We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mount Nevis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice service”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. It was very nice with beautiful views of St. Kitts.

The rooms are large and comfortable, the shower was good, and there is a kitchenette for those who like to cook on vacation.

We only ate breakfasts at the hotel, but they were good and the staffs who work at the hotel were all very nice! We had a warm welcome to the island and property from the manager and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    21
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
76
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have never wrote a review on Trip Advisor or any other site before, but our stay at The Mount Nevis Hotel in Nevis West Indies was so wonderful I was inspired to do so.

This hotel is amazing. My wife and I take 2 or three vacations a year all over the world and this was clearly one of the best. The hotel is perched on a mountainside with amazing views. it is small with I believe about 30 some rooms. The room we stayed in was a superior king with an ocean view.

The staff gets to know you personally very quickly. It is like staying in a good friends house. I can't say enough good things about the staff including the managers Peter and Jamie Capezza. They are charming and very helpful. The entire staff is the same way. We did not have one bad experience in our whole stay of six nights and seven days. To name a few Kenneth, Marvelous Mauva, Monica, Trella, Terrian, Marion, and Chef Rahul. Basically, anyone we encountered was very helpful and very pleasant.

The food in the restaurant was top notch and actually was the best restaurant in Nevis, which has some pretty good restaurants.

If you are looking for a peaceful hideaway with great service, rooms, great views, and great food I highly recommend the Mount Nevis Hotel.

Room Tip: Buildings 2 and 3 with Ocean Views on the second floor are wonderful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJlManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Marketing Coordinator at The Mount Nevis Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
It was a truly our pleasure to host you & your wife during your time in Nevis. We always enjoy reading about our guests' visits with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and all of the highlights of your trip! We are happy to know that you enjoyed a relaxing vacation and we truly appreciate your kind recognition of our staff members.
Thank you for your words of encouragement & we hope to see you both in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had an amazing time. As others say the general manager Pete and his beautiful wife Jamie were so pleasant and helpful, a sincere thank you. The food was delicious. The view was stunning on the hillside and the staff was fantastic and genuinely engaging. There is a small golf course next to the resort and two first class golf courses at the Four Seasons and St. Kitts Marriott. Five star...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

What an absolutely lovely hotel which sits in its own grounds and also has stunning views across from Nevis to St Kitts . The hotel owner, manager and his wife and all the staff could not have been more friendly. Make no mistake about it - this hotel is first class and boosts excellent accommodation. The chef is so good that we actually cancelled our intended meal in another island restaurant to eat again at the hotel. Stay at this hotel - you will not be disappointed!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank J18W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I travel to Nevis 3 times a year for work and I always stay at Mount Nevis. It is not the typical resort that you find on most Caribbean Islands. Mount Nevis plantation style set on the side of the mountain. Absolutely beautiful views and scenery. If you want some peace & quiet or a place to simply relax, you won't find a better place than Mount Nevis. I have never been treated better by hotel staff than I do here. They treat everyone like family. The rooms are always perfect and comfortable. I have never had anything at the restaurant that I didn't like. And you must try the infamous rum punch made from scratch. Even though I travel to Nevis for work, I always look forward to staying at Mount Nevis. It makes my time there much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you like to have some extra space, upgrade to the Superior Suite. It is very large, with separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Marketing Coordinator at The Mount Nevis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind remarks! Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your times with us & look forward to welcoming you again. We will have a rum punch waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a beautiful room with a mesmerizing view of the ocean and St. Kitts in the distance. This is a great location, though you have to have a car to explore the island or go to any of the interesting restaurants. The managers and staff are very friendly. Although there were a few small glitches during our stay, they worked hard to make everything right for us. Very good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Believe every positive word you have read about this property, and then add some superlatives. The Mt. Nevis Hotel is a superb property. Nevis itself is a true gem--quiet, serene, extremely friendly, and a wonderful place to just kick back and release all of the tensions of your life! Now back to the Mt. Nevis Hotel. Here between Christmas and the weekend after New Year's we were ready for relaxation, pampering and peace and got it! From the moment of our arrival we were treated like welcome members of the family. On-site Manager Peter and his wife Jamie greeted us with a rum punch while we completed check-in paperwork. The staff were all extremely friendly and accomodating. They have a new chef who is superb (restaurant review separate). We had a deluxe suite (there are only 35 rooms here--even so it is the second largest hotel on Nevis after the Four Seasons resort). The views of St. Kitts and the ocean were spectacular! The room was huge with a small, but complete kitchen (although we didn't cook, we did go to one of the very well stocked local groceries for fruit, yogurt, bread, etc, for breakfast--doing this saves at least $25 US a day over eating in the hotel restaurant, which like everything culinary on Nevis is a bit pricey!). Room service was scheduled to accommodate our schedule (the maid came daily between 11 and 1, at our request) and even included washing our dishes. Beautifully decorated, the room had a large balcony where we had breakfast and just chilled out with glass of wine in the evening. As far as arranging almost anything you could want to do while here, Monica in the front office is like your own personal assistant--ask and she delivers--all (as with everyone at Mt. Nevis Hotel) with a smile, and a sense that their true pleasure in life is making sure your visit is better than you ever hoped for. If you are looking for lots of activities, then this is NOT the place for you. But if you want to feel continually welcomed, attended to, and treated like you are really important, this is the place to be! The only downside is that is on the north side of the island, a bit far from shopping, etc. But then Nevis is only a small island--18 miles around. Thank you so Peter, Jamie, Monica and all the Mt. Nevis Hotel staff who made this a memorable week. Oh, and please book us in for the same week in 2014-2015!

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe room, but all have sea views, so you really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredRo1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
5.1 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
15.1 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
3.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Nevis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Nevis Hotel

Property: The Mount Nevis Hotel
Address: Shaws Road, New Castle, Nevis
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Nevis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mount Nevis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nevis Hotel And Beach
The Mount Nevis Hotel New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing