We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Perfect Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We've been five times and still can't wait until we can return. Our first trip (in 1999), we missed our connection in Puerto Rico, and had to take a much later flight that put us into Nevis around 10 p.m. Not only was someone from the resort at the airport to greet us, they had dinner waiting for us in our room. The resort is absolutely lovely, everything you could want, but the staff makes your experience beyond compare. For whatever length of time you spend there, they become your family. They know you by name - not just some of the staff, but everyone you encounter. You get the feeling they genuinely care for you, your comfort, and enjoyment. There aren't enough accolades to be said about this resort.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are on the Avenue of the Palms, which is gorgeous. There isn't such a thing as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    83
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
97
627
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband and I visited the Nisbet Plantation to celebrate our 35th Anniversary. We fed monkeys each morning along the property line, saw hummingbirds all over the property, picked up beach glass daily, saw two rainbows, slept with our shutters and door wide open each night to listen to the breeze flow through the palms and the water crash, appreciated the staff who were gracious, ate open air breakfast and ate dinner on the screen porch nightly, had tea and refreshments at 4 pm daily and enjoyed Bailey's colodas and lunch on the breezy beach. This destination is a dream come true for those who want to settle in, relax and gaze out at amazing water and views of St Kitts. I tried to memorize the view so that I can reflect back during busy days in Michigan. We were very happy at the Nisbet Plantation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

As I was preparing to write this review, I read two others that were written by guests who were there the same week (and became our new friends). Both reviews (by Marilyn H and Chris R) were accurate. In fact, the one Chris wrote was so eloquently and accurately stated, I wanted to just say "ditto"!! This was our second visit to Nisbet, and we certainly hope will not be our last. We would go there every year if we could afford it. We have traveled many places throughout the Caribbean, Mexico, Bermuda, and have never found anything that even comes close to the service, atmosphere and charm of Nisbet Plantation. The staff is what makes this place - you will fall in love with these people. Many of them have worked there for 20 to 30+ years. This is truly a resort where "ladies and gentlemen enjoy serving ladies and gentlemen". Quiet and classic, this is not a big "party" beach club, nor is it suitable for children. No phones or TVs in the cottages, which is great. We didn't even take cell phones, iPads or any electronic gizmos. Truly a relaxing vacation. We can't wait to go back, and hope to see some of our new friends again. Please read the reviews by Chris and Marilyn that I referenced earlier.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the upper level junior suites...they are the best for space, view and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Nevis is the classic private Caribbean island and Nisbet Plantation is the classic Caribbean resort of the 1950's & early1960's. We do not believe that you can find this kind of atmosphere, service and 24-hour detail to making everything perfect anywhere else in the Caribbean. By 8 o'clock each morning I found that the maintenance staff had the spacious private Atlantic beach cleaned to perfection. Breakfast was ready to be served at poolside by 8:00. The daily summary of news from Great Britain and the US were brought with your menu. Lunch and drinks available throughout the day - beachside or at the bar - whatever your pleasure. Cocktails and dinner at the Great House except for a beach BBQ and dancing one night. Drinks afterward in the bar/lounge if you wish. The service does not stop and the staff does not go home until you do. The menu was varied every night and the fresh seafood superb. Nisbet provides a wonderful atmosphere to set your own social pace. "THE BEST"

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are a little further from the ocean, but have a screened porch. Everyone shares a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We went to Nevis for 9 nights last July and spent the first five nights at the Nisbet. (The second four nights we were at the four seasons). This is a very welcoming place. The staff is just amazing and knew us by our first names by the second day. The resort is very low key-- you get up, have a lovely breakfast looking out over the pool and then grab a beach towel from your room and head out to the beach. The beach itself is lovely but very natural - yes, there are some rocks and seagrass to navigate but it wasn't that huge of a deal. The resort is quiet but it is not stuffy at all-- the staff was so warm and jovial. We each had a massage at the spa and both were good although the spa itself is really not much to look at. Food was consistently good and we really enjoyed the dinners at the great house-- just so civilized and special. Patterson, as others have commented, was a wonderful host and we looked forward to seeing him each night. We spent one day driving around the island which I would recommend. We visited other plantations and just explored. I would not, however, recommend visiting Charlestown. I had imagined all sorts of quaint cute little shops and that was not the case. We were sad to leave Nisbet and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachmom2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
The best Nevis experience is when guests feel welcomed like family…that’s what we do well at Nisbet. Thank you for reflecting on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I travel to the Caribbean quite a bit and have learned to be cautious about phrases like "authentic West Indian charm" etc. This place made me understand what people mean by that phrase - much the best service anywhere in the Caribbean or beyond. Genuinely welcoming, friendly, thoughtful service. Tasteful, lives up to the photos. Good restaurant. High standards. The best sort of hotel - not a characterless chain. It's a cliche but it's unspoiled. Very restful but that's no euphemism for slow and shoddy service as it is often elsewhere: Nevis is a very restful, quiet island.
Went on business and if given the choice would have opted for the Four Seasons - and would have been wrong. This isn't at all a business hotel but was great for business: not a problem to print (100s of pages of) documents at 6.30 at the front desk.
Finish in rooms is not superslick but they are tasteful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 000London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
For a seasoned Caribbean traveler, we are humbled that your Nisbet experience is tops on your list. Your description of your stay is what we strive for to present the authentic charm that makes you comfortable and wanting to return. Business or pleasure, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Your first name is extracted the moment you arrive and you are plunged into the chuminess from then on like it or not. For multiple 'Returners' who are numerous, they enjoy superior service and special drink party etc. There is an unfounded (in my view) belief that the quality of the offer is amazing - sorry I can't agree - slow and erratic food, 'gourmet' in their wildest dreams, reception over-confident and under performing, etc. The dining room is ruled by the maitre'd who is a local politician and character - but you play to his rules! The GM was elusive to us (but not to Returners) until the last night - shocked to discover we were very unhappy, but he hadn't heeded messages left at reception - too late! Marvellous party by the pool once a week, many locals attend too. Nice eating in 3 locations depending on time of day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TimWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.7 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
15.4 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Property: Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Address: Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nisbet Plantation Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service that has helped Nisbet Plantation be recognized as one of the top Caribbean hotels. Vacation at a top Caribbean hotel on the island time forgot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nisbet Plantation Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Hotel Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Hotel
Nisbet Plantation Beach Resort
Nisbet Plantation Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing