We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Charro

El Charro
Ranked #30 of 81 Restaurants in Mountain Home
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Across the street from Harp's on Hwy 62.....bright orange building (you can't miss it). Average Mexican fare with good prices. The service was excellent. We went with a big group and all the orders were right. Good margaritas......

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank arkansastraveler019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

What's not to like? The handpainted mosaics in the restaurant made you feel like you were in a resort town. The wait staff was very cordial, patient, and fast. The food was outstanding, especially the enchiladas verde (pork enchiladas with a green sauce with a little heat) and their guacamole. They also were one of the few restaurants that stayed open past 7 PM there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RandomTraveler_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I lived in Mountain Home for 5 years before realizing El Charro was here but once I found it, I go at least once a month. This is real authentic Mexican food. If you like the real stuff, you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Great food, quick service, & reasonable prices. No drive-thru, but very quick inside ordering and pick-up, & all meals come with chips & salsa. I've ate at this restaurant for years and find them to be always flexible & accommodating. Substitutions/modifications (cheese sauce instead of red sauce, hotter salsa, etc.) in my experience, are always met with "OK" & never with "no". Jalisco Special is great, and the cheese dip is excellent. Why anyone would recommend El Chico or Letty's over El Charro is beyond me!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Basil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeview, AR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food & service great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The food quality is always excellent, delicious flavor, the servers are always very happy to see us!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaL216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Charro also viewed

Mountain Home, AR
Mountain Home, AR
 
Mountain Home, AR
Mountain Home, AR
 

Been to El Charro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing