We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise within Paradise.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mount Nevis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mount Nevis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Chicago
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise within Paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Extraordinary staff, 5 star cuisine, and spectacular views accompanied our 8 night stay in room 103 at the Mount Nevis Hotel.

Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed with a pair of the island's best rum punches and a phenomenal panoramic of St. Kitts and the Caribbean Sea. Situated above the sea on a hill, its not difficult to get lost in the view, available anywhere on the property. The expansive grounds are kept tidy and the pavilions are generously spread out. Our Superior Suite had a full kitchen and close to 700 square feet of living space that overlooked St. Kitts offering us that spectacular view every morning we opened our eyes, often with a vibrant rainbow. We didn't spend much time in our room, but when we did, it was more than comfortable.

The Mount Nevis Restaurant offers one of the island's best dynamic menus and incredible ambience. The chefs were extremely accommodating for our vegitarian needs and the menus changed daily. Our favorite was a Mexican themed evening that included a mandatory shot of tequila at the door upon arrival - simply fantastic idea! The cocnut shrip appetizer was a favorite and all of the deserts brought us back to the Restaurant even if we didn't dine in that evening.

The staff is entirely guest-focused. All of our travel arrangements were coordinated by the Hotel, from our transportation from St. Kitts, to having our rental car dropped off (and picked up) at the Hotel. Anything we needed was always available, whether it was fresh beach towels every morning or directions to town, the staff delivered 5 star service every time. These are truly wonderful people and are reason enough to only stay at Mount Nevis Hotel anytime we visit Nevis.

Thank you Noreen, Curtis, Bernadine, Mauva, Monica, Mariaon, Vincente, Kevin, Mikey and the fabulous housekeeping staff and anyone we missed for an unforgettable vacation. We plan on seeing you all very soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank duffeymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
74
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We will go back again and we have already stayed at Mount Nevis three years running. Family run,friendly hotel in well maintained pretty grounds and soon to have fabulous new beds, rugs and decor in existing spacious rooms and suites.
Well located hotel with best views in Nevis! Good food, friendly service and great pool for laps.
Not very well known but it should be!
Jennifer and Tony

Room Tip: The suites on the upper floor (only two levels) have the best views. Ground floor is fine though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent five relaxing nights at this beautiful Island getaway. The staff took care of our every need. We genuinely felt like honored guests. Meals at the hotel were a special treat - much better than our experience on previous trips to other islands. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with spectacular views of the water and neighboring St. Kitts. The grounds were lovely, with a variety of interesting plants and trees. We were particularly thrilled with the access to excellent athletic activities; from swimming laps in the pool, to running on the grounds as monkeys looked on, to cycling around the island. This was the first island where we felt comfortable cycling as the roads were in mostly good condition and traffic relatively light. We visited a variety of beaches and spent plenty of relaxing hours poolside at Mt. Nevis. This is definitely a place to go for relaxation and to get away from it all!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The Mount Nevis Hotel is a beautiful hideaway, nestled into the hillside with spectacular views of St. Kitts and the Caribbean Sea. The rooms are spacious and lovely and the staff is attentive, warm and gracious. I've been there four times now over the past 20 years and it just keeps getting better and better!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My new bride and I stayed at this beautiful and peaceful paradise for 7 days choosing the honeymoon package, The staff was wonderful, polite and fully accommodating, going out of their way to assist us with all our daily needs. Our bed was made up with fresh native flowers, and our room had a dramatic view of the Carribbean and nearby St. Kitts. We enjoyed wonderful meals in elegant Carribbean peacefulness. The music was played at just the right level. While the property does not have its own beachfront, the hotel provided personal free shuttle service to the nearby gorgeous beaches. If you are a runner, they are within easy running distance (less than a mile from the entrance). We loved every minute of it, and can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: For the best views, and private veranda, take the 2nd floor rooms facing St. Kitts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseyboy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

My fiancée and I stayed at Mt Nevis Hotel and Beach Club from November 5th - 12th. The hotel is not a traditional Caribbean hotel like Nisbet, Montpelier, or The Hermitage, nor is it the luxury hotel like The Four Seasons. However for people who are down on business or are looking for a "base of operations" for active daily exploration of Nevis, St. Kitts and the other surrounding islands this is an awesome place to stay.

Our room, a "superior" I believe, was a very large, with a full kitchen, sitting area, spacious bath with a large shower. Nice patio area to sit outside with a great view of St. Kitts.

There are many great places to eat on Nevis. We eat at Mt. Nevis our first night and last. Both nights we had great dinners. The setting is in the open (except overhead). We had breakfast every morning in the restaurant. I liked the food a lot, but I'm not a "foodie". There are places on the island that are really trying to be gourmet, I don't think that is what Mt. Nevis is shooting for. The food seemed consistently good, which in the Caribbean says a lot.

The service from the staff is excellent from reception to gardeners, they all meet you with a smile and hello.

My fiancée and I got married at historical Cottle Church situated next to Mt. Nevis Hotel. All the arrangements from booking the church, hiring the pastor, photographer, getting flower arrangements, makeup and hair stylist were handled by the reception desk, in particular Miss Abigail. Mt. Nevis consolidated all the charges so I didn't have spend any of my wedding day writing checks. That part was off the charts awesome.

As far as downsides to Mt. Nevis. Pool area lacks an in ground hot tub, which I enjoy. Otherwise the pool area is nice. There was no in room WIFI in the room we had, but you can get it in the main lodge area. And as I said above, it is not "traditional Caribbean" (or traditional Caribbean $$$ for that matter), but Mt. Nevis definitely fills a very important niche on Nevis. We had a great time and wonderful memories of getting married on Nevis.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had dinner there this November and were very, very pleased! food was great and the service was outstanding. Thank you ! Can't wait to go back next year.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jody64Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
15.2 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.6 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
3.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Nevis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Nevis Hotel

Property: The Mount Nevis Hotel
Address: Shaws Road, New Castle, Nevis
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Nevis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Mount Nevis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nevis Hotel And Beach
The Mount Nevis Hotel New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing