We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Stouport on Severn
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great staff and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We booked very late, only two weeks before we were due to fly out, so this was a last minute holiday. The flight via Antigua on BA from Gatwick is relatively painless. Just about an hour on the ground in Antigua before the short hop across to St Kitts. There is then a minibus transfer, then short ferry crossing, before the final taxi transfer to the hotel. A total transfer of about one hour. Whilst the ferry crossing was only about 7 minutes, that was by far long enough, as the sea was very rough.

On arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed by the staff and presented with the customary wet towel and cocktail. Despite there being a number of guests on the transfer, each was given individual and personal attention and the check-in was very quick. We were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded from a superior room to a deluxe garden suite (Sea Haven).
The receptionist walked us to the room and talked us through the facilities. I have to say that we were very impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation.

Dinner is served in the Great House, where we eat each night of our 10 night holiday. Whilst there are an adequate number of tables most nights, it can get busy at weekends and after 7.30pm. If you want a table on the balcony and do not want to have to wait for a table, I would suggest you dine a little earlier. Food generally was very good, albeit we thought some of the combinations were a little unusual and occasionally the food was not served hot. Some of the deserts were poor, particularly the ice cream - two scoops in a dish without any decoration, is disappointing.

We thought that the decor and furniture in the Great House was dated and required improvement. The bar could also be improved, as it was not a good place to socialise. The toilets, which lead off the lounge area, need screening off, so they are less public.

Breakfast is served in the Coconuts beach restaurant. We thought the quality of food and the staff at breakfast were excellent.

Perhaps the only real disappointment for us was the beach. Yes, the hotel has a beach, but as the hotel is located on the Atlantic side of the island, the beach is narrow and the sea is rough. Not good for bathing.

Pro's - great staff and service. Con's - beach.

What we did:-

A taxi trip around the island visiting the plantation hotels, Charlestown etc will cost you about $90.00 US. It will take about 3 hours.

Day trip to St Kitts by ferry from Charlestown is about $10.00 US per person each way. You will need a taxi to and from the ferry. The ferries are frequent, but choose one of the fast ones.

Otherwise we just relaxed. A great hotel if you want to just get away from things and relax.

Room Tip: Our room "Sea Haven" suffered from noise from the road that ran down the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    83
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
97
627
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed 12 - 19 February 2014. Everything was just as we assumed it would be from the Nisbet website - welcoming, friendly, neat cottage-style accommodation, excellent food and drink. We were already in the Caribbean, so we made the short flight from St Maarten to St Kitts (SKB) and then took the taxi/water taxi/taxi combo offered as part of the hotel packge. We were greeted at arrivals at SKB by Careen, the hotel rep, and Jasmin, the rep from our travel advisers in the UK, quickly into a taxi van for the 20 minute scenic drive to Cockleshell Beach, where our 'water taxi' (a steel built twin hulled boat with about 24 seats and enormous high powered out board engines, just for the two of us) was waiting. Six minutes at really high speed for the crossing of the channel between St Kitts and Nevis, where another taxi was waiting for the last 5 minutes to Nisbet.

Our arrival was expected to the minute (each part of the transfer calls ahead to ensure the next part is waiting!), our registration was waiting, as was the welcoming rum punch, and within a couple of minutes we were in Old Windward, our cottage, where the bags had already been placed. All the superlatives about Nisbet are well made on other reviews: the food, the keenness of all staff to know your names and call you by them, the almost botanical gardens, the friendly smiles and greetings at every turn, Alistair the GM greeting guests as they enter the Great House each evening for dinner, and so on. The beach did have rather a lot of sea weed at the edge, but it was raked up every morning by Andrew and his men, so we tended to go for a wallow in the sea but to swim in the pool.

We took the romance package. We presumed that the champagne breakfast might include a glass each, but we got the full bottle, on ice, along with our complete choice from the normal breakfast menu, delivered to our door by golf buggy. Our couples' massage was given by two larger than life masseuses, with a great sense of humour. Our dinner on the beach had to be withdrawn a few feet back into the beach bar because of the prevailing wind, but we had our own waiter and the food was specially cooked at the beach bar kitchen just for us, including whole lobster. The catamaran sail and snorkel from Pinney Beach across to Shittens Bay on St Kitts was a dreamy morning under sail each way, with Lennox in charge - the Caona was built by him in a previous career, and he was so proud of the boat. The lunch at Sunshines at Pinney Beach was spoiled only by several dozen brash and somewhat inebriated American university students who landed from a catamaran which had brought them over from St Kitts and sought to take the place over. By contrast the 'Killer Bee' (Sunshine's signature drink) and the plate of ribs were superb.

We didn't note any of the concerns in previous reviews about cold food or lack of choice. Everything that should have been hot was served hot on hot plates. Food at breakfast is cooked to order from a comprehensive menu, with a daily 'special'. At lunch, the choice is prodigious, from soups and salads to specials. What about prices, which some reviewers have mentioned? Lunch dishes start at about US$6.50 for soup, $8 for starters, $14 for specials of the day, to $20+ for more substantial dishes (and they are all 'substantial'!) Wines by the glass are $9. Cocktails at about $10 or $12, depending. Wines by the bottle from about $33 upwards - and all very drinkable, mainly from Washington State. Add about 24% to all these prices for local taxes and service. All very much on a par with prices in better hotels in the UK and beyond, and just about everything has to be imported, of course.

We can understand why so many guests return year after year. We might join that group!

Downsides? The crossing from St Kitts to Nevis can be choppy and may not be everyone's idea of a fun experience, but it is quick. There's a small airport on Nevis, just 3 minutes from NIsbet, but the services available are very limited (and expensive). Why are there not more, from hubs such as St Maarten, Antigua, San Juan, etc? Local connections tend to be with LIAT to St Kitts. LIAT (the acronym is said to stand for 'leaves island any time' and 'luggage in another terminal') does not presently have a good reputation for reliability (as acknowledged by its own Chief Exec in their current in-flight magazine), but our flights to and from St Maarten were on time each way, and our bags travelled with us! The only inexcusable situation was seven passengers being kept waiting 25 minutes for the delivery of seven checked bags at SKB. A challenge for LIAT to gee up their ground handlers.

Room Tip: There are four grades of room. We booked 'superior', the lowest price, and it was more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

First off, DH and I are well-traveled. We had previously spent 10 days on St Kitts several years ago but never made it over to Nevis (it’s relaxing sister island) and so when some auctions came along, we decided to check out Nevis.

We visited Nevis Thanksgiving week into the first week of December 2013. We flew into St Kitts and took the water taxi over to Nevis.

Having stayed at both Nisbet Plantation and Oualie Beach, I can definitely say that you go to Nisbet for pampering and you go to Oualie for the beach and the laid-back vibe. From the time we arrived, Nisbet staff took the time to ask our name and to use it every time they ran into us. In advance of our arrival I'd emailed to request pick up from the St Kitts airport and a room that was centrally located to the restaurants and the beach.

The Room
We got to stay at Nisbet courtesy of a Skyauction win. We elected to stay two nights at Nisbet and 7 nights at Oualie (another auction). At Nisbet we were placed in Gingerland which was reasonably central to everything. We were supposedly given a free upgrade and we never learned where we were originally supposed to stay. I personally preferred the luxurious bungalow we had at Nisbet over Oualie because of the roominess.

Meals
Breakfast each day at Nisbet were delicious! I loved the fresh juices, banana pancakes and bacon. DH usually had french toast and bacon and sausage. At lunch the sandwiches were divine. Our favorite cocktail was the palm frond - a non-alcoholic, very green, fruit punch. Dinner each night was a variety of dishes. My DH thought many of the meals too frou-frou but I enjoyed the variety myself. Our rate included our room, breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner.

Internet
WiFi access at Nisbet was perfectly fine. We no longer travel with a laptop but our Nook, Kindle and Ipad worked fine with consistent access including at the beach.

The Beach
We were always able to get a shaded palapa at the Nisbet beach. Keep in mind though that the water is wavy. For that reason our preference was for the very calm beach at Oualie.

Car Rental
We rented a 4-door vehicle from Nevis Car Rental. I usually prefer companies that are easy to communicate online without unnecessary phone calls, and from the initial inquiry until we arrived, Nevis Car Rental was easy to communicate with. We ended up getting a 4 door SUV-type vehicle and it was easy to navigate, even though we are die-hard 4-door sedan people! We’d previously driven on the left hand side and had to problems navigating on Nevis’ roads. Nevis Car Rentals dropped off the vehicle at the Nisbet and when we were done we just left the car parked and gave the keys to the front desk person at Oualie Beach. We rented for our entire stay.

BTW, as another TA member mentioned you need to walk on grass to go anywhere, so don’t take your best shoes! Also, we found the lawn to be littered with animal waste in several spots especially closer to the beach. I'm not sure why this wasn't cleaned up. I neglected to ask staff about this especially when I would see handymen in close proximity to one of the piles.

If you found this review helpful please click “yes” below. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Be specific with your needs. I can't imagine there are any bad rooms at Nisbet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trinigirlmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having arrived on Nevis as the hotel was about to close for it's annual summer break, we decided to go for breakfast as we'll be missing the famous Thursday evening grill dinner. Well we were not disappointed breakfast was just devine. The food was well cooked and a wide range of fresh fruits and locally made juices. The staff are friendly and pays great attention to detail.

I would highly recommend a visit to Nisbetts Plantation Beach Club. Our only dissapointment was we couldn't stay there but it is definitely on our plans for the next trip to Nevis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvanique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to spend a relaxing week in paradise. It was quite windy while we were there and it rained a few times but that did not dampen our enjoyment. The staff are what make it. The beach and swimming is 8/10 but what we really liked is having lunch and breakfast on the beach in two different locations and then changing for dinner in the House. The setting is stunning.
Some of the extras are expensive

Room Tip: We had a room close to the sea which was very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlesH638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhama de Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A delightful white sand beach beside the clear blue Caribbean water - what else could you ask for?The restauarnt right on the beach is a calss act very well run and with a delightful lunch menu. It knocks its rivals into a cocked hat- this is glamorous, stylish and well managed. This what the Caribbean should be about but seldom is. My only niggle is that they serve only two beers, one imported and one local. The service is impeccable, so if you're in Nevis it's a must even if you're not staying in the lovely hotel. Absolutely knock out!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandflopper j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
455 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We only spent the day at the beach club. The restaurant is lovely and right on the beach with sunbeds available. It's the most fabulous setting and if we had longer we would have stayed longer. I'd like to come back to Nevis to stay here. Beautiful

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.7 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
15.4 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Property: Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Address: Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nisbet Plantation Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service that has helped Nisbet Plantation be recognized as one of the top Caribbean hotels. Vacation at a top Caribbean hotel on the island time forgot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nisbet Plantation Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Hotel Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Hotel
Nisbet Plantation Beach Resort
Nisbet Plantation Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing