We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got married at the Mount Nevis Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mount Nevis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We got married at the Mount Nevis Hotel!”
Reviewed 6 April 2007

We wanted to vacation somewhere that wasn't overly crowded or overly touristy----and having been to Nevis before, decided that it would be the place. We looked for some packages on Expedia, and used Tripadvisor to research the locations.
The reviews on Mount Nevis were consistently positive, and the airfare and resort package price looked good, so we booked it.
Shortly after that we decided that we would change our pending wedding plans from a big wedding at home, to eloping on this trip and having a subsequent big party later at home. The Mount Nevis people had a Wedding Package so we added this to our plans.
Both my new wife and I can say that we made an excellent choice on all fronts!!
We arrived around 9:30 PM on a Saturday evening and Pat---the Manager had waited there to check us in---they also kept the resaurant open until we could change and come back for what was the first of several outstanding dinners.
This kind of courteous, personalized service was continued by the staff for our entire visit!
Pat Jeffers----the manager---ensured we had all details of our week and pending wedding planned to our satisfaction. And talk about going above and beyond the call of duty, we even changed the day for the wedding while there, and she cheerfully re-arranged all details with the same zeal as if it was her own family that was getting married.
The wedding surpassed our expectations and was really a special day for us. We were married at a historic church on the grounds of the hotel-----the small stone church has no remaining roof, and was very quaint. The hotel staff had again gone above and beyond by beautifully decorating it with palm fronds and flowers, music was provided by steel drum, and we were joined by some wonderful guests that we had met at the hotel, as well as having Pat, the manager, Sally the owner and Peter from the staff attend as our guests as well. They had also provided a photographer, and a minister from the island who was a wonderful man and provided an inspiring service!
Everyone joined us for a reception dinner-----which was also excellent with more special touches by the staff for decorations, deserts, music, etc. All in all, it was a special day for us, made even more memorable by our new found friends from the Mount Nevis hotel------who are also invited to our wedding party in June in Wisconsin.
The balance of our stay was also great----the Mount Nevis staff helped us in setting up snorkeling trips, tours of both Nevis and St. Kitts, and would drive us to the beach at a moments notice. While we were originally a little unsure of not being right on the beach, this was not an issue at all as we had great ocean views from our lovely room and balcony, and as I said, the staff would get you to the beach an any time, and the drive was less than 5 minutes. Having the total peace and quiet of this facility, as well as the very personalized service definitely made this the right choice for us!
There are a number of excellent restaurants around, and while we enjoyed our nights out, we were always pleased with the meals at the Mount Nevis resaurant as well as room service.
For anyone looking for an outstanding value, and great people with a very comfortable hotel------do check out the Mount Nevis Hotel and Beach Club!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank WisconsinSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    21
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
77
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2007

The Good: Overall the hotel was set in a beautiful location overlooking the island, the staff was very pleasant and accomodating and the restaurant was terrific.

The Bad: However, we did not feel it was worth the price. First of all the 'beach' that was linked to the hotel was nonexistent, and the restaurant apparently associated with this beach was boarded up. Secondly, our first room was relatively unclean and attracted an inoordinate amount of insects (even for island standards) to the point where we had to change rooms. Although handled expeditously, the manner in which this was accomplished was akin to a sitdown from the Sopranos. We felt accused of exaggerating the problem, and their only concern was the liability and reputation of the hotel.

In general we felt that it was not worth the price, put off by the owner and management and will not return.

  • Liked — view, restaurant
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank islandhopperUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinesally, Manager/Owner at The Mount Nevis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2007
We do not claim to have a beach. We shuttle our guests to and from nearby beaches. It is clearly posted in the office and the rooms that the beach restaurant is open every evening from 6 to 10 and closed Wednesdays. With all due respect, when the guests were moved out of their first room, management and houskeeping inspected it and found no insects. It should be noted that the guests were in tthe first room for three days before they advised us that there was any problem. We take every concern very seriously. Sitting down with them to be assured that all was well should not be perceived in a negative way. To the contrary, our meeting with them was intended to address their comfort in the new room. There was no intention to accuse them of anything. In fact that same room was occupied , both before and since they were there, with no complaints. Finally, we would welcome them back, as we do all our guests, many of whom have been here multiple times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2007

My wife and I have just returned to the U.K. after spending 14 days at this hotel in the beautiful island of Nevis. It was a wonderfully relaxing time and made so enjoyable by the friendliness and efficiency of the local staff and the family management.
The hotel, whilst relatively small, is very well appointed with excellent rooms having outstanding views from the elevated position overlooking the sound to St. Kitts.
The swimming pool is excellent and links to the restaurant which features both local and international cuisine with local produce and fish being our favourites.
The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to two nearby beach hotels where the facilities are fully available to guests.
Having visited many islands in the Caribbean we found this one of the most relaxingand friendly of venues.
The opportunity to visit should not be missed!

  • Liked — The memorable views and the excellent staff
  • Disliked — Nothing was a problem!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglandD&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2007

We picked Mount Nevis somewhat by chance, from photos on the internet, but we Found a beautiful, peaceful home on this lovely island. Mount Nevis is not far from the airport, and is close to some of the best beaches. The view from the spacious rooms is breath-taking, looking out over the bay to St. Kitts, and the far ocean. Service is friendly and prompt. The meals were delicious, and served on a beautiful covered porch. We immensely enjoyed the wide lawns and gardens and overall beauty of living for a while on a hilltop. If you're someone looking for a delightful get-away that feels like home, and treats you with care and kindness, this is the place for you.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank maggieNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2007

This is an amazing hotel from the management to the property and rooms. We booked with the hotel's representative, Noreen, based in New York (number from website) and she not only helped us select the right room but also let me know which flights to take to get to Nevis as well as what to do while in Nevis. When we were flying, we ended up with a long delay in San Juan from weather but after contacting Noreen, she was able to help us get to the resort that night when most of the other travellers to Nevis were not able to. She set us up to take a four seasons ferry from St. Kitts and then had a taxi waiting at the fourseasons. We were 2 hours late and he waited with no worries. The resident manager, Peter, of the hotel was there waiting when we arrived to let us in.
We arrived late at night but the quiet solitude of the rooms and fresh breeze was amazing. Here is our take on the hotel. we loved it.
Rooms: Set up like a set of condos/apartments the rooms are well appointed, extremely clean and very roomy.
Property: Gorgeous location on the top of the hill with direct views of the ocean and St. Kitts. The pool is very nice and the whole pool area is relaxing.
Restaurant: The breakfasts are great and relaxing. Dinners are great.

We drove around the island and saw alot of the other hotel properties and this is the one with the best views and location and not commercialized. The beaches are along the area between Charlestown and the hotel, so if you stay on the south side of the island, you'll end up driving alot.

We cannot say enough about Nevis and the wonderful personalities of the people there. It's a great place.
enjoy.

  • Liked — View and peacefulness
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank djvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2007

The Washington Post had a special for the Mt. Nevis Hotel in their April 2006 issue. My husband and I booked a room for Nov. 30 to Dec. 7, 2006. Dr. Magrid the owner was so helpful and gracious when we arrived. As was all of the staff. Our room was spacious, clean and ohhhhh the view. It was relaxing, the food was superb and we truly enjoyed the island of Nevis. So relaxing and so beautiful. We would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank prheid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2007

We stayed at the Mt Nevis Hotel for a week with our three small children. We had a double room with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea and St. Kitts. The rooms were clean, large, very nicely furnished. The bathrooms and kitchen were all updated (granite counter tops, etc). We ate at the hotel restaurant every morning and many of the nights. The food was delicious and the staff could not have been nicer. They were very accomodating to the children's needs.

What stands out in our minds the most are the amazing panoramic views from our room and the hotel grounds - incredible! As well, all the very, very nice women that run the show.

Our children also really loved seeing the monkeys swinging from the trees as we drove up and down the road leading to the hotel.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank AHBRAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
5.1 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
11.3 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
1.2 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Nevis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Nevis Hotel

Property: The Mount Nevis Hotel
Address: Shaws Road, New Castle, Nevis
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Nevis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mount Nevis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nevis Hotel And Beach
The Mount Nevis Hotel New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing