We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mountain Home
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Chair Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Mountain Home
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a family reunion. We stayed in the 4 BR secluded house as well as the cabin near the 4 BR house. The house was really nice inside , but strange sleeping arrangements. Hospital beds in Master BR. Many sleeping sofas, So I guess this is what they count as sleeping arrangements. We rented Pontoon boat , which was in Horendous conditions, torn seats, filthy deck, nothing worked, Radio had artificial baits in cassette port. After we left, the owner , Jane, called us during trip home and said that we had punched hole in wall of Master bedroom and wanted us to pay for it. ( The hole was in the wall when we arrived at site ). During the week that we stayed, we had to call them to empty the trash during the week.. The hot water heater was not big enough to half fill the tub in the bathroom. We spent over $4000.00 at this place during the week and really had a decent time considering the way it is being run. Please consider other options in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockinmom6, Owner at Rocking Chair Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Sorry you feel that way our brand new 4 bedroom 2,400 square foot home is considered our prized possession. It was very easy to detect a hole in the dry wall. The cabin can sleep 14 persons comfortably, children under 13 are free. The king bed is a sealy posterpedic with remotes for your head and feet .
Everyone else enjoyed the ride.
The boat was a 150 hp deck boat. We keep our boats affordable for all, you would of payed way more at a Marina just because you had nice seats. No radio is because it drains your battery and then we have to rescue you on the lake. That happens with all boat rentals and persons who are not familiar with renting a boat. Garbage pick up is 3 times a week, but we always accommadate when you need a pick up sooner. We truly aim to please and you voiced no concerns during your stay. We do hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    1
    2
    12
See reviews for
32
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I enjoyed going! I went with my friend and his family and we had a blast! I met a bunch of new friends down there and the lake and pool was fun! I enjoyed all the tree's and the lake. Everyone was so nice there as well. Can't wait to go again! :)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristopherMeneghini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Our purpose in traveling to rocking chair ranch resort was a family vacation with kids. Unfortunately we found most of our neighbors to be drinking, smoking, and or using foul language with our next-door neighbors taking each to extremes. The pool was a good size, but was not cleaned ONCE during our week-long stay. By the last of the week, the bottom of the deep-end was covered in algae. The trash and abandoned personal items stayed in the same place on the pool deck all week. The cabin was clean and acceptable, however the playground and grounds were not. I would not recommend this place for families with young children.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LEARNfromME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Thanks again for everything. Like I told you when we saw you I loved it down there and I want to move down there when we retire.
We loved the cabin, sitting on the deck looking out over the mountains was very relaxing. Plan on coming back to catch some fish.
Oh yeah we tried El Charros’ on your recommendation and thought it was great.
If any one asks where to stay in Mountain home we’ll send them your way.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank am0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Great customer service
Family owned
Affordable
Beautiful
Well kept
Game room, pool, dock, swim deck etc.
Comfortable
Simple!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromDenToArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We go to the Rocking Chair twice a year. Once with our family and friends with their families. The kids really enjoy being at the dock fishing, tubing, and skiing. Them after being on the lake the kids enjoy going to the pool while the adults fix dinner. Bob and Jane (owners) are very friendly and very accommodating. We have been going to The Rocking Chair for about 11 years. Our second trip is an adult trip. We have had up to 16 people at one time in our group and we have always had a great time. Bob and Jane have and do take care of us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2009

What a really cool place to stay! We took our entire family, including the dogs who have never traveled, and we had a blast. Rocking Chair resort is laid back, family friendly fun. Our house was clean and well-stocked with linens and cooking pots. The owners, Bob and Jane, made us feel like we'd been friends for years. We rented a boat for the week and could walk down to a great dock and jump on it for a quick spin. Our kids spent hours fishing at that dock and swimming in the crystal clear lake. We will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendabisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mountain Home hotels
6.3 mi away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#6 of 16 in Mountain Home
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
8.0 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Chair Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Chair Resort

Property: Rocking Chair Resort
Address: 278 County Road 763, Mountain Home, AR 72653-7228
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mountain Home
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Mountain Home
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rocking Chair Ranch Hotel Mountain Home
Rocking Chair Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing