We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Restaurant - A knock out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Alhama de Almeria, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Beach Restaurant - A knock out!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A delightful white sand beach beside the clear blue Caribbean water - what else could you ask for?The restauarnt right on the beach is a calss act very well run and with a delightful lunch menu. It knocks its rivals into a cocked hat- this is glamorous, stylish and well managed. This what the Caribbean should be about but seldom is. My only niggle is that they serve only two beers, one imported and one local. The service is impeccable, so if you're in Nevis it's a must even if you're not staying in the lovely hotel. Absolutely knock out!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandflopper j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    83
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
103
637
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We only spent the day at the beach club. The restaurant is lovely and right on the beach with sunbeds available. It's the most fabulous setting and if we had longer we would have stayed longer. I'd like to come back to Nevis to stay here. Beautiful

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

In November 2013, we decided to take advantage of Air Canada Vacation Black Friday sale and to spend a week in Nevis in January. We had been to Nisbet two years ago and it had been our best Caribbean holiday to date. One always wonders if one can go back again but Nisbet is known for its repeat guests. It was as wonderful as the first time - even more so because it felt like going home to visit friends. The food was delicious as was the Avenue of the Palms cocktail. I highly recommend trying it instead of rum punch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Brian A,

Thank you for sharing your recent vacation experience of Nisbet Plantation. We are delighted to hear that your second visit was “as magical” as the first.

The ladies and gentlemen of Nisbet strive to create memorable vacation experiences for all of our guests. We will pass along your kind words to our staff. They will be delighted to hear that returning to Nisbet is “like going home to visit friends.”

We look forward to welcoming you back to Nisbet in the future with a welcoming Avenue of the Palms cocktail.

Warmest regards,

Alistair Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We visited Nisbet in December 2012 and returned in December 2013 as part of a trip to St Kitts.

When we booked in 2012 it was very last minute, the day before we arrived on Nevis, and we were very impressed with the hotel. The staff were very friendly, the meal package (breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner) was lovely and we were fortunate enough to receive an upgrade to a suite which was a lovely surprise. When we decided to return to St Kitts in 2013 there was no question that we would also return to Nevis and Nisbet.

Our second visit - the staff were still great, the property was as piucturesque as before and the food was good. The main downside unfortunately was there seemed to have been a change in clientele. On our first visit the majority of the guests were from the US and around the late 30s to 50s bracket (we are in the late 20s/30s bracket). These guests were pleasant and the hotel had a very relaxed, civilised vibe. On our return (the same week in December as in 2012) the majority of the guests seemed to be from the UK and were a bit more rowdy than the previous year. It wasn't as relaxing as the first visit and for us it just felt as if the overall experience had lost it's polish. The general impression of the other guests was that they felt like they had 'arrived' by staying at Nisbet and there seemed to be a lot of keeping up with the Jones's type conversations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear London20142014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us at Nisbet Plantation. We are very pleased you decided to return and found our staff, food and property as enjoyable as your first visit. We will pass this along to the staff.

Nisbet traditionally has a good mix of guests from the UK, US and Canada who get along exceptionally well and oftentimes stay in contact with one another. We are sorry you had a less-than satisfactory experience with other guests in-house.

The ladies and gentlemen of Nisbet Plantation treat all of our guests like family. We value the diverse cultures and experiences of all of our visitors and are happy to politely discuss a situation if anyone appears to get too rowdy. I encourage every guest to speak to me personally if ever there is anything that makes them feel uncomfortable.

It is certainly our goal to provide a relaxing holiday experience while maintaining the intimate and personal feel Nisbet is known and treasured for.

Having arrived at Nisbet myself in December, I personally hope to welcome you back to Nisbet in the future.

Warmest regards,

Alistair Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived at Nisbet Plantation to kick off a two week honeymoon in the Carribean. The trip was seamless, pickup at the airport and ferry over to the resort. We were greeted with a cool towel and rum punch, and shown to our gorgeous cottage, Braziers. It was a top level room with outdoor balcony and view of the ocean and grounds. Room was beautiful, with classic Carribean decor. Clean and had great ocean cross-breezes when all the windows and doors were open.
As others have mentioned, the beach is not perfect- the waters were a bit rough and beach was not that powdery soft sand. We felt just a touch misled by some of the photos- the beach is not as white and soft as it appears in the photos of the resort. I never went into the ocean or pool during my stay, too windy for the most part.
The food for breakfast was good, not exceptional but you can order off the menu for eggs and stuff, or just have pastry, cereal etc. The dinners were fine as well- we were hoping for a more creative menu, the meals we had were not particularly memorable. We opted to have lunch on the property instead of dinner a few times, lunch was great actually. Down at the beach with a drink, it was very good.
The main house and history of the property is very interesting. It was fun to sit in the main house after dinner for a drink, and play a board game, etc.
The service is fantastic as everyone says. We went to two other resorts after this one, and Nisbet really had the most personal and warm people. Angella was so sweet and everyone was very kind and personable, hugs when we left.
Going to Nisbet first was great for us, it was very relaxing and peaceful. We were honeymooners though, we felt a little out of place in that most of the guests were mature couples, it was definitely a lowkey and early to bed kind of place. If you are looking for any kind of night life or bar scene, Nisbet would not be the place for you- but I dont think they pretend to be either. Overall if we could give Nisbet a 3.5 stars we would.

Room Tip: We stayed in Braziers- a top level ocean facing room- it was so nice to sleep with the windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumbo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The most relaxing vacation ever! Beautiful, attentive staff--they all learn your name, very personal. I can not even count the hugs good-bye from all the wonderful women who serve you breakfast and lunch. OK, it is a little old school-what is wrong with that ? Guys, put on a pair of pants for dinner! Ladies, it is ok not to wear shorts everywhere isn't it?I can go to a Marriott anytime. Instead we got personal service, smiles, hugs , and wishes for safe travels home.

The Jr suite was great, the breeze coming through the plantation shutters was fabulous. Re: other reviews- really, who complains about hearing wind rustling through PALM trees; especially leaving ice and snow behind ! Iove people who scout out the rooms, book the cheapest one then complain until they are upgraded. No class, that is why they did not fit in here.

Beach is beautiful, beach barbecue night is great. Thanks to you Angela, Violet and Patterson--and countless others.

Room Tip: I liked the Jr /suite, 2nd floor, Ocean view. Full bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Wonderful place - staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. From the pick up at the airport in St Kitts to the day we left, I can't fault this place - everyone went out of their way to help us, and the resort itself is very well laid out, giving you all the peace and quiet you could want.

We stayed in a lower deluxe suite, which is actually more like your own cottage. There is A/C provided, but we never had to use it - you get a wonderful breeze off the beach, and the shutters in the room ensure that your room is kept at a perfect temperature. It was bliss.

Lovely spacious rooms, nice bathroom amenities and very discreet but on-the-ball housekeeping staff. Violet and Angela (with the infectious laugh) provide you with such a warm welcome at breakfast, and Patterson (the maitre d') keeps you entertained when you have dinner in the house itself.

Nevis itself is a beautiful little island - very unspoilt and spotlessly clean. Everyone we met was really friendly and charming.

Thank you also to Careen and Steve for making us feel so welcome. I'd love to go back some day...there are just too many other places in the world to see first!

Room Tip: Book a deluxe suite if you can...really peaceful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmcal478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
5.7 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
11.9 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
2.2 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Property: Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Address: Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nisbet Plantation Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service that has helped Nisbet Plantation be recognized as one of the top Caribbean hotels. Vacation at a top Caribbean hotel on the island time forgot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Nisbet Plantation Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Hotel Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Hotel
Nisbet Plantation Beach Resort
Nisbet Plantation Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing