing to rceive such a wonderfull review from individuals who are also directly connected with tourism and presentation of premises to the general public.
you have our best wishes for the continued success with youre own project
thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Tirah Guest House was an excellent choice for a B&B. Helpful and friendly staff, nice room and in overall a lovely place to stay in!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkk477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Steve and Karen are extremely welcoming. Cannot fault accomodation or breakfast.
The dawn chorus was fantastic.
Aldeburgh just six minutes drive away and Ideally situated for Minsmere.
We will definately be going to stay with them again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraineWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Tirah Guest House is one of the best we have visited. The owners were incredibly welcoming, rooms were lovely and great location for the suffolk coast; we couldn't fault it. We know where we will be staying on our next visit to Suffolk!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldringham
2.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
654 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,002 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
775 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Toll House
Toll House
#4 of 17 in Aldeburgh
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirah Guest House

Property: Tirah Guest House
Address: Tirah Aldeburgh Road | Aldeburgh, Aldringham, Aldeburgh IP16 4QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh > Aldringham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aldringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tirah Guest House is a stunning 4* New England style property within 400 yds of the North Warren Bird Reserve on the Aldringham / Aldeburgh border. Ideally located for Aldeburgh, Thorpeness, RSPB Minsmere and the Aldeburgh Festivals and Snape Maltings. All our 6 rooms are en-suite and well equipped. A warm and friendly stay is assured.Tirah Guest House is wheelchair friendly with 5 rooms on the ground floor and level thresholds from the car parking areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tirah Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirah Guest House Aldringham, Aldeburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing