We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs soundproofing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Famous Grouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Needs soundproofing!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here for three nights. At first, being a pub, I was concerned about noise from the bar. No problems at all for the first two nights. But on saturday night, there was a live band playing well into the wee hours and the soundproofing was totally useless. I would not recommend staying here until this is rectified. Also, being a cold climate, I expected something other than a foot heater to warm the entire room. Not worth the very expensive price ($130 pn for rural NZ).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExperiencedOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
15
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We came back to this hotel having stayed here the previous year due to a friend's wedding at a nearby location. We loved staying in Lincoln - just offers something a bit different than central Christchurch, and were impressed with the hotel itself. This time around, we weren't disappointed. The hotel has recently been completely redone due to the earthquakes, and the decor is very modern. If considering this as accommodation you need to bear in mind that the rooms are above the pub, and if you are staying on a Saturday night, it's inevitable you will hear the band below, if they have one. But all those we stayed with agreed the sound proofing in the rooms is great, and it was only occasionally we heard the music - which we didn't mind anyway. Staff have always been very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are compact, but spacious for pub accommodation. Great that there is a back entrance you can go in and out of 24 hours, and retreat to if you're a smoker. We love this place and will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night whilst on route to Queenstown. This is a nice pub/hotel. The rooms are upstairs above the pub/bar area. From what we saw on a Sunday night its a popular lively bar. The room was spacious, clean and modern. NO Air conditioning was the only real downside. 12 hours complimentary wifi was excellent. The cooked breakfast at the bar was well worth it.

Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have been here for breakfast on 2 separate occasions and both times it was consistently great. I got the make your own breakfast and the eggs, bacon, hash browns, mushrooms and sausages were cooked to perfection. The outdoor courtyard is nice in the sun and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times, and the beds are comfortable and the rooms new (the hotel is only two years old), but they are essentially rooms above the pub, with the attendant noise issues. It's also on a busy road. If you want a hairdryer or an iron, you have to ring for it; there's no shelf/table to put your suitcase; and my male travelling companions didn't like the lack of light above the bathroom mirror for shaving! The pub is good for a drink with friendly service, the food is ok pub grub, but there's better a few minutes' drive away at the Tai Tapu pub.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EllieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Staying here for work purposes was okay but there were a couple of things that were a little disappointing. First, there was no room service - as a single female traveller I prefer to eat my meals in my room but this was unavailable so I had to eat in the main restaurant. And whilst the food was pleasing I would have preferred to have it upstairs. The other thing was BINGO was on and whilst it did not go late I could hear it in my room.
So those are the negatives - the staff though were great - very helpful and nice. The room was okay - clearly it had been updated so it was nicely appointed. It was close to the centre of Lincoln which does have a great coffee shop and New World.
Overall, one night was fine - more I am not sure I would do.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPeeps16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Famous Grouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Famous Grouse Hotel

Property: The Famous Grouse Hotel
Address: 2 Gerald Street, Lincoln 7608, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Famous Grouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing