We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation place ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocking Chair Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mountain Home
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Chair Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Mountain Home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation place ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

I enjoyed going! I went with my friend and his family and we had a blast! I met a bunch of new friends down there and the lake and pool was fun! I enjoyed all the tree's and the lake. Everyone was so nice there as well. Can't wait to go again! :)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristopherMeneghini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    1
    2
    12
See reviews for
32
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Our purpose in traveling to rocking chair ranch resort was a family vacation with kids. Unfortunately we found most of our neighbors to be drinking, smoking, and or using foul language with our next-door neighbors taking each to extremes. The pool was a good size, but was not cleaned ONCE during our week-long stay. By the last of the week, the bottom of the deep-end was covered in algae. The trash and abandoned personal items stayed in the same place on the pool deck all week. The cabin was clean and acceptable, however the playground and grounds were not. I would not recommend this place for families with young children.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LEARNfromME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Thanks again for everything. Like I told you when we saw you I loved it down there and I want to move down there when we retire.
We loved the cabin, sitting on the deck looking out over the mountains was very relaxing. Plan on coming back to catch some fish.
Oh yeah we tried El Charros’ on your recommendation and thought it was great.
If any one asks where to stay in Mountain home we’ll send them your way.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank am0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

Great customer service
Family owned
Affordable
Beautiful
Well kept
Game room, pool, dock, swim deck etc.
Comfortable
Simple!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromDenToArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

We go to the Rocking Chair twice a year. Once with our family and friends with their families. The kids really enjoy being at the dock fishing, tubing, and skiing. Them after being on the lake the kids enjoy going to the pool while the adults fix dinner. Bob and Jane (owners) are very friendly and very accommodating. We have been going to The Rocking Chair for about 11 years. Our second trip is an adult trip. We have had up to 16 people at one time in our group and we have always had a great time. Bob and Jane have and do take care of us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

What a really cool place to stay! We took our entire family, including the dogs who have never traveled, and we had a blast. Rocking Chair resort is laid back, family friendly fun. Our house was clean and well-stocked with linens and cooking pots. The owners, Bob and Jane, made us feel like we'd been friends for years. We rented a boat for the week and could walk down to a great dock and jump on it for a quick spin. Our kids spent hours fishing at that dock and swimming in the crystal clear lake. We will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendabisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

I just returned from Rocking Chair Ranch Resort where I stayed with my daughter and 2 grandsons, 10 mos. and 4 yrs. and I would not return to this resort. We were in a 3-bedroom unit, and I was appalled at the condition of this unit. There were exposed wires on the water heater which is situated next to the kitchen sink, an outlet without an outlet cover, a 220 volt outlet in the dining area (not covered), black mold on the ceiling in the tiny bathroom, no battery in the smoke detector, water leakage in the ceiling over one bed, (pieces of the ceiling were found on the pillow each morning), the shower wouldn't turn off and leaked all over the floor, and the sink is falling off the bathroom wall.
Having 2 small children with me made it very uncomfortable to let them crawl around for fear of them getting hurt. We actually moved the coffee table in front of the exposed outlet so they couldn't get near it.
The rec room is a mess, stuffing coming out of the sofa, one of the slides for the pool has the ladder duct-taped to the slide, the pool was a nice shade of green from the algae, I could go on and on. We wouldn't allow the children into the pool.
We were charged almost $1000 for the week and left after 3 nights. The positive side is that they gave us a $300 credit and Jane seemed like a very nice lady. When we discussed the situation with her, she stated that the cabins were "used pretty hard over the summer", but I find it hard to believe that the mold in the bathroom just appeared before we got there. A little regular maintenance would go a long way at this resort.
On the positive side for this unit, we had a toilet that flushed, hot water and an A/C unit that kept the cabin less humid than the outside air.
We should have stayed at a hotel in Mountain Home for less money.
I would not recommend this resort and I would not go back there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radynt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockinmom6, Owner at Rocking Chair Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2009
This reservation in the August for this week arrived on a Saturday departed on a Saturday. This complaint is from the same person who arrived August 4th. Please see my response to that complaint since this is the same lady who felt she had to complain twice?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mountain Home hotels
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#6 of 16 in Mountain Home
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
7.9 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Chair Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Chair Resort

Property: Rocking Chair Resort
Address: 278 County Road 763, Mountain Home, AR 72653-7228
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mountain Home
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Mountain Home
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rocking Chair Ranch Hotel Mountain Home
Rocking Chair Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing