We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Service, Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING Service, Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is long overdue, from our trip JUN 2013! This was our first trip to St. Kitts/ Nevis and we absolutely loved our vacation at Nisbet! The hotel was clean, and private, and the views were breath-taking- everything exceeded our expectations.

We flew into St. Kitts, then taxi drive and water taxi to Nevis, then taxi to Nisbet. And yes, I agree with others that while this is VERY well organized, it is long (about an hour or so). If you can fly direct to Nevis, do it! I will say though that the water taxi was a great way to see the island, and the Nisbet staff were very helpful in answering questions about island.

Check in was very fast and easy- we were the only ones checking in and it seems as if the entire hotel staff knew our names before we even got there. We just sat down at the desk, enjoyed some punch and seemed to immediately have our room key. Our room was on the bottom floor, near the ocean. Loved having our own porch, and the louvered windows were great to hear the outside, it was almost like getting to shower outdoors... and the AC was fantastic! I was surprised how roomy the cottages were, and housekeeping was excellent as well.

The beach was stunning- the Atlantic Ocean was not too wavy, and the water was so clear. The pool and hot tub were fine, but we never left the beach. ;)

Food was also outstanding, way better than a lot of meals we have gotten in cities and high class resorts. Loved the outdoor breakfast, the causal beach lunch, and the elegant evening dinner at the main house. Again, all the staff immediately knew your name- it is like you get to be a part of the family. HIGHLY recommend the outside BBQ- such a fantastic event with unique and superb food, as well as live music and dancing- a wonderful Nevisian experience.
TIP-- I would highly recommend getting a meal plan with your room- we had breakfast and dinner included. They will swap out dinner and lunch if you decided to eat elsewhere, but honestly the food was so good we never wanted to leave.

The managers also shared ideas for activities, and arranged a guide for us to climb Mt. Nevis. It was such a fantastic experience- not easy by any means, but a great way to see the island.
TIP-- if you are going to climb, bring some gloves along as your hands will get very worn climbing all the ropes (I think we counted around 60-80!).
Also went to Sunshines for a Killer Bee, and some sightseeing on the Caribbean side. While the waters were calmer, it was a lot busier over on that side. Not nearly as quiet or private as Nisbet (all beaches on Nevis are public, but nobody seems to make the trip over to Nisbet's beach). On a side note, we stopped in the Four Seasons (this was our other choice as we usually stay at Four Seasons), and have to say that we weren't very impressed. Was a nice property, but not quite what I would expect from Four Seasons. Also, not a single person took the time to greet us as we made our way through the hotel.

Overall, I don't know whether we were more impressed with the food, the service, the hotel, the beach, or the Nevisian people. I think we miss all equally! Can't wait to return-- I don't know if we will be able to go to another Caribbean hotel after this visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msphilli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    83
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
101
634
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Despite a direct flight from London to St Kitts, the plane spends an hour in Antigua and then the transfer to Nevis is via mini bus and water taxi making it a long tiring journey. However, the transfers were well organised and the hotel provided a welcoming cocktail. Check in was quick and efficient.
We booked a "superior" room which is the cheapest option. The room is what I would expect from a good 3* hotel. It was small with the bathroom tucked behind a partition which does not reach the ceiling. This means little privacy when using the bathroom and at night light flooding the bedroom. There was no bath only a shower. The staff were very helpful and kindly moved us to another room which had a proper bathroom. All rooms have a safe, mini bar, robe, tea and coffee facilities and a good hairdryer.
The main house is lovely - decorated in classic plantation style and a great place to take tea on a wet day. The bar is very well stocked with premium brand drinks.
The quality of food was mixed - no meal was served hot (a common issue in the Caribbean) but cooked breakfast arrived cold and inedible (an exception were ommlettes). Some dinners where excellent whereas others just OK. Lunch was generally good. All inclusive is a good option otherwise you would haemorrhage cash. Beer $5, lunch with drink typically $30 and dinner excluding wine $65 per person. However, lunch on the last day is not included in the all inclusive even when only arriving in time for dinner on the first day! Drinks from the in room mini bar seem to be excluded except water.
The beach has been eroded over the last few years and is no longer as wide as the photos show. Being on the Atlantic coast the sea was very choppy making swimming difficult.
We were unlucky with the weather - there was a strong wind throughout our stay and the noise of the wind in the palm trees meant it was hard to sleep without ear plugs (the rooms have shutters and mozzie screens - no glass windows). Also as there are no paths just grass. Forget expensive footwear as it will get ruined if it rains. Remember the mozzie spray - I forgot one evening and got 8 bites!
There were a lot of returning guests. Other than a cocktail party for them, I didn't see returnees getting any preferential treatment and the staff were charming to everyone.
The staff at Nisbet are superb. They are all friendly and efficient - by far the best service I have come across in the Caribbean.
To sum up - the standard of the rooms and food is comparable to a good 4* hotel in the Caribbean. We paid a lot more to stay at Nisbet compared to other 4* resorts and I did not feel it offered particularly good value for money and would be unlikely to return.

Room Tip: Choose a suite rather than superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5*Hotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay for relax.the food is excellent and you feel always taken care of. Cottages have clean and large rooms. If i have to find a defect it is the beach location on the atlantic side.it means that sea is a bit wavy but if you go to st kitts and nevis for the beaches you are completely wrong

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Massimiliano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We visited the second week of December and stayed in a garden suite.

Logistics were flawless. Greeted outside of baggage claim and directed to a waiting van. 25-minute ride to a boat, 10-minutes across the channel and another 5 minutes in a van.

Check-in was also well-organized. Instead of having a line with one person checking you in, they had the paperwork spread out at various desks. In and out in less than 3 minutes (with a delicious rum punch). We were then taken to our room. Our luggage arrived within minutes.

The garden suite was very nice. Large screened in porch, a large bedroom with a vaulted ceiling and a recently-updated bathroom. There is good cross-ventilation, so we never turned the air conditioning on. There is ample room for storage, including that of luggage. Tip: Don't leave anything on the floor of the porch because the wind tends to drive the evening rain through the slats.

Housekeeping was great. Rooms are cleaned when you are at breakfast and dinner. Towels are changed and ice is delivered. Excellent.

Breakfast starts with a friendly greeting from Violet (our favorite!). Start with a wide selection of fruit and some yogurt/pastry items. Just about anything can be ordered off the menu. There is a daily juice selection and a breakfast special. All delicious. Very casual (shorts and a tee shirt are fine).

With so few people, there was no fighting over beach/pool chairs. Water was brought to us and we could have ordered cocktails as well.

Lunch was decent. Not outstanding, but neither of us were too hungry after a big breakfast.

Afternoon tea is not to be missed. Good selection of food and tasty tea.

Dinner is outstanding. We started with a cocktail each evening in the bar before taking our table. Collared shirts for men (short-sleeve Tommy Bahama style seemed popular) while most of the women wore skirts or sun dresses. The Great House is a very nice venue.

The menu has something for just about everyone. There were about 4 salad/appetizer options plus 4-5 dinner options. Each night had a vegeterian item as well.

The wine selection is good and prices are reasonable. Beer selection is limited, but that's the case throughout the Caribbean.

We had some Nevisians sing Christmas carols one evening during dinner. This was really nice.

The Thursday night barbeque was amazing. About 8 items were grilled plus another dozen salad or hot items on the buffet. Dessert? Wow. The chef and pastry chef are outstanding.

A few other comments:
Tennis courts in good shape. Equipment is decent. Renting a car is easy as is getting a taxi.

We met some very nice people from around the world during our stay. Yes, the crowd is older. If you want "excitement", try the Four Seasons (which is really nice and is exactly like other Four Seasons, so you know what you're getting). If you want quiet, Nisbet is the place for you.

Throughout our stay, we were asked how things were going. I have not doubt that if we had a complaint, it would have been rectified immediately. No complaints. Thanks to Steve Tyson and his staff.

Check-out was easy. Next time, I would try to pay for the accomodations prior to departing the U.S. to avoid the foreign transaction fee on our credit card.

We highly recommend Nisbet and hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nogophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Tx
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We went to Nevis for our 25th anniversary and loved the entire experience. We used Nisbet Beach Plantation as our hqts. And were very happy. Very nice, well organized staff. The dinners were always superb. We stayed in the superior rooms which we enjoyed quite a bit although we had to keep the window shutter closed to keep the a/c effective. That created a little 'closed in' feeling. Two other things that may be of interest. Nisbet had a pretty old crowd (would have liked a few younger people) when we were there and no kids (we were good with that).. And the resort is on the windward side so the ocean waters were rougher than on the leeward side. I know .. duh.

Through it all we enjoyed it and easily recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mserant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standlake, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our forth trip and the first at this time of year. What can I say to add to my previous comments? Very little, except to state yet again what a paradise this is. The staff, led by Steve Tyson the Executive Director of Guest Services are as outstanding as ever (the same faces of course as most have been here many years) the food is excellent, the setting glorious and spacious- where else has only 36 units set in 30 acres of palms and lawns - and the prices are better than a lot of 'luxury' resorts elsewhere in the area. The beach may not be in the best in the Caribbean, remember it faces north east and the Atlantic Ocean, but swimming is fine even when the seas out beyond the reef are rough and there is a great pool area right on the beach.
As I have said before, be aware that this is a beach holiday destination not a hotel with vast facilities but everything is there that you need to enjoy paradise!

Room Tip: For my money, take a cottage rather than one of the (excellent very large rooms) in the duplexes whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcbstandlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel for the first part of our honeymoon for 7 nights.

After a long journey, we were really happy to finally arrive at the hotel and be greeted by a friendly smile at Reception with a couple of glasses of rum punch.

We were taken to our room - a lower deluxe junior suite and were greeted by a balloon, champagne, flowers and a handwritten card, a beautiful welcome to our honeymoon.

The room was clean, spacious with lots of storage - I particularly appreciated the dressing room which was attached to the bathroom. I can see the point people make about the room being dated, however I prefer to describe it as traditional and in keeping with its location. This hotel doesn't market itself as a Marriott which in my view is a generic chain with rooms the same standard/decor in all of its locations.

The staff are by far the best I have come across in a long time - the service was so attentive, they even learn your first names and know that you are on honeymoon! Admittedly if you're not into that kind of thing, I can see that it would be annoying and intrusive. We had a few favourites, but mine was Carol - she's a bit of a talker like me and I enjoyed talking to her about life on the island & her family. Unfortunately as we were leaving I didn't get to meet her daughter, but there's always next time:-)

I wasn't expecting much from the beach as it's on the Atlantic side so the sea is rough, but I was pleasantly surprised as we had white sands and blue sea (beware it is apparently rocky walking in and you can't see much).

Each week there is a Manager's cocktail party which guests dress down for and offers a chance to see local crafts & a free glass of rum punch plus food on the beach. We really enjoyed this and wished we had been able to have more opportunities to eat on the beach for dinner.

We can not fault the food at Nisbet - there was so much choice and it was always amazing. However, we would have preferred not have eaten every night at the Great House as it is formal dining (no jeans are allowed, it's very quiet and the food is gastro). But this is how the restaurant is described, so it is not a criticism of the place merely it wasn't really to our taste. I ordered a lighter version of meals on offer (eating salad instead of rice/pasta) and we went out for a night to try something different which we enjoyed.

Our favourite spot in the whole resort was sitting in the hot tub - drinking a few cocktails whilst watching was beautiful.

We didn't feel excluded like some other guests did and didn't notice that returning guests were treated any better than us. The only difference was probably that the staff knew what people wanted before they ordered. We didn't hear anything about a drinks party for returning guests (as noted by another reviewer), the only party we all heard about and attended was the weekly party (as noted above).

We had a fantastic time, I would recommend this place for honeymooners and anyone looking for a romantic break. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reading_Traveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
192 reviews
5.7 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
11.9 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
0.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Nevis
Paradise Beach Nevis
#5 of 7 in Nevis
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Property: Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Address: Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nisbet Plantation Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service that has helped Nisbet Plantation be recognized as one of the top Caribbean hotels. Vacation at a top Caribbean hotel on the island time forgot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nisbet Plantation Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Hotel Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Hotel
Nisbet Plantation Beach Resort
Nisbet Plantation Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing