We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Words Fail to Describe How Wonderful This Hotel Is!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mount Nevis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Words Fail to Describe How Wonderful This Hotel Is!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Believe every positive word you have read about this property, and then add some superlatives. The Mt. Nevis Hotel is a superb property. Nevis itself is a true gem--quiet, serene, extremely friendly, and a wonderful place to just kick back and release all of the tensions of your life! Now back to the Mt. Nevis Hotel. Here between Christmas and the weekend after New Year's we were ready for relaxation, pampering and peace and got it! From the moment of our arrival we were treated like welcome members of the family. On-site Manager Peter and his wife Jamie greeted us with a rum punch while we completed check-in paperwork. The staff were all extremely friendly and accomodating. They have a new chef who is superb (restaurant review separate). We had a deluxe suite (there are only 35 rooms here--even so it is the second largest hotel on Nevis after the Four Seasons resort). The views of St. Kitts and the ocean were spectacular! The room was huge with a small, but complete kitchen (although we didn't cook, we did go to one of the very well stocked local groceries for fruit, yogurt, bread, etc, for breakfast--doing this saves at least $25 US a day over eating in the hotel restaurant, which like everything culinary on Nevis is a bit pricey!). Room service was scheduled to accommodate our schedule (the maid came daily between 11 and 1, at our request) and even included washing our dishes. Beautifully decorated, the room had a large balcony where we had breakfast and just chilled out with glass of wine in the evening. As far as arranging almost anything you could want to do while here, Monica in the front office is like your own personal assistant--ask and she delivers--all (as with everyone at Mt. Nevis Hotel) with a smile, and a sense that their true pleasure in life is making sure your visit is better than you ever hoped for. If you are looking for lots of activities, then this is NOT the place for you. But if you want to feel continually welcomed, attended to, and treated like you are really important, this is the place to be! The only downside is that is on the north side of the island, a bit far from shopping, etc. But then Nevis is only a small island--18 miles around. Thank you so Peter, Jamie, Monica and all the Mt. Nevis Hotel staff who made this a memorable week. Oh, and please book us in for the same week in 2014-2015!

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe room, but all have sea views, so you really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredRo1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    21
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
76
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have been comming to this hotel since I was a kid with my mom, dad and brother. I absolutely love it. The service and everyone around makes you feel like you are at home. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are fine. The view at the mount nevis hotel is prominent. It's breath taking. The food at the mount nevis hotel is great when I come here I usually have fish. The fish here is fantastic, it is always localy caught, and fresh. The chef make this awsome garlic butter sauce that tastes devine. Other then the fish the food here is still great. I love exploring and there are so many things that you can do in nevis. I absolutely love this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjmaher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The food is great, The rooms are really nice. The staff is superb and the hotel small enough where you can actually talk with the staff and management and enjoy their company and insights. I spent three nights here and it was all good. The other reviews say what I would say, but I do plan on blowing off the Marriott on St Kitts from here on in and staying here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suspect309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Marketing Coordinator at The Mount Nevis Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and it was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back next year and remember....in Nevis, you're only a stranger once!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

As we were to visit Nevis in early September for a wedding we looked for a quiet peaceful hotel at a reasonable price. We found that and more at the Mount Nevis Hotel and Beach Club. Upon our arrival as we were completing the registration we learned from Peter, the Manager, that he had upgraded our room and we were served a refreshing rum punch (most welcome as it was hot and humid) by Jamie, the Marketing Coordinator and Peter's wife. The view from our room was wonderful with the sea and St. Kitts in the distance with some mixed grassland and trees and the hotel's attractive property in the foreground. Often we could see wild donkeys and monkeys in the grassland area. The staff always greeted us with a cheery smile and provided attentive prompt service. The Manager went out of his way to help us with a foreign exchange problem and Monica did a great job booking our return transport to the airport. The food was great with a wide choice for breakfast. As many of our meals were at different places with the wedding party we only had the opportunity for one lunch at the hotel but that one was most tasty. No question as to where we will stay on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ocean view upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DH377646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I came to Nevis for our honeymoon. We had never been to Nevis before, and didn't know what to expect. We were referred by a family friend, and so happy we followed their advice. The Mount Nevis Hotel owner, management and staff went above and beyond to ensure our every need was met. Not to mention the breathtaking views and the beautiful rooms. We were more than pleased with our experience, and will absolutely be back to Mount Nevis Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a suite with an ocean view, you'll be glad you did!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AshleyLappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Marketing Coordinator at The Mount Nevis Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We were honored to have you as our guests during your honeymoon and look forward to welcoming you back next year on your anniversary. Congratulations again and I wish you all the joy you can wish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

When we made our decision about where to stay in Nevis, we decided we wanted a hotel that was not "stilted" and had a relaxed atmosphere. We found that at Mt. Nevis Hotel. We were greeted by a friendly staff, Marian, and macaroon cookies on our coffee table. The room was beautiful with wooden beamed ceilings and a wonderful view of the ocean and the woods. We even saw a family of monkeys run by in the distance. The rooms were always clean. The restaurant had very good food with excellent kitchen staff. We were pleased to meet the owner of the hotel who made a special trip to our table while we ate breakfast. We also met Peter, the manager, and his wife who happened to be from the state of Alabama like I was. My birthday happened to occur on this trip and I was pleasantly surprised with a special birthday cake and the birthday song sung to me by the staff. Special Kudos go out to Kenneth who answered our every call. We will definitely return to Mt. Nevis Hotel when we go back to Nevis.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BARBARA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

From the moment we arrived at Mt. Nevis to the moment we departed, we all agreed we would always come back every time we traveled to Nevis.
As soon as I walked into the office, Peter, the manager was extremely kind and attentive. He showed us around main grounds and invited us to complimentary rum punch! We were given cold towels which were a thoughtful touch especially after our ferry ride from St. Kitts. Then we were shown to our rooms. Our villas were on the second floor adjacent to one another (another thoughtful touch) with a breathtaking mountain and ocean view. The rooms were meticulously clean with updated furniture, bathroom and full kitchen. The a/c cooled the room completely (this is important especially on an island where you seldom find a/c in hotels).
As we went down for dinner, we noticed there was a table already set-up for our party to our surprise. It was pizza/pasta night and everyone found something they liked on the menu. The tables overlook the gorgeous oversized pool, lush gardens and the mountains and ocean.
The Mt. Nevis restaurant was truly spectacular. The breakfast was amazing, best french toast I have ever had. Dinner time felt like a gourmet restaurant in a fancy metropolitan city.
Jamie and Peter always came to greet us and ask about our stay. Verna was a doll and all the waitresses and even our chef Mike who so graciously accomodated a late night dessert craving :) From eating at the restaurant to lounging at the pool while ordering coladas or picking mangoes from the many trees on the grounds, this place was a delight. The staff was attentive, beautiful rooms and excellent food surrounded by a serene tropical ambience and spectacular views. I will continue staying at Mt. Nevis every time I visit.

Room Tip: Any villa overlooking St. Kitts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabtravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
5.1 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
15.1 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
3.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Nevis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Nevis Hotel

Property: The Mount Nevis Hotel
Address: Shaws Road, New Castle, Nevis
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Nevis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mount Nevis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nevis Hotel And Beach
The Mount Nevis Hotel New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing