We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morrilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Petit Jean Campground
Benton, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have been coming here since I was a child and have a real affection for the park and lodging. With the renovation and new construction, it couldn't be better. All of the historic CCC buildings have been spruced up but completely preserved and continue to be a great example of the extraordinary good that can be accomplished by government programs. The new reception area and restaurant are absolutely spectacular and complement the old architecture so beautifully that one would never suspect they have been here for 80 years. The views from the dining room are jaw dropingly gorgeous and the new kitchen and menus are worthy of them. The beef comes from WinRock Farms (established by Gov Winthrop Rockefeller) and is all grass fed. There is a good variety of offerings for all three meals and over an excellent value. The lodge rooms are comfortable and cozy and there is free WiFi throughout the lodge and reception areas. Since we were here for a family reunion, one sibling stayed in a cabin that offered plenty of room for everyone to gather and spread out. The cabins have wood burning fireplaces with a bundle of wood delivered daily and full kitchen with everything one needs. All of the staff is incredibly welcoming and very nowledgeable about the park and it's history. There are also wonderful mini exhibits that show the history of the construction and point out the significance of various details. Am so happy to be back and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: If staying in the lodge, the even numbered rooms offer a better view. All of the cabins are well sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed one night at Mathers Lodge in Room 116. Very affordable. The room was very nice and had a very comforable queen bed. Nice wall mounted flat screen tv, although limited on the channels, we didn't come to watch tv anyway HA. The views are spectacular! The lodge restaurant has good food, although the fried shrimp are pretty tasteless, the fried pork chops were very good. Lots of hiking trails. Everyone we met was very friendly, the staff was superb. Highly recommend this place, but you have to reserve way in advace, as it fill quickly, especially weekends. We had to book now to get a weekend cabin in September!

Room Tip: We had a corner room, #116, which has a shower/tub combo, most rooms have just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MizMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We attended the Petit Jean fly-in but did not camp, instead we stayed at the Rockefeller Convention Center. Also, the Mather Lodge was beautiful and the food was very good. There are incredible views and hiking trails in this area and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't believe you can stay at the convention center unless you are at a convention. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rv8erdonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Overall, Petit Jean State Park is a fantastic place to visit. The hiking was spectacular and the trails well maintained. They also had a wide range of trail types/difficulties. We also took advantage of the free park interpreter lead activities and enjoyed learning about the rock formations and Bear Cave. The food and service at Mather Lodge was good. The area also has a wide range of accommodations from hotel rooms at the lodge, cabins, RV spaces, and tent camping. My friends and I ended up tent camping and the bath houses were very clean and well attended to. However, the only thing I would not recommend is the rent a teepee. We had originally planned on renting a tee pee for 5 people, which we were stoked about because they were located next to the lake and came with a canoe. Seriously, how cool is it to say “We are staying in a tee pee?” Online, the site says the teepee sleeps up to six. There was NO way the five of us plus our food was going to fit in that tee pee. Also, the teepees were coated with mold and the door flap did not properly close, thus making it impossible to keep mosquitoes and other bugs out. So, we got a refund for the tee pee and bought a tent at Wal-Mart to camp in. We checked out the rent a camps as well and they seemed perfectly livable. They actually had zippers and working flaps to keep you free of malaria. We would have rented one of those but they were completely booked. Please keep in mind, we are usually tent campers, which means we are perfectly fine with sleeping on the ground and walking a quarter mile to go the bathroom in the middle of the night, and we were completely appalled with the tee pee conditions. I recommend that Petit Jean either update their tee pees or convert them to rent a camps; as it’s a great deal to get a tent and a canoe for $50 a night. Again, taken as a whole, our experience was pleasant and Petit Jean is a great place for outdoor enthusiast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmandaRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We camped in a pull trailer in campground section A. It has water, electric and sewer hook-ups. The campsites are large and well maintained. The bathrooms were very clean We had a great view if the lake. We will camp here again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Celeneab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is a great place for people who enjoy hiking. Bring good hiking boots, good snacks for the day and a camera. Can't wait to come back again! We stayed in campground B. not bad and a bit more trees than area A. I would suggest b or c for tents. Have already booked for next time!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Petit Jean State Park is a very nice resort park. The park features 125 individual campsites (including 26 pull-through sites) offering water and electrical hook-ups. Thirty-five of the sites have 50 amp electric and sewer. There are four campground areas with modern bathhouses in each one. Very nice and very clean. Area A would be considered the premium area. The sites are well spaced on the lake most are pull through with sewer. We stayed in area A and would prefer that area again. There are rent-a-tents AKA teepees that are very cool. Very nice tennis courts surrounded by beautiful tall pines. We played on the couts it was a wonderful experience! Across from the courts is a swimming pool with soda straws. We did not try out the pool eventhough it looked very inviting in early March. It was to cold to swim. The main attraction is of course the falls. In order to get to the falls you will need to hike down. It is a difficult at times hike especially coming back up. I play tennis quite often and I was very winded. There are signs warning of such. If you chose to make your way to the falls take water. There is no concession. The falls are near the lodge which has a resturant. Cabins are avaulable too. I would not take your dog on this hike. We noticed several others did and their pets had been injured from the rocks. I could go on and on about the park. we camped there in a travel trailer. We will go back. I did not give it a full star rating beacuse you cannot swim or enter the lake or the water at the falls. I love the water so that would be disappointing if the weather permitted.

Helpful?
10 Thank 42heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morrilton hotels
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morrilton
12.1 mi away
Super 8 Morrilton
Super 8 Morrilton
#1 of 4 in Morrilton
134 reviews
10.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 4 in Morrilton
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Morrilton
Days Inn Morrilton
#2 of 4 in Morrilton
103 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Petit Jean Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Jean Campground

Property: Petit Jean Campground
Address: 1285 Petit Jean Mountain Rd, Morrilton, AR 72110-9361
Region: United States > Arkansas > Morrilton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Morrilton
Number of rooms: 189

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing