We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again”
Review of Tirah Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tirah Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Aldringham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited the Tirah Guest House and it gets better and better! Its in the perfect location for our annual holiday in Suffolk, a stones throw from the wonderful sea-side town of Aldeburgh and a short hop from the lovely Southwold.
Karen and Steve are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and their attention to detail is second to none. The accommodation is suburb and I can honestly say it is the best nights sleep I have had for a very long time, a very comfortable bed indeed.
We have tried other B&B's in the surrounding area but nothing comes close to Tirah.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tomj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
99
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have now stayed here for the past 3 months, with nothing too much trouble, fantastic breakfast, early to suit our working needs. The accommodation is very clean and the hosts very accommodating! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanMarkNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We visit the suffolk coast fairly regularly to see family and we now always choose Tirah. Steve & Karen always make us feel at home and we love the peaceful location & setting, while only being a couple of minutes from Aldeburgh & Thorpeness. The views to the back of the property are stunning.

We have stayed several times over the past 2 years & can't fault it, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hi

Only compliments for his highly proficient and well established accommodation. Its super accommodation and spotlessly clean. Karen and Steve are tremendous hosts and first class breakfast. I cannot wait to return very soon for a long stint in your FAB-U-LOUS accommodation.

Room Tip: Every room is Fab-U-Lous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed at Tirah in November 2013 with my wife and mother in law. Karen & Steve are lovely people and offer a really warm welcome. The accommodation is very well kept and the breakfast is to die for. I have been meaning to write a review for a while now and really wanted to say a big thank you to you both for making our stay memorable also a big thanks to Steve for sorting out our round of golf at Thorpness.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

It's a new-build house with vinyl clapboard cladding. Our room was comfortable enough though a little cramped and the rooms generally weren't well enough soundproofed. Lighting in the parking area at night would help especially as it was partly a building site. Breakfast was excellent however. Not too expensive for this part of the world, and we were there at a peak time (the Britten centenary weekend).

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headcorn Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This lovely place combines the best of the friendliness and personal touch of a B and B with the added luxury of a really good hotel. Karen and Steve were welcoming, friendly and efficient. The rooms are spotless and the beds huge and comfortable. The shower is amazing, with lovely towels and shampoo. We only stayed a night but I would really have liked to move in and stay forever. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and ready on the dot. This is a faultless B and B and we will certainly return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Moominskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TirahGuestHouse, Owner at Tirah Guest House, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
You can not imagine just how much this review means to us. F_A_N_T_A_S_T_I_C.
Thank you so much. Kind regards and best wishes. Karen & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldringham
2.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,015 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
661 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
6.3 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirah Guest House

Property: Tirah Guest House
Address: Tirah Aldeburgh Road | Aldeburgh, Aldringham, Aldeburgh IP16 4QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh > Aldringham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aldringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tirah Guest House is a stunning 4* New England style property within 400 yds of the North Warren Bird Reserve on the Aldringham / Aldeburgh border. Ideally located for Aldeburgh, Thorpeness, RSPB Minsmere and the Aldeburgh Festivals and Snape Maltings. All our 6 rooms are en-suite and well equipped. A warm and friendly stay is assured.Tirah Guest House is wheelchair friendly with 5 rooms on the ground floor and level thresholds from the car parking areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tirah Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirah Guest House Aldringham, Aldeburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing