We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very long wait!”

The Parrot and Punchbowl
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aldringham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very long wait!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The sign said 12-2pm Sunday lunch. We arrived at 1.40, ordered at 1.52, food served at 2.40. An outrageously long wait with no apologies given.
When it arrived the food was fine - looked good and tasted OK. Very reasonably priced, too, but such an excessively long wait that we didn't stay for pudding in case it took another hour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    45
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, in a delightful old pub.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Varied choice of menu, would like to see a few more veggie options.
Freshly cooked food and well kept beer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but book for Sunday lunch.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Would advise booking for Sunday lunch. We arrived at 1.30pm looking forward to a roast beef

dinner - none left !!!!

We settled for cod and chips and liver and bacon - lovely ! Well cooked and fresh .

The trifle, ice cream and cheesecake - highly recommended.

The staff were very friendly.

Dog friendly in bar and gardens.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordyk626Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have driven past this pub on countless occasions and never been in even for a drink. Drove past again on Sunday, turned around went back and had Sunday lunch. Topside of beef and all the trimmings - excellent. We'll be back again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Suffolk”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were recommended this pub for dinner, we were greeted with such friendly and efficient service. We were a party of five, the food was faultless, beautifully cooked and with very generous portions. We enjoyed our evening so much we booked for the following.evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guytonpe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parrot and Punchbowl also viewed

 

Been to The Parrot and Punchbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing