We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Buffalo Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountain Home
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Buffalo Resort
Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have been coming to The White Buffalo Resort for over 25 years and I can say without any doubt that this place is truly Heaven on Earth. The resort is at the confluence of the White and Buffalo Rivers with beautiful 600 foot bluffs right in front of the resort and a magnificent view of the river from the porch of your cabin.
The resort has several very nice cabins to choose from. All are well furnished and equiped for cooking (fresh caught Trout) or just relaxing and watching the Bald Eagles catching trout from the river. The Trout fishing here can not be understated.....come prepared to catch lots of Trout!!
The resort is owned and operated by John and Eileen Olwell who do a fantastic job of making sure you feel like you are their only guest and are always there on site to make sure your experience is relaxing and fun.
The resort has a boat dock with boat rentals, fishing guides and a full time dock attendant, Joey, who makes sure all of your needs and safety issues are met.
I have been to a lots of places that are very beautiful; however, this is still my favorite place on earth.....I just keep coming back year after year.
Once you get there you won't want to leave and go back to the real world!

Room Tip: All the cabins are great but, because of the location of the resort in the mountains, there is no go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arkansastraeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed here for a company retreat and had a PHENOMENAL time! It is set on one of the most beautiful spots on the river - clear water, huge bluffs, and lots of fish! The owners were very friendly and helpful too. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

While having used their shuttle service for kayaking/ canoeing down the White River, my husband and I took a camp/float trip based from here last summer and it was great!
The resort was able to accommodate our 32' travel trailer away from the regular RV spots. We were right on the river, had a huge tree stump and a large boulder for tables- it was really neat!

Our weekend was very quiet, the staff is really very pleasant, and if we'd had our kids with us, I know they would have loved the pool. The staff even drove our truck with our kayaks to our put-in for a small charge, which was nice. No need to go back for that other car or ride the shuttle bus, and that was pretty awesome.

The bluffs, the river, the beauty of the land the resort is on... I feel so lucky to live nearby such an amazing get away, and hope to take the family soon!

Room Tip: You can choose from a furnished Vacation Home, a small camper cabin, or rv and primitive camping sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiyaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

This place is amazing we had a group of 9 the came up from all over the south and spent 2 great days and Fishing and relaxing. The Rainbow and Smallmouth fishing was great and so were the accommodations. The setting makes this place seem more remote than it is and the fact there no cell phone service is even BETTER.Thanks for sharing such a beautiful place with us and the fire pits are great.we are already planning a return trip, I can't wait.. See ya soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatuscaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I've been coming to the White Buffalo Resort for going on 30 years and have had some great times. The backdrop of the cliffs rising up along the river bank across from the resort makes this one of the prettiest places on the White River to visit. While we didn't catch many fish this go round a great time was had by all.

The staff at resort were very friendly and always ready to accomadate. Evertying from advice on what the fish have been biting to adding that extra seat to the boat on short notice, all was done with a smile and a readiness to make you feel right at home.

The cabin was clean and neat as a pin with the added bonus of a fine porch out back that overlooked the river,

I would highly recommend The White Buffalo to anyone looking to spend time in some great trout waters.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ted p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentzville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

White Bluffalo Resort is one of the best Trout Fishing locations we have ever fished. After the long hot summer, we went down again in August and the fishing was as usual very good. I had my knee replaced two weeks ago and I can't wait to go back down again. I plan on going in October and besides the good fishing it should be extra beautiful with the leaves turning. The owners always do what ever they can to make their guests happy. If you like to trout fish, you need to go to White Buffalo Resort. Call early, as they stay very busy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

And Hurricane Isaac only brought us clouds and wind! We've been to the WBR several times now after learning about this little gem from a real estate agent.
The campground is very nice and is located in North Arkansas on the banks of the White River. They have all the amenities of a typical campground and it is a nicely run business with very friendly owners. We stayed in a camping cabin this time and were quite pleased with it. Cabin F faces the river and adjoins campsite 30 which my wife's parents used for their 28ft camper. This set up gave us a cabin with a full bed, two sets of bunk beds, a small dorm size fridge, front porch with two chairs, and two picnic tables that could seat up to 16 if needed! The cabin was air conditioned (a must for summers in AR) and it did a good job of keeping us cool. I recommend taking it off the energy saver because when it kicks on/off it will shake and wake you up at night...
The mattresses are perfect for a camping cabin, but bring an extra blanket or blow up mattress to make it more comfortable for you or your kids. Our kids loved the bunk beds by the way.
The cabin is fairly close to the bath house so a quick walk and you had restroom and shower facilities. The bath house is probably the one thing that needs updated. Showers work o.k. but it could use a couple more and it could use some more space and much better ventilation.
The pool is shallow and is nice to hop in to cool off. It is great for younger kids with it being shallow and our kids really enjoy it. We brought the inflatable kayaks this time and were able to get the kids and in laws out on the river much more this time. If you are going to this campground you HAVE to get out on the White River whether you fish or not.
We love this place and will go back at least once a year.

Room Tip: If you decide to go...book it early because this place is always busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandnSun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Home
13.3 mi away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#6 of 16 in Mountain Home
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
24.6 mi away
River Valley Rentals
River Valley Rentals
#3 of 11 in Mountain View
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
11.3 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Buffalo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Resort

Property: White Buffalo Resort
Address: 418 White Buffalo Trl, Mountain Home, AR 72653-7719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mountain Home
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mountain Home
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Buffalo Resort rents 9 riverfront cedar log Cabins & Lodges, 6 Camper Cabins, 7 shady Full Hook-Up RV sites & 17 Campsites all overlooking the beautiful White River. We rent jonboats, canoes and kayaks. Whether you come for the legendary trout fishing or the premier small mouth fishing or just to escape to the beauty of the Ozarks, you'll make memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing