We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Lincoln Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincoln Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I have stayed here a few times now and everything is fantastic. Being a new establishment, it's very clean, modern and has great amenities. The owner operators make you incredibly welcome - a free beer or wine on arrival never goes amiss! I had one issue with a television not working - just a technical fault and fixed immediately.

Being off the main road, it's very quiet and everything in Lincoln is within easy walking distance (although at the moment Lincoln isn't a huge place!).

I could not speak more highly of the Lincoln Motel and recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Any motel which you check into after a day's work and they ask whether you'd like a beer or a wine has to be a good one! Generosity aside, this was an excellent place to stay. A very high standard of accommodation and a warm and thoroughly professional welcome. I had one of the bigger ground floor units, which was spacious and contained everything and more that I needed. Will definitely be requesting that I'm booked in here again when next visiting Lincoln.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The owner told us that this motel opened in April 2012, and based on our room, they're stylish, modern and spacious, very comfortable, with good quality fittings; they're like a brand-new apartment. We also found that it was delightfully quiet, even though they had a full house while we were there. We could close the door of our bedroom, which gave an extra barrier to any noise, not that we heard a thing. There was a free paper delivered each day, and there's free wifi which worked great; at check in you receive your password. Just around the corner are cafes and the local shops, and the pub. You could order breakfast the night before (which they bring in from a nearby cafe), not that we ended up doing this. The owner told us in passing that they also run another motel (somewhere else in the South Island) and it seems they know what they're doing. When we arrived, new plants were being planted and the exterior of the reception was being painted; it has a nice clean fresh feel to it. It was a great base for us for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandAJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Arrived to one of the friendiest greeting greeting from Craig and Wife and that set the tone for the duration of staying. Brand new motel but that dosnt take away from the fact they are clean and tidy. Nice and quiet away from the traffic and very spacious units. Stayed in 2 bedroom unit with nice rooms and excellent kitchen,Like nother reviewer though i found water pressure in shower not that good. But that is being picky from what is a very lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I have stayed in numerous hotels/motels in christchurch, some i could not even bother to review, but this one is brand new, spacious, craig and wife are excellent hosts, the amenities are good, heat pump, full kitchen with dishwasher. The only complaint is the water pressure which is poor

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a studio unit for 2 nights and found it very comfortable, so we booked a 3rd night. The bed was maybe the best hotel bed I have had. The chairs also very comfortable. Well appointed kitchen and bathroom. The place was fully booked (and we were there Friday and Saturday nights), and the place was so quiet. Friendly hosts.

It is a brand new complex with two rows of units facing each other with the access and car parks in the middle. The rows are each two-storied. Not the kind of layout I normally go for, but I did like this place.

We were on a tour of the South Island and needed to be in Christchurch on a particular day. Couldn't find vacancies anywhere nearer - also tried Rangiora, with which we were more familiar. So we went to unfamiliar Lincoln. Found it a very pleasant town to base ourselves for a few days.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTawaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Due to earthquake work being done on our house we had to move out for a night. Lincoln motel was available and it turned out to be a good choice. Yes its new so its still very nice BUT the units are well laid out with everything a family needs. The kitchen area is practical and has everything you need. The sitting are is comfortable with enough room for four adults. The two bed rooms where spacious. My own little grizzle was the bed where a bit firm for an old girl like me but I expect its because the beds are new. But I definitely would use the motels again and would recommend them to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4kiwitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lincoln Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Motel

Address: 4 - 6 Maurice Street, Lincoln 7608, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £69 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lincoln Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new, April 2011, Lincoln's First Motel. 21 Luxury studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom unit. Including 2 access and 2 spa bath units. Kitchens and heatpumps in all units, wifi available. Centrally located, walking distance to cafes, pub, restaurants, university and research centres. 15 minutes drive from Christchurch ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lincoln Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing