We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was my local!”

The Parrot and Punchbowl
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aldringham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
East Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish it was my local!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staying at a B&B just 5-10 mins up the road (Swiss Cottage -separate review written) this seemed like an obvious place for dinner on out 1st night. We were so impressed we went back the following night too. Lovely wholesome, tasty pub grub which suited us down to the ground. I gather the menu remains the same, but I think that leads to good quality food. I could have gone a 3rd night. Between us we had crayfish salad, liver and bacon with mash (Yum! - haven't had that for YEARS!), pork medallions, fish pie and lasagne, sticky toffee pudding and trifle. All cooked well, generous portions and lovely side vegetables. My husband enjoyed the Aspall's local cider.
The evenings were enhanced with the great service of Trudy an Natalie (Mum and daughter). So welcoming. A lovely feel of it being several people's local with chattering and laughter. Dogs allowed, but I feel the policy of not allowing them in the dining area is appropriate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank boxofchocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    45
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meal for two”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Superb pub food. I had a steak and kidney pudding. My girlfriend had some pork. She really enjoyed it and so did I. Would go again.

Helpful?
Thank TheNipper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Fabulous menu, too difficult to choose, fortunately my husband had the lamb shank which I traded some of my steak & kidney pudding for - both amazing and the vegetables were perfectly cooked. Super range of puddings, great atmosphere and very friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was good wholesome home cooking - nothing fancy, but all very good. The toilet facilities would benefit from a makeover.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a lovely little pub.
The staff were really friendly and the food was excellent in quantity and quality.
Try the crayfish salad yummy.
My husband had pork medallions and they were lovely.
A perfect anniversary meal, thank you to the staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bevmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parrot and Punchbowl also viewed

 

Been to The Parrot and Punchbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing