We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Plce to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Inn Hotel and Restaurant

Crystal Inn Hotel and Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystal Inn Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Newton, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Plce to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed my 3 day stay over Labor Day. Room was clean and neat. A/C was efficient. Restaurant was good, home cooking type food. Not as much selection as in larger communities, but good flavor and presentation. Management was very friendly and helpful. Reminded me of my Grandma. Will definitely stay again. Pool was clean and fun for kids. It is the best place to stay in a fifty mile radius.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drtramdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Nice little place to stay and have breakfast before you head out to explore. Much better than your typical hotel setting, litterally within one minute drive of the rock shop we visted to get our mining passes.

If you want a little more for your dollar choose this place over a hotel!

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

The good: Stayed in 118, a roomy efficiency with a private patio—super clean and recently remodeled. Comfortable throughout, comfy queen and king beds, pristine and barefoot-friendly carpet. We used a laptop and notebook while there; Wi-Fi connection perfect. The TV had great channels plus nice deep seating to watch from. Compared to hotels, bathroom was huge—again, all new and gleaming—with nice sliding shower door, lots of shelves and countertop space, generous stacks of towels and bathmats (good for covering pretty but cold floor tile). Kitchen had dishes, cookware, fridge, toaster, coffee pot. Off-season was $72.50 a night plus 10% tax.
The not-so-good: Our unit shared a wall and door with the restaurant (think of companion hotel rooms and the locked door between); first morning we suddenly heard fairly clear conversation through the door and figured they could hear us too; embarrassed us, we had been howling at funny stuff on TV.
Bathroom: Bring shampoo, etc.; none furnished (we like our own anyhow). And you only get teeny-tiny soaps the size of postage stamps (seriously), hardly lasts one shower, wish I had brought soap too.
Bed: I found three hairs when I pulled back sheets but felt that since everything else was so clean the hairs must only have been left from dryer or a maid leaning in to make the big king bed. Unlike the comfy mattress, pillows were very hard, glad we brought some from home.
Also, the unit, sold as having a “full kitchen,” lacked an oven (maybe my bad for not eyeballing website photo better); had to ditch certain meal plans. Lots of small pots but only one skillet, which had scratched nonstick coating that you imagine flaking off into your food, common to see such in lodging kitchens but this unit looked like it aspired to better. This kitchen had no dishwashing liquid or dish towels, which even the humblest lodging kitchens always have. Second day/night we saw two baby roaches and then a bigger one despite being meticulous with our cooking, washing up, and food storage; we wondered if it had anything to do with the restaurant’s proximity. The roaches are no secret to owners I guess; we saw a roach trap under the microwave when we had to move it near an outlet.
Lastly, when we checked in, our credit card was charged right then for all three nights (showed up as Crystal Inn Restaurant not as motel on credit card statement, which we didn’t care for), and they don’t give refunds. So don’t bite off more dates than you are certain of, which you might do if you didn’t know their policy since standard hotels almost always let you back out of subsequent days if your plans change. (Hotels also post rates, this place makes you call.) But we had such an incredible time winter hiking in this stunning area (we saw fresh black-bear scat, deer, hawks, views to die for) that we didn’t want to leave anyhow.
All the units are nonsmoking but outdoor seating abounds. Learn more at: http://www.mtidacrystalinn.com/

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
429 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We had originally reserved one of the 2 queen cabins, but when we checked in, we were told that this time of year they don't open them and it wasn't worth the trouble since we were only staying one night. Instead they gave us a room in the Inn with a spacious 3 queen room. Overall the room was clean and a good size but we had two issues:
1) The decor - the entire room looked like it was decorated in 1975 and hasn't been updated since. Nothing was gross or dirty, it just had a "run down" kind of look.
2) The noise - the room we were staying is was right next to an apartment where I guess some of the people who run the restaurant live in. We could hear them throughout the evening and the next morning. The walls were thin enough that we could make out their conversations.

Overall it was an OK hotel for being in a small town. But it could be a great little Inn if they remodeled the rooms and insulated the walls.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A. CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

My friend, daughter and myself stayed at the Crystal Inn and are we ever thankful that we did! I missed my flight out which made our original arrival time about 4 hours later than expected. I am notorious for getting lost even on the most simplest of roads and sure enough I get lost going from Little Rock to the motel. Luckily I remembered to bring the phone number and we called to explain that we would be arriving late and that we may be even later because we were lost. Well, Robert got on the phone and he literally talked us in turn by turn, pointing out all the landmarks that we should be coming up to. which lane we should stay in, and which turnoffs not to take. What a hero he was to us!! He stayed on the phone for over 30 minuted trying to get us to the motel. And to top it off , my daughter had a report she had to submit that night, Elizabeth allowed her to stay in the computer room as long as she had to to finish and submit her work by the deadline.
If I ever visit around that area again to collect crystals, you know where I'm staying!
Grace

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

This area has so many great roads to ride. After a long day it's nice to find a place like Crystal Inn. Our group was able to sit in the restaurant have a fun time, laugh about the day and have some great home cooking. Rooms are good for the rates. Robert and Elizabeth are the owners. Elizabeth is an awesome hostess! Elizabeth is what makes Crystal Inn such a great place to stay when your on the rode. Robert you need to tell your wife DAILY how lucky you are to have such a wonderful women. Richard - Words of encouragement are always better than an attempt at sarcastic humor.

Thanks again Elizabeth....our group of 9 all commented on how enjoyable you made our stay!

Pierre

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort worth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

It was late, and rainey, we were tired, and the manager came out to the parkinglot where we had stopped the motorcycle, and asked if she could do anything to help us.
We had a reservation down the road, at the "bates motel", and after getting out of there with our lives, found this "diamond" in crystal country.
Elizabeth was our host, she took us in, offered to open the closed retaurant, and make us something to eat, got us a wonderful non smoking room, we parked the bike right outside our door., I was so happy, and glad to meet someone so wonderful, an gracious that I hugged her. She is the example of how people, not only in the service industry, but in evereyday life should treat others, I would highly recommend this place, they make you feel at home, the rates are a fantasic value for the money, the food is great, , and the roads in the area are great, just watch the local truck drivers.
this place is family biker friendly, just be respectful, and not rowdy. We are looking forward to another trip there in the spring just to stay there, and ride the scenic routes.
but the Crystal Inn is number one in my book!
Richard Pruitt
Fort Worth, Texas

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmwboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
23.2 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#8 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ouachita Mountain Inn
Ouachita Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Lela's Landing
Lela's Landing
#9 of 21 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
13.4 mi away
Glenwood Golf Course and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Inn Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Inn Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Crystal Inn Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 3489 Highway 270 E, Mount Ida, AR 71957-8092
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Mount Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing