We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tirah Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satis House Hotel(Yoxford)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Framlingham)
US$147
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan(Southwold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Crown(Southwold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blyth Hotel(Southwold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
186
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgreat hostsspotless roomsnothing is too much troublenearest pubsmall touchesplenty of car parkingfresh milkfull english breakfastthought of everythingwhole atmospherelovely breakfasteasy accesssuffolk coastheard nothinghigh standardfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My partner and I were looking for a quiet New Years Eve with a morning walk on the beach. We booked a room at Tirah in the morning and arrived that evening to a welcome reception from Karen and Steve. The room was warm inviting and spotless. After a very comfortable night's sleep we were treated to an hearty and delicious breakfast before heading off to nearby Aldebrugh for a walk on the beach. I find it surprising that we managed to get rooms in such a lovely Guest house. I'm surer it's because they have not been open long. I can only assume that as word spreads this little gem will soon be busy. We will be back and may bring family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TirahGuestHouse, Owner at Tirah Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review.
We so much enjoyed your company, and hearing of your plans for the forthcoming year.You have our best wishes for whichever project you undertake, we know you will be successful
Hoping 2013 allows you to achieve all you deserve
Kindest regards and best wishes
Karen & steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

A group of us (couples) stayed here in all the rooms for one night as we were visiting for a friends birthday.
The rooms were all bright, clean and nicely decorated. There was plenty of parking and we were given a warm welcome. When we returned from the birthday party around 11:30pm, we thought we would have a nightcap (which we had bought with us). There was a large kitchen/breakfast room which we were shown earlier so we sat in there at the kitchen table, quietly chatting and enjoying our nightcap. The next minute Steve(the landlord) came storming in very irrate and told us to leave, he was fairly aggressive in his attitude which was unnecessary and made it clear we shouldn't be in the kitchen. We felt like naughty children being chastised and sent to our rooms. We were a group of 40+aged adults, not doing any harm or making any noise just catching up and enjoying a nightcap. This put a bit of a dampener on the evening.
Breakfast next morning was good (although only served until 9am) so no lie in!
It's a shame about them being so inflexible! This incident would make me think twice about staying here again as Steve's attitude was uncalled for and totally unnecessary.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Watson-Watsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TirahGuestHouse, Owner at Tirah Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you so much for rating Tirah Guest House as very good with Tripadvisor.
With regard to the use of our kitchen /diner for a social gathering shortly before midnight
You never even asked
The answer would have been no
We were,and still are,most upset

Regards stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I travel up and down the country and i have never been made to feel so welcome i would recommend this guest house time and again , breakfast is 5 star , rooms are very clean and the bed is so so comfortable. I spent 8 days here and im very much looking forward to a return trip !! to round up this guest house its by far one of the best around and certainly the best i have stayed at . thanks very much Josh Nash

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TirahGuestHouse, Owner at Tirah Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

What a wonderful review,thank you so much.Having visited this area on so many occasions,and stayed at lots of the other hotels and guest houses,we are so appreciative of the feedback you have given us.We are delighted that TIRAH provided you with all you were looking for,and we look forward to seeing you again next week.
kind regards karen and steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed at the Tirah Guest House for two nights (Friday and Saturday) in September. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Very friendly. Would definitely return. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

i stayed at tirah house for 10 days , whilst working away i have been to hundreds of b&bs and hotels ! and have never felt so welcome during my stay highly recomended .. very nice owners only problem i had was the bed was to comphy ha !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews